CITIBANK, N.A

Consumer Complaints

There are over 53324 complaints on file for CITIBANK, N.A. Dated between 2019-12-12 and 2011-12-01.

Complaints by Product

Credit card - 16817
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose credit card or charge card6907
Mortgage - Other mortgage3450
Bank account or service - Checking account3216
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage3030
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting2718
Credit card or prepaid card - Store credit card2511
Checking or savings account - Checking account2145
Debt collection - Credit card1877
Debt collection - Credit card debt1379
Mortgage - FHA mortgage986
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service879
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit632
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage598
Student loan - Non-federal student loan587
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)554
Consumer Loan - Installment loan498
Debt collection - I do not know481
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)428
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service381
Checking or savings account - Savings account323
Credit reporting - 267
Bank account or service - Savings account257
Mortgage - VA mortgage209
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)185
Consumer Loan - Personal line of credit163
Debt collection - Other debt160
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage159
Debt collection - Mortgage108
Student loan - Private student loan95
Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan85
Prepaid card - General purpose card85
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Domestic (US) money transfer85
Bank account or service - (CD) Certificate of deposit84
Money transfers - International money transfer70
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - International money transfer68
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose prepaid card66
Mortgage - Second mortgage62
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Other personal consumer report54
Prepaid card - Gift or merchant card50
Checking or savings account - CD (Certificate of Deposit)48
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Personal line of credit47
Debt collection - Non-federal student loan39
Prepaid card - Other special purpose card35
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit repair services33
Money transfers - Domestic (US) money transfer32
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Installment loan30
Student loan - Federal student loan servicing25
Payday loan - 22
Debt collection - Auto21
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Mobile or digital wallet21
Vehicle loan or lease - Loan19
Prepaid card - Payroll card18
Debt collection - Payday loan15
Debt collection - Mortgage debt14
Debt collection - Private student loan debt14
Bank account or service - Cashing a check without an account14
Consumer Loan - Title loan14
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Traveler's check or cashier's check13
Prepaid card - ID prepaid card10
Debt collection - Federal student loan9
Other financial service - Debt settlement9
Credit card or prepaid card - Payroll card8
Credit card or prepaid card - Gift card8
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Title loan8
Other financial service - Traveler’s/Cashier’s checks7
Other financial service - Check cashing6
Credit card or prepaid card - Government benefit card6

Latest Complaints

2019-12-12

Palm Bch Shrs, FL

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Overcharged for something you did purchase with the card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-12

Bremen, GA

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-11

Lewisville, TX

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: I have applied for Best Buy Visa credit card on XX/XX/2019 and I was approved. I used the credit card for purchase 3-4 times and every time they used to look up my account in store using my id as I didn't receive the physical card. On XX/XX/2019 I went again to a Best Buy Store at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, TX XXXX for purchasing one item and I asked the associate ( XXXX ) to look up my account. I clearly informed him I already have the Best Buy credit card and he just need to look up so that I can pay with the Best Buy card. He told me we need to look up in some other system so please enter your details. I raised red flag saying I am not applying for credit so why you need details like salary etc. He said we need this to look up you exist in system. I told him that there should not be any hit to credit score but he was still adamant for me to enter the details like income on key pad After this step the associate XXXX said that you already have an account and now your can pay. Thankfully I got a XXXX XXXX alert which notified that the store did a hard hit on my credit report. This is fraudulent activity. I asked for Store manager and his flat response was I apologize but we can't do anything Store General manager name : XXXX This is fraudulent activity by Best Buy and I will like to report this to Consumer Financial Bureau so that other consumers are not cheated like me
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-11

Rochdale, NY

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: Store credit card

Can't close your account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-10

Belden, MS

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-10

N Port, FL

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Funds not received from closed account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Arvada, CO

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Savings account

Unable to open an account
Complaint: In the beginning XXXX I attempted to open a Citibank checking and saving account due to their attractive bonus and my need for a new bank to work with. I funded the savings account with {$15000.00} that was required with the intent to place {$25.00} to the checking to meet the requirements. A couple weeks after applying to open the account I never heard from Citi Bank. The savings account was funded but I was unable to transfer money from my savings to checking. I then called and they stated there was a block on my account but that it was a mistake and would be removed. The dates of my calls I can not distinctly remember as I have called over 15 times. Another week went by and I called again and was told there was still the hold but it was no mistake and it was due to the need to verify my identity. This made sense to me but I was a little confused why they never sent me any email or mail correspondence regarding the hold. After several more calls, I finally get an email about filling out their verfication forms. I filled them out the same I recieved them, XX/XX/XXXX. I called the number as the email directed as it stated " Your submission will be reviewed within 3-10 business days. If you have not received a response after 10 business days, please call XXXX option 2 for assistance. ". I have called since then 5-7 times and each times I am able to speak to a manager who tell me there is a block but they are unsure why it is still there. Sometimes they tell me it is because they still need to verify me but can see that my forms are submitted and look good. They then tell me that it is the 'back office ' who must review them and they can not undue the hold. It has been 2 months of this 'back office ' never getting back to any of the emails the supervisors send on my behalf. I reach a dead end with supervisor and anyone on the phone and they will not provide an email or phone number to this 'back office '. They won't tell me why it my identity is not being verified and I have never had any issues in the past. Three weeks ago I ask to close the account since I just want my money back but was told it is this 'same back office ' who processes this request and have never heard any response back about this request. I have attempted to transfer the money out of my accounts via external transfer to the same bank I funded it from which was approved for inter instituional transfers on XX/XX/XXXX but each time it gets rejected with no known reason. The last time this occurred on XX/XX/XXXX, I was told it 'might ' be an automatic trigger from the system since I tried to transfer such a large amount and their fraud system kicked in. They say to try again. It gets rejected again. They don't know why. So right now I feel as though my money is trapped in Citi Bank. I can not fully open the account without signficant holds, I can't close the account because the same people who undue the holds won't respond to fully open my account and they won't let me transfer my money out of the account. There is no physical branch near me for me to speak with someone in person either. Ideally, I would like to simply transfer money back to the account it came from and be done with Citi Bank for good. I would like the bonus offer I qualified for and should get as I met the requirements. Most of all, however, I want my money back in a timely manner since it is over {$15000.00} and I have bills to pay.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Allentown, PA

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Late or other fees
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Alt De Penuelas Ii, PR

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: Store credit card

Problem with customer service
Complaint: Best buy closed muy account without my consent.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Ashburn Park, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Problem making or receiving payments
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

NY

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Threatened or suggested your credit would be damaged
Complaint: My credit card number was stolen and I was contacted by the fraud department at Citi. They told me they would close that account and send me a new card. I had a payment due and logged in to pay my payment and it showed a XXXX balance and I was unable to make the payment, however I also had not received my new card number at that time. So I received a phone call from Citi XXXX department, who was not very nice and insisted the information was on there website. After the call was ended, I logged in again, and it still said XXXX balnace and I was still unable to make a payment ( this I took a picture of ). I then received and email taking all my available credit away from me. I tried calling them again and they took my payment over the phone, however would not remove the late fee, which was of their doing, not mine, and said they could not do anything to repair what they had now done to my credit.. due to errors on their end.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Firestone Park, CA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Old information reappears or never goes away
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

San Francisco, CA

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: Store credit card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-08

Cleveland, OH

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-08

TX

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-08

Austin, TX

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem with fees
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-07

MA

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Private student loan

Trouble with how payments are being handled
Complaint: Please note I have upload complete letter in attachments. I copied and pasted for site. I apologize if anything is repeated. n XX/XX/XXXX I noticed a huge discrepancy with the balance of one of the student loans that I co-signed for, for my niece XXXX XXXX. These loans were co-signed for In the time frame from XX/XX/XXXX-XX/XX/XXXX I co-signed for three with Citibank then XXXX student loans. Ever since XX/XX/XXXX I have had issues with these loans and incorrect payment handling because of these issues primarily I asked several times to be removed as co-signer It is important to note in addition to this I wanted to get payment history for all three loans corrected. All payments prior to XXXX buying one of the loans were made by one payment check and Citibank applied accordingly. Unless I received a collection call then I sent an additional payment. In XX/XX/XXXX I developed a very rare illness and became XXXX so the stress of these calls was too much and I was too sick to investigate and argue most times. I would wait until I felt better and would reach out. For years I went unsuccessfully round and round with Citibank who refused to help and skirted the issues when I reported it to CFPB. In XXXX, Citibank sold two of the three loans to XX/XX/XXXXand again I filed a report with CFPB Citibank denied the payment issues and XXXX XXXX XXXX Executive Office of Customer Advocacy investigated it. He assigned two people to assist. I I sent years worth of payment history and he corrected my payment history and my credit reports. While I was working with his office in XXXX I heard again from XXXX XXXX who worked for XXXX Office at Citibank. Finally my payment history and my credit report were corrected. XXXX sent me the attached email and Citibank I took their word and verified my credit report. Bank automatically sent payments every month there after. In XX/XX/XXXX I got a call from XXXX about the one loan they were now servicing for Citibank. The balance compared to the other two loans to be triple. I had been paying fir almost 9 years at this point. I called XXXX and requested a complete payment history. XXXX responded with a very incomplete payment history and for only 2 years and said that they could only go back two years. That the other information was not available. All correspondence done via there online communication that message expire and are deleted So I pushed back and filed another CFPB claim. However, in the two years provided I could already see payments were missing. So I pushed harder to get A complete copy and I filed a complaint again. Again Citibank did not provide payment history information until I got the survey from CFPB asking if I was satisfied with Citibank response. This is when I received the payment history and letter from Citibank dated XX/XX/XXXX. Packaged included Citibanks payment Audit trail from XX/XX/XXXX to current in addition with the cover letter from XXXX. This audit trail is dated XX/XX/XXXX. This audit trail is completely inaccurate and fortunately I still have a copy of the audit trail of all payments received on all three loans that I provided to XXXX in XXXX. Attached you will find a letter from Citibank and its from XXXX again the same lady I worked with in XXXX who promised that she corrected this payment history and she definitely fixed my credit reports. However, her audit trail provided on XXXX XXXX tells me otherwise as far as loan balance, fees and intentionally not applying or correcting payments. In her letter she states I was denied from being released as a co-signer because a payment for XX/XX/XXXX was not received however you can clearly see in XXXX XXXX audit trail it was received on XXXX XXXX. On this letter XXXX also very clearly states Citi co-signer release policy. Her policy is worded very different then the actual policy that XXXX XXXX copied and pasted in his official guidelines. In XXXX XXXX letter he confirms no late payments were made in XX/XX/XXXXHistory it shows a forbearance. That Citibank omits. This as well. He also clearly states the need for Citibank to correct there payment history as well. A comparison of payments on both audit trail Citibank History/Versus XXXX. Remember XX/XX/XXXX loans were Citibank until XXXX one check. Missing payments on Citibank XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX Citibank suggested XX/XX/XXXX to use their online payment system to ensure on time and were correctly applied 5 of these payments from this system not on Citibank audit trail. We tried several times and we tried to set up auto pay to get a reduction in interest rate but this was very undependable and system would become inaccessible for periods of times You can see today that Most of these payments are not in Citibank History. See screen shot of payment history that I took in XXXX and compare it to Citibank Audit trail dated XX/XX/XXXX The first payment XX/XX/XXXX payment not accounted for anywhere on XXXX or Citibank. Ten dollars from millions of customers is free money. Date discrepancys like XXXX on site Citibank audit trail XX/XX/XXXX are all of this history for loans that interest is calculated daily the applied date is very important to the consumer. XX/XX/XXXX. Paid on line not on audit trail provided by Citibank {$410.00} XX/XX/XXXX paid online not on audit audit trail provided by Citibank. I continued to receive calls and emails so I then made multiple payments but collection calls and emails did not stop. The following are missing payments XXXX and XXXX XXXX audit trail contains but Citibank doesnt. received them letter from XXXX XX/XX/XXXX. XXXX audit trail contains proof of the following payments That Citibank has not applied on their XX/XX/XXXX audit trail. XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX And note there was extra payments made in between. The expense involved and time to go through almost ten years of bank detail will be pursued when the FTC requires this additional information. Looking at the bottom of XXXX audit trail XX/XX/XXXX payment was received on XX/XX/XXXX. Meaning after their XXXX investigation I was two months ahead in payments. However none the less collection calls persisted and collection emails did too see XXXX XXXX email. And when I couldnt get Citibank to fix unapplied payments I made several extra payments XX/XX/XXXX to preserve my credit. XXXX sent confirmation of their payments received them in letter Dated XXXX XXXX. The missing payments on Citibanks audit trail provided XX/XX/XXXX continued for XXXX Not applied XXXX payments XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX Unapplied or misapplied payments continued XXXX Missing payments XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX In XXXX XXXX was hired to handle Citibanks loans however the audit trail says converted to XXXX and my first interaction in XXXX with Citibank they acted as if this was no longer their loan. Call XXXX not our problem. On their audit trail note the wording on XX/XX/XXXX converted to XXXX. The word convert implies a change like XXXX now owns the loan which is what Citibank implied to me as well on phone giving me the constant run around but XXXX was very clear that they did not own the loan. XXXX of XXXX collections calls started again I found out that Citibank was not forwarding payments to XXXX as they communicated they would. See letter from them with bad information. Missing payments and copies of cashed checks provided XXXX XXXX. Not applied XXXX XXXX Was applied XXXX XXXX Not applied XXXX XXXX Not applied. I have retrieved what I believe is sufficient documentation of Citibank deceptive practices. I have thousands of dollars in missing payments. They have knowing changed my payment history. They have refused to investigate and correctly apply missing payments. They have denied me to released as a co-signer on this loan for a missing payment that they knowingly received. Citibanks wording on there letter makes it seem like if you are ever late on a payment you can not release co-signer where as XXXX XXXX documentation clearly states 48 consecutive payments In addition I am filing another complaint with CFPB to ensure this matter is corrected. Other wise I will take to FTC via an attorney. I am sending this to you for action and accountability. I am also sending all this detail to FTC I want this investigated and criminal charges filed. You will receive multiple emails with detail to support my allegations. Please contact me with any questions or for clarifications.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-07

WA

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: Store credit card

Charged too much interest
Complaint: Best Buy purchase almost 2 years back. All payments made on time. {$1500.00} balance, {$670.00} interest added all at once in XX/XX/2019 for total of {$2100.00}. Was told payoff was {$1100.00} but another {$300.00} in interest would be added if paid off. Called to inquire, told it was a program with interest added at the end.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-07

Quartzsite, AZ

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: Store credit card

Other problem
Complaint: I have a best buy credit card thru citibank after my house hit my credit report they lowered my credit limit from XXXX to XXXX when i was carrying a XXXX balance now i am almost over the limit. I was not informed by the creditors this happened and called to find out why all they told me was because of my credit report. Now my score is lowering because i am over the limit on the card. Reps at bank just said the only way to go back is to re apply. Which i do not want to do since they just raised it 2 months ago.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-07

Natrona Hts, PA

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: Store credit card

Problem with fees
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-07

Jersey City, NJ

Advertising and marketing, including promotional offers

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Didn't receive advertised or promotional terms
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-06

Lincoln, NE

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Complaint: My Best Buy Citibank bill is due on the XXXX of every month and I missed my XXXX payment on XX/XX/XXXX. So I paid it on XX/XX/XXXX. I was charged a late fee, which is acceptable because it was late. So in order for my XXXX payment to not be late, I paid it on XX/XX/XXXX. I paid {$200.00} of my {$170.00} minimum XXXX payment on XX/XX/XXXX. Then I paid {$200.00} of my {$170.00} minimum payment on XX/XX/XXXX for my XX/XX/XXXX payment. But when I went to confirm that I didn't need to make a payment on XX/XX/XXXX, I had a minimum payment due. What?! So I called them and they said that it was because the payment was made in the XXXX billing cycle that runs until XX/XX/XXXX it can't be applied to the XXXX minimum. Huh?! So their policy is my payment is due on the XXXX. Late payment applied if not paid by XXXX. But if I make another payment before the XXXX, it is still in the billing cycle of the month I just paid in. How is my payment on the XXXX late if it is still in the billing cycle??? If my payment on the XXXX is late, then how is my payment on the XXXX not on time for the next due date? That is shady!! -- -XX/XX/XXXX {$170.00} due. -- -XX/XX/XXXXcharged {$39.00} late fee for no payment on the XXXX. -- XXXX XXXX paid {$200.00} for late XXXX payment. -- -XX/XX/XXXXpaid {$200.00} for XXXX bill due on XX/XX/XXXX. -- -Notice from Citibank another {$170.00} due for XX/XX/XXXX. -- XXXX XXXX charged {$39.00} late fee.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-06

Holbrook, NY

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-06

Holbrook, NY

Trouble using your card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company won't increase or decrease your credit limit
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-06

Brentwood, TN

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Debt was result of identity theft
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations
Legal Entity Identifier 579100KKDGKCFFKKF005 [CITIBANK N A]
Legal Entity Identifier 579100KKDGKCFFKKF093 [CITIBANK N A]

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy