CIT BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2033 complaints on file for CIT BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION. Dated between 2019-11-15 and 2011-12-05.

Complaints by Product

Mortgage - Other mortgage620
Mortgage - Reverse mortgage350
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)282
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage222
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage74
Bank account or service - (CD) Certificate of deposit62
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit54
Mortgage - FHA mortgage40
Checking or savings account - CD (Certificate of Deposit)40
Checking or savings account - Savings account34
Bank account or service - Checking account29
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service25
Debt collection - Mortgage24
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage23
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service20
Bank account or service - Savings account19
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting16
Checking or savings account - Checking account13
Debt collection - Mortgage debt12
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)11
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)10
Consumer Loan - Installment loan8

Latest Complaints

2019-11-15

Santa Monica, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Deposits or withdrawals
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Flushing, NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-04

Foothill Ranch, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-01

Hinkley, CA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-25

Diamond, CA

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-21

New Cassel, NY

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-17

Emerald Hills, CA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Hello, I worked with XXXX XXXX at CIT ( www.cit.clm ) to get a mortgage ( loan ID XXXX ). We were not able to close. He told me that he is going to refund my application fee of {$500.00} ( I have an email from him showing his promise ). However, he didn't. I put a stop on the credit card payment. However, CIT is disputing this and my credit card company is not responding to me. They have already taken the money out of my account. Kindly help. The company is called OneWest Bank, a division of CIT Bank, N.A. located at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, CA XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-16

Stamford, CT

Written notification about debt

Debt collection: I do not know

Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-06

Santa Ysabel, CA

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 I had received a Form 1099-C claiming that I had a cancelation of debt at {$8800.00}. and that the identified date is from XXXX, from CIT Morgage Servicing, NOT the company that I have my mortgage with. On attempting to contact them via phone a few days later on the XXXX, no one had picked up, I kept calling until I had finally conversed with, Ms.XXXX ( agent id # XXXX ) on XX/XX/XXXX, where they told me that they could not find any information about me in their system, ranging from SSN to my name. She had given me an email address to contact them. I had emailed them ( at XXXX ) telling them to issue a CORRECTED 1099-C form to me and the IRS where the amount was XXXX. They had given me a ticket number ( XXXX ) in response to this on XX/XX/XXXX, claiming that they had assigned the case to someone. Never having received a response, I emailed them again XX/XX/XXXX with nothing but a confirmation that they had received it. There has been no other contact attempted by this company.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-04

Seattle, WA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-04

Lake Grove, OR

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Banking errors
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-02

Pasadena, CA

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-01

Ontario, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-30

Moapa, NV

Applying for a mortgage

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-30

Huntington, CT

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-20

Franklin, TN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-17

Houston, TX

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with fees charged
Complaint: m being charged excessive fees by CIT Bank for equipment that should have been salvaged .... My name is XXXX XXXX my company is ( XXXX XXXX XXXX ) I have tried on several occasions to buyout my contract only to find that I am still Liable for the entire term after XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX told me there was no prepayment fee or penalty ... ... I have spoken to several other people throughout loan period and no resolution ... .Just the same inflated payoff ... .Contracts- XXXX and XXXX. I am trying to settle this amicably but just doesn't seem to happen. One Loan has been paid completely from which I was informed I owe an addition XXXX ... .I have all bank drafts and payments that exceed the original loan amount.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-14

Alpharetta, GA

Money was not available when promised

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Domestic (US) money transfer


Complaint: This is what the CIT Bank wire transfer form says Signed and completed forms may be securely submitted to the Document Center in Online Banking. Sign in via www.CITBank.com and click on Customer Service to access the Document Center. You may also submit by fax at ( XXXX ) XXXX. Submit forms prior to XXXX XXXX Pacific Time ( XXXX XXXX Eastern Time ) to have the wire transfer reviewed the same day, subject to the Terms and Conditions below ( excluding federal holidays ). I submitted a form on XX/XX/XXXX around XXXX XXXX EST for the transfer to happen the next day. On XX/XX/XXXX around XXXX XXXX EST, CIT calls me and starts asking me the information that I had already provided in the form that was securely uploaded to their Document Center. I spoke to XXXX and XXXX XXXX from XXXX, CA. The business day was almost over, and they were calling me at the end of the day. XXXX said that their cutoff time was XXXX PST, and they had to initiate the transfer ASAP to make it the same day. I had submitted the form 24 hours ago, and they were calling me 30 mins before the cutoff time. When I told him that, he lied on 2 things 1 ) I was supposed to call CIT after sending the form ; nowhere in the form does it mention that. It explicit says For security purposes, CIT Bank will contact you to verify the information that you provided within this request. We will be using the telephone number ( s ) we already have on file. 2 ) They had called me before and I did not respond. My call history proves otherwise and I would like to challenge CIT to prove that they called earlier on XX/XX/XXXX. So, after sending the form on XX/XX/XXXX, almost 24 hours before their cut-off time, I still do not get the funds transferred on XX/XX/XXXX. It ultimately happens on XX/XX/XXXX. What is pathetic is not just their lack of process and incompetence but their lack of knowledge and denial of any responsibility.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-14

Brentwood, TN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: I recently moved from XXXX to XXXX, since my bank OneWest only limits me {$1500.00} per day I have to write a check to myself so I have more available for bills, moving expenses, and other circumstances like purchasing furniture since I literally started from scratch. I made the decision of refurbishing my house, so I needed more money available. This is the reason I opened an account through XXXX XXXX. I made a check out to myself on XX/XX/14 for the amount of {$3000.00} and deposited it to my account. The money was debited from my account the following day and it was credited in my XXXX account the same day. XX/XX/XXXX, I go and check my account because I have to pay for my mortgage and my account is now - {$2300.00}!!!! Luckily I was able to pay the bills from my one west account, I call one west and they claim that there was an issue with FIS and I should receive a credit soon. According to what they said, there was an error with the federal that it showed it was being redeposited and it came back returned even though it was debuted from my account 2 weeks ago. I had a conference call with both banks and XXXX had no idea what is going on. Its now 2 XXXX weeks and my account is still negative {$2400.00} now because of overdraft fees. I have had to borrow money from people to pay my bills and Im limited on funds. This is a complete embarrassment!! Im Pennie pinching and I can not get these resolved! I am in the hunt for an attorney! The bank can not give me a straight answer, I called yesterday and they tell me now that One west is going to cut a check to send to XXXX XXXX. I asked for a tracking and they can not give it to me! This has been a complete nightmare for my family and I and will close this account as soon as this gets resolved but for the meantime I have no idea what to do financially!
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-12

Pasadena, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Savings account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-09

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Banking errors
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-09-04

West Palm Bch, FL

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Seized or attempted to seize your property
Complaint: Cit bank has cook the books for one west bank and for XXXX XXXX by using constructive fraud and avoidance tactics with super lawyers from XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX To seize my property at XXXX XXXX XXXX in XXXX XXXX XXXX Florida and for XXXX XXXX XXXX deliberately defaulting the equity line And reporting me as late to the credit bureaus while Ive been in foreclosure for 12 years because of one west bank impropriety and XXXX bank fraud that XXXX XXXX and cit bank Exploited to extort me and my XXXX partner with hundreds of thousands of dollars while they funded on in a legal foreclosure by paying their super lawyers in XXXX XXXX to avoid all the liability claiming it wasnt them when they are the ones committing the act of constructive fraud and using lawyers to avoid that after they cook the books so that they make millions of dollars in profit on a marketable asset that is my home and business that they seed and stole from me with fraud and backdated documents with forgeries and perjury so that they could pay XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX huge dividends after they steal peoples property that wanted to keep their properties and were foreclosed on by their crooked accountants who misapplied payment last documents and backdated forge documents just to force the losses onto the homeowner when theyre the ones that refuse payment and we were never late because I want against them in XXXX and now theyre retaliating to retaliating against me Because they wash the books just like the mafia does with fake accounting and fake assignments and fake forge signatures Which allows them to money launder and steal peoples houses in XXXX
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-30

Santa Monica, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-28

Rosewood, MN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Savings account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-08-22

Hammond, IN

Charged fees or interest you didn't expect

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations
Legal Entity Identifier FVPV0TNOIM6NUIE59530 [CIT Bank, National Association]

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy