BMO HARRIS BANK NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1624 complaints on file for BMO HARRIS BANK NATIONAL ASSOCIATION. Dated between 2019-12-04 and 2011-12-08.

Complaints by Product

Checking or savings account - Checking account306
Bank account or service - Checking account234
Mortgage - Other mortgage146
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit108
Credit card - 97
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service78
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage70
Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan62
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)50
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose credit card or charge card48
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage48
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting40
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service37
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)37
Checking or savings account - Savings account31
Vehicle loan or lease - Loan29
Bank account or service - Savings account26
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage26
Bank account or service - (CD) Certificate of deposit26
Mortgage - FHA mortgage17
Checking or savings account - CD (Certificate of Deposit)13
Consumer Loan - Personal line of credit13
Consumer Loan - Installment loan8
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Personal line of credit7
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Domestic (US) money transfer6
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)6
Debt collection - Mortgage debt6
Debt collection - Mortgage6

Latest Complaints

2019-12-04

Bartlett, IL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-28

Sun, AZ

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

South Florida, FL

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Complaint: See attached BMO Complaint for easier reading. Opened a new checking account and a money market account with qualifying activities and am entitled to a {$500.00} bonus. The company will not pay the bonus, saying the direct deposits do not count as qualifying transactions. With this I disagree. The details of the activity and offer are as follows. *Offer 1 : Get a {$400.00} bonus when you open a new BMO Harris Smart Money Account , BMO Harris Smart Advantage Account , or BMO Harris Premier Account and complete the following steps : 1 ) Have a cumulative total of {$6000.00} in direct deposits of a paycheck, pension payment, Social Security payment, or other government benefits payment electronically deposited into the account from an employer or outside agency within 120 days of opening. We reserve the right to request documentation that the direct deposits qualify. 1. XX/XX/XXXX -- XXXX ACH DEPOSIT -- Payroll From XXXX XXXX XX/XX/XXXX -- XXXX ACH DEPOSIT -- Payroll From XXXX 2 ) Enroll in BMO Digital Banking and set up paperless statements within 120 days of account opening. You must still be enrolled in paperless statements when the cash bonus is credited. Done 3 ) Have at least 10 qualifying transactions post to your account within 120 days of account opening. Qualifying transactions include ACH credits or debits, online bill payments, mobile deposits, wire transfers or debit card POS purchase transactions. 1 XX/XX/2019 {$100.00} ACH DEPOSIT 2 XX/XX/2019 {$50.00} ACH DEPOSIT 3 XX/XX/2019 {$50.00} ACH DEPOSIT 4 XX/XX/2019 {$50.00} ACH DEPOSIT 5 XX/XX/2019 {$50.00} ACH DEPOSIT 6 XX/XX/2019 {$50.00} ACH DEPOSIT 7 XX/XX/2019 {$50.00} ACH DEPOSIT 8 XX/XX/2019 {$3000.00} ACH DEPOSIT 9 XX/XX/2019 {$3000.00} ACH DEPOSIT 10 XX/XX/2019 {$3000.00} ACH DEBIT
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-27

IN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Hanover, OH

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt was already discharged in bankruptcy and is no longer owed
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Colgate, WI

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Cashing a check
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-24

AZ

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Complaint: BMO Harris has in the past and again is not posting extra principal payments to 3 of my loans. Loan 1. Payment made {$1200.00}. Normal payment is {$650.00}. Extra principal XXXX never applied and payment for {$1200.00}. never even shown on statement. Only shows what was due as a payment. Stopped making auto payments as they say their computer system does not recognize the extra payment. Now write a check for each loan and hand deliver it to the bank with the extra principal amount shown on the payment coupon. Still they continue to not post these payments correctly. This has happen with 3 loans I have with BMO. Earlier this year they started the same practice of not applying extra principal payments and it took 3 months to straighten out.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-23

Glendale Heights, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Chicago, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: One of the account holders, who unfortunately, is not very familiar with bank policies or what type of information a bank institution can request over the phone, provided information under the impression that " the bank '' was contacting him due to suspicious activity on the account. He provided information that should have not been given and a few minutes later there were a total of 3 fraudulent XXXX withdrawals made on XX/XX/2019. One was in the amount of {$160.00}, another in the amount of {$750.00} and another in the amount of {$750.00}. A claim was filed with the bank institution immediately once these transaction were noticed on the account. However, we recently received notification that this claim has been denied and we will have to pay {$750.00} back to the bank.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-21

Fort Lauderdale, FL

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Domestic (US) money transfer


Complaint: At this time, I am putting a claim against BMO Harris Bank, the beneficiary of the funds that I sent through my XXXX XXXX XXXX account which subsequently turned out to be a scam. I feel this is the only way BMO Harris Bank will see my very detailed documentation detailing a scam/fraud which will hopefully assist them in deciding to return my funds. Below are the details which I included in my original complaint ( COMPLAINT ID XXXX - SUBMITTED ON XX/XX/2019 ) against XXXX XXXX XXXX which XXXX XXXX XXXX has since denied. It is important to note that on XX/XX/2019, I did speak with a representative of BMO Harris Bank by the name of XXXX. I called their 800 customer number ( XXXX ). After explaining my predicament to XXXX, she put me on hold and when she came back on the line, she said that she had spoken with one of their fraud investigators by the name of " XXXX '' and that he had told her that he was aware of this fraudulent online puppy company, " XXXX XXXX '' and that they were investigating them. So that's why I want to make sure that they see my documentation and help me get my funds back. Below is what happened : On Sunday, XX/XX/2019 I found on the internet a company, XXXX XXXX, that was supposedly selling puppies. I contacted them on the phone number listed on their website ( XXXX ) XXXX. When they replied to me the phone number changed to ( XXXX ) XXXX. The seller/scammer told me his name was XXXX XXXX and his address was XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, Texas. We negotiated for two puppies to be shipped to us from Texas to Florida for {$1400.00}. We agreed on 1/2 ( {$700.00} ) deposit to be sent to an e-mail address ( XXXX ) they provided me to send the deposit thru XXXX. I did this on Monday, XX/XX/2019 with the promise that the puppies would be delivered on Tuesday, XX/XX/2019. I was supposed to get a confirmation number first thing Monday, XX/XX/XXXX which was supposed to include flight information. I was eventually provided by e-mail with the confirmation and another website ( XXXX. ) I later found out this was also a fake website. Long and short - they had no puppies nor did they have any intentions of delivering the puppies just taking my money. As soon as I figured out that I had been scammed, that same Monday, XX/XX/2019 I contacted my bank, XXXX XXXX XXXX, and filed a claim ( claim # XXXX. ) They proceeded to tell me during this first call that they would start an investigation that could take anywhere from 10 to 45 days. The bank told me to file a police report with my local jurisdiction so that same day, I went to my local police department and filed a police report ( XXXX, Florida Police XXXX # XXXX. ) I provided the police department with extensive documentation to back up my case which included e-mails between myself and the scammer as well as pictures of the fake websites, and more. The next day I made another phone call to XXXX XXXX XXXX fraud dept. to give them the police report number and I was told that once I had the police report in my hands to go to one of my local XXXX XXXX XXXX branches and have them fax my police report and any other documentation I had to the XXXX XXXX XXXX fraud department. I was also told that I would receive a letter after the 10th day giving me the name of the XXXX XXXX XXXX investigator working my case. Once I had the hard copy of the police report, I met with a local banker from XXXX XXXX XXXX who reached out to the fraud department. They proceeded to tell us that they didn't need that paperwork. I explained to XXXX XXXX XXXX fraud dept during this meeting that the paperwork I had would give them backup to show the beneficiary bank, BMO Harris Bank, how I was scammed and that they should make every effort to retrieve the money for me. XXXX XXXX XXXX proceeded to insist that if they needed it to fight my case, they would request it from me at a later time. I was anticipating receiving the letter which XXXX XXXX XXXX had told me I would receive after the 10th day of me placing my claim. Well I did receive it on Monday, XX/XX/2019, and it did not include a investigator 's name. It basically told me that they had finished their investigation and they were not able to get my money back from BMO Harris Bank. I made a claim against XXXX XXXX XXXX through this agency, the CFPB. Approximately a week ago, I received a phone call from XXXX XXXX XXXX telling me they had reviewed everything that was provided to them by CFPB and still concluded that they were denying my claim. I asked them how they concluded this, and they said that it was because I authorized the payment. I proceeded to ask them if they had contacted the beneficiary bank, BMO Harris Bank and shared the documentation with them, and they said " no ''. I went on to tell XXXX XXXX XXXX that I felt that if they had shared this documentation with BMO Harris Bank, that bank would clearly see that I authorized these funds under fraudulent conditions and they would possibly consider trying to get my funds back. Therefore, at this time, I am putting a claim against BMO Harris Bank because I feel this is the only way they will see the my very detailed documentation detailing a fraud. PLEASE NOTE THAT MY PDF ATTACHMENT HAS BEEN BOOKMARKED FOR EASE OF READING. Thank you.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-21

Jacksonville, FL

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Complaint: Approximately 154 days ago on XX/XX/19, I opened both a personal checking and money market account with BMO in order to receive a two promotional cash bonuses. I have met all terms as advertised for these promotions, but have received neither. I am now being told I do not qualify for the checking account promotion because I had an account with BMO with in the previous twelve months. The attached offer states that to be eligible one must not have had a PERSONAL checking account with in the last twelve months. The account that I previously had that BMO claims makes me ineligible was a business checking account for which I received a business checking promotional cash bonus. Therefore, BMO defines that account as a business checking account despite the fact that the business was a sole proprietorship. Obviously, since it was a sole proprietor account my social was used in its creation. This is what BMO seems to be hung up on, but it is irrelevant as it was a business checking account. the money market bonus simply has not been credited to my account even though BMO admits I have qualified.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

San Diego, CA

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Account opened as a result of fraud
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-17

Milwaukee, WI

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card was charged for something you did not purchase with the card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-16

Wind Point, WI

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Account opened as a result of fraud
Complaint: Approximately two month 's ago I was informed by BMO Harris Bank of ( XXXX XXXX, WI XXXX ), by a teller that I had extra account ( s ) in my name ( showed up under my personal account information ). Estimated date was XX/XX/XXXX. I dismissed that info provided by the teller ( thinking it was an error on the teller 's part ). one week later, I went to BMO ( same location ) and performed a transaction inside the bank. Upon making a withdrawal from my individual checking acct the teller had asked me which acct I wanted the funds to be pulled out of? My individual acct or my premium money market acct. I declared my individual acct. After the completion of that transaction I requested to speak with an acct representative. The rep ( XXXX XXXX ) is whom I spoke with. I had inquired with Ms. XXXX about obtaining some deposit history to my individual checking acct. When Ms. XXXX opened my acct information, an additional acct showed up ( MM Acct ). Ms. XXXX inquired, which acct? I said the individual checking. She said the info that I requested would take a few days to acquire the documents. Then, I requested information on the ( MM Acct ), that is or has my name and personal info attached to the acct ( as it appears each time I utilize the bank for a transaction ). Ms. XXXX played down my inquiry. Refused to disclose the acct holder 's name, refused to release any info to that MM acct that has/had my name on it. I became angry, angry in fear of someone having my acct information, utilizing my name on an acct that I did not open, that I did not provide a signature to the acct. I'm in fear of being held responsible for fraudulent activities. Ms. XXXX, only stated that I maybe receiving a small inheritance., a beneficiary possibly. THIS WAS NOT AN ACCEPTABLE RESPONSE! ... Now, on XX/XX/XXXX I spoke with acct rep Mr. XXXX XXXX, I had made an inquiry about the mm acct. The rep stated there was no other account showing up other than my own two ( individual checking & savings ). This tells me an acct representative move that mm acct off of ID, but it does not assure me that my name is removed from the mm acct and a CD acct. I expect absolute assurance that my name has been removed from these acct 's, ( not just moved off my ID and placed on a different board whereas it no longer shows up with my board/ID.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-15

Glendale, CO

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Banking errors
Complaint: I opened a BMO Harris Smart Advantage Checking account on XX/XX/19 with a {$300.00} bonus for meeting certain requirements. I met all of the requirements, including currently living in Missouri. I previously had an old BMO Harris checking account while in Oregon that I had closed. When I signed up for this most recent Smart Advantage Checking account I was required to use my old login information instead of allowing me to create a new login. The old login used my old Oregon address and it didn't give me the option to update my address to my current Missouri address during the application. As soon as I realized that it was using my old address instead of my current Missouri address I asked them to update my address. BMO Harris is denying me the bank bonus because they are stating that my first bank statement has my Oregon address which is not a qualifying state. BMO Harris cut my first statement six days ( on XX/XX/19 ) after opening my account before the address could be changed/updated. The second statement shows my correct address in Missouri. It is not right that an old address was used for a current application and I am being denied a bank bonus although I updated it as soon as possible. If a statement had been cut 30/31 days after I had opened the account instead of 6 days later, my information/address would have been correct.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-15

Mount Pleasant, WI

Incorrect information on your report

Mortgage: Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Fort Myers, FL

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Savings account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Watkins, CO

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Savings account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: I opened a savings ( money market ) account with BMO Harris USA online. I read all terms and disclosures. Their sign up process failed to provide me a copy of all things I " signed '' and or agreed too. It failed to provide my new account number. After I called them they refused to talk to me once I failed one of the frequently incorrect credit history questions ( This data is constantly incorrect.. for example " when did you graduate high school '' ... is inferred and incorrect in my case -- I have no idea when they think I graduated high school, I was home schooled and already attending college while still in high school ). They refused to talk to me even though I had provided two email addresses and two mobile phone numbers with the application. I had no account number to the {$30000.00} I just transferred in to a new account and no access. Eventually I got access, but I was quite upset. After trying to use the account I found I was unable to transfer money out. And I found there were suddenly daily, weekly and monthly electronic transaction " amount '' limits which WERE NOT DISCLOSED up front. Their disclosure described limits in frequency, but absolutely no mention of amount limits. See attached disclosure. A simple XXXX search shows they violated Regulation E ( 12 C.F.R. 205.2 ) on disclosures. When I requested to close the account they want to charge an account closing fee and other fees. Please help me.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Chicago, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-11

Lowell, AR

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Complaint: 2 COLLECTORS ARE ON MY CREDIT REPORTS, CEASE AND DESIST COLLECTIONS OR BE SUED
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Hinsdale, IL

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Complaint: I opened the account in BMO Harris Bank after receiving the postal flyer of getting a {$700.00} bonus after meeting the 2 conditions : 1. Put {$10000.00} ( already met ) 2. Direct Deposit of {$5000.00} ( already met ) After meeting both the requirements the bank stalled and keep on saying that call us after 120 days, and post 120 days they told me that I don't qualify for this promotion as i had the account previously and it is for only new customers. When i went to the bank the banker already saw this and still insisted me to open the account and told me that i will qualify for this promotion and it doesnt matter if you have the account earlier asked to open the account and now they are not honoring this. I really felt cheated and want this to resolved and need my promotion to be paid. Need your help on the same. Account Numbers Saving- XXXX Checking- XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Chicago, IL

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Funds not received from closed account
Complaint: I met Mr. XXXX XXXX to see about closongmu mom, Ms. XXXX XXXX IRA account, since my mom pass away on XX/XX/2019 of this year. The first email received on XX/XX/2019, that Mr. XXXX will be starting his vacation and hand his assignment to Mr. XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/2019. After receiving my last communication with Mr. XXXX, I have beenin communication with Mr. XXXX XXXX by phone and email. After meeting Mr. XXXX XXXX in person at the bank and filling out the necessary paper work. I was promised the check will be out in a week. The last email sent by Mr. XXXX stated that he will reach out with the IRA department on XX/XX/2019. So far, I have yet receive a reply or call back, anf when I tried the main number. I am always informed he is with a client or in a meeting. Can someone assist? The amount is about {$8000.00} my mom old IRA account that my my
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

IA

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
Complaint: We paid this car loan off on XX/XX/2019. We have made numerous calls to BMO Harris Bank but still have not received the title to this vehicle. The last person we spoke with was XXXX ( refused to give last name ) said she was a manager, advised if we go litigated she will stop all research. She was of no help and did not want to help. We are tired of waiting on this Title as we want to sell this vehicle but we are not able to without a Title.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Lk Buena Vis, FL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Banking errors
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Evanston, IL

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations
Legal Entity Identifier 3Y4U8VZURTYWI1W2K376 [BMO Harris Bank National Association]

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy