CREDIT ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1389 complaints on file for CREDIT ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION. Dated between 2019-12-08 and 2012-10-02.

Complaints by Product

Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan396
Vehicle loan or lease - Loan379
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting253
Debt collection - Auto debt128
Debt collection - Auto87
Debt collection - I do not know31
Consumer Loan - Installment loan17
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)17
Debt collection - Other debt15
Vehicle loan or lease - Lease15
Consumer Loan - Vehicle lease12
Credit reporting - 9
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Title loan6

Latest Complaints

2019-12-08

Colts Neck, NJ

False statements or representation

Debt collection: I do not know

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Complaint: i monitor my credit with XXXX and the following appears on my credit report.CREDIT ACCEPTANCE XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, MI XXXX as an open account. I called them up on phone asking who and what they are and what owed if anything. They asked social security number and then stated they do not have anything with me on their files. who? what? why are they appearing as open account if not knowing who i am? i told them remove your name from my report and was told they do not have to, for me to call reporting agency and do it. is that lawful?
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-07

Clarksville, TN

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-05

AZ

Getting a loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Fraudulent loan
Complaint: Auto Dealer Fraud and Consumer Fraud XX/XX/XXXX XXXX XXXX in XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX miles and XXXX years old. Never told me it even was out of manufacturer warranty. Car died XX/XX/XXXX XXXX battery dead, {$4600.00} to fix. I got XXXX trade in. Predator lending Credit Acceptance 22.99 % interest. XX/XX/XXXX, XXXX XXXX rolled {$6300.00} into my next car loan from Credit Acceptance. This is all Auto Dealer Fraud caused by all 3.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Englewood, NJ

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-01

Philadelphia, PA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Complaint: Since XXXX of XXXX I have been filing over 5-10 complaints of issues with your assistance and its been marginal progress as of today. Just recently I received resolution or investigation completions of my reporting of XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX and Credit Acceptance Corporation. Separate or attached complaints will be completed. Credit Acceptance corporation filed a lawsuit against me in XXXX in XXXX due to me returning XXXX or XXXX XXXX XXXX that they sold at a loss without providing terms of sale. Default judgement was entered in XXXX without my knowledge. Lawsuit was dismissed or cancelled due to it being included in XXXX - Chapter XXXX filing that was discharged around XX/XX/XXXX. Issue is that anything after the lawsuit is charged off and it stops reporting because it's no longer an active account. Since the bankruptcy these two companies have updated and included more predatory information other than the account was included in bankruptcy. They have monthly activity for a closed or charged off account, I think that's counter-intuitive, legal or ethical practice. It's intentional and predatory and should be illegal, if not already so. Additionally, from XX/XX/XXXX to XX/XX/XXXX they updated Failed to Pay - FP - but for the month of my Chapter XXXX filing they have negative - N. I would like the account deleted because since my initial complaints since XX/XX/XXXX they have not acted in an ethical and fair manner probably in accordance with the FCRA, stress being placed on " FAIR ''. XXXX XXXX acknowledges that the account in now in bankruptcy, however my initial complaints inclusive of your organization have still gone ignored as they have my status of my discharged auto loan as : " Status : Now paying / was a charge-off '' .This information is false or fraudulent as car was never charged off and never received paperwork to this status and I have not made a payment since XXXX or XXXX of XXXX. Car re-affirmation agreement was rescinded and officially recognized my Judge XXXX on XX/XX/XXXX. The month of XXXX has retroactive reporting stating the car was 90 days late, reaffirmation agreement was accepted in XXXX. Account could not be late at this period of time and XXXX and XXXX has - FP - failed to pay, but you have more contradictory information being reported, " Late payments : XX/XX/XXXX '' there was no payment being made in XXXX. Payments were never made due partially to the fact that XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX nor XXXX XXXX reached out to communicate proper channels to remit payment during bankruptcy. I want the account deleted as part of my dispute resolution request. It is my opinion that both of these companies have sought to delay and not act in accordance with the FCRA Act. It is fact that the issues previously mention have been previously brought to you to adjudicate or mediate to modest gains. It is my opinion the two companies have sought to act unethically, professionally and out of accordance with FCRA with the semantics of updating negative information to their discharged accounts via bankruptcy in the comments and monthly activity on my credit report that would hinder credit repair and a good FICO score. It is my opinion which is rooted in fact that XXXX has reviewed the same complaints many times on many occasions and they have not enforced the FCRA and informed XXXX XXXX and Credit Acceptance Corporation that the reporting is unfair and contradictory. Therefore, I am led to believe that XXXX is acting in conjunction with the companies and agrees with their unethical behavior and is culpable in this matter. As I stated, due to my previous complaint with CFPB I received a paper form of my credit report showing positive changes, however some 3-5 days later XXXX XXXX website is showing no change. CFPB : please assist me in deleting these accounts as my two former creditors ( XXXX XXXX and Credit Acceptance Corporation ) with the assistance with XXXX continue to violate the FCRA after I have legally absolved myself of these debts.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-30

TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Complaint: XXXX is continuing to report an account Credit Acceptance Corporation in the amount of {$4800.00} that is a result of identity theft on to my credit file. I have informed XXXX that this account needs to be deleted blocked and investigated but yet they have failed to do their due diligence on this above referenced account. I have also contacted Credit Acceptance Corporation and this company can not provide a signed application bearing my signature nor a contract stating that I have had any obligation with them. I have never dealt with Credit Acceptance so how in the heck can XXXX be possibly verifying and validating anything when the company itself can't provide me with any information. They have not provided competent evidence bearing my signature, showing that I have or ever had some contractual obligation to pay you or the original creditor. I will be forced to sue XXXX and Credit Acceptance Corporation for 1. ) Defamation 2. ) Negligent Enablement of Identity Fraud 3. ) Violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act if this is not removed immediately.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-30

San Bernardino, CA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with additional products or services purchased with the loan
Complaint: My car was recently siezed by the us border patrol ineeded my finance company to recover car for which was possible because it is stated in contract and was told they would not be recovering the car and if I wanted to pay XXXX to pay of loan and that was all they could do I had the car for 4 month with a 20 percent interstate rate
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

N Haven, CT

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Auto debt

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Englewood, OH

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Lenola, NJ

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Tupelo, MS

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Alexandria, VA

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Received unsolicited financial product or insurance offers after opting out
Complaint: XXXX XXXX XXXX, has unlawful obtain my credit report for financial services with Credit Acceptance and XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX after I was pre approval by XXXX XXXX XXXX. The owner refuse financial services from my bank after pre approval to only provide financial services with Credit Acceptance and XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX after my bank approved me for financial services for an car. The owner is refusing XXXX XXXX consumers financial services and is only using the pre approval letter from XXXX XXXX to financial with Credit Acceptance which is control by XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. I didn't ask for financial services but was pre approval with XXXX XXXX which is my Bank. XXXX XXXX XXXX call my phone stating they were XXXX XXXX XXXX and I was approved for XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

PA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Investigation took more than 30 days
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

Tuscaloosa, AL

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

Montevallo, AL

Communication tactics

Debt collection: I do not know

Frequent or repeated calls
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

Brisas De Canovanas, PR

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
Complaint: It was happened in XX/XX/XXXX were XXXXXXXX XXXX XXXX in XXXX XXXX XXXX sent the title of the loan to Motor Vehicle Registration. They sent the title to me. It cause to Credit Acceptance Bank close the loan because of the tittle. The dealership call me to renegotiate the loan because of the mistake. They took the car in XX/XX/XXXX XXXX. I keep communication with the bank, because the promised sent all my money I pay to the loan. ( {$1400.00} ). In multiple times they sent to paycheck at my name to the dealer, but the dealer lie me, justifying they don't received the check. But Credit Acceptance sent my check. I decided move to XXXX XXXX in XX/XX/XXXX. I called a lot of times to Credit Acceptance to report I will leave XXXX to other address ( XXXX XXXX, XXXX, XXXX XXXX, XXXX, XXXX XXXX ). The told me they will consider send to me a new check. In XXXX the sent again the new check to dealership in XXXX XXXX. I need recover my money ( XXXX ). additional I Pay {$1500.00} of down payment. I made payments of the insurance ( XXXX ) for more than one year. It affected my credit because of loss my car.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

Tacoma, WA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with fees charged
Complaint: I opened an auto loan with Credit Acceptance corp. Due to a repossession in my past I was told I would need to allow them to install a vehicle tracker in my car. This did not seem unreasonable at the time but since then I have learned they are able to remotely disable my vehicle and will call me, sometime 7-8 times an hour, requesting payment of a late fee or service fee even though according to my credit report, I have made all of my payments on time since XX/XX/XXXX of last year. I am often confused about the nature and origin of these fees but will pay them out of fear that I will be stranded or not able to get to work. I have asked to move my billing date to allow me to get caught up and remain in good standing with my loan but they refused and the seemingly random fees make it impossible to get ahead. I feel as though I am being held hostage and have no idea if what they are doing is legal. Please help me.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Buffalo, NY

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Auto debt

Debt was result of identity theft
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Allemand, LA

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Auto debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with fees charged
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-17

Henderson, NV

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-16

AZ

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Blackbird, DE

Problem with fraud alerts or security freezes

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan


Complaint: In 2009 my purse was stolen and it contained all my personal information ( driver 's license, social security card, birth certificate and all my children 's personal information ). When i got my credit report there were things that i didn't do. I contacted credit acceptance about a car loan/lease that appeared on my credit report. I explained that I am a victim of identity theft and the loan/lease was opened fraudulently by someone else that is using my identity, I sent in proof of my identity theft. I sent a police report, affidavit from Federal Trade Commission, affidavit from DMV, and a statement from me explaining the situation.I have several attempts to rectify this situation and it's still here affecting my credit. It's affecting my life and i didn't even do it. I have never applied or accepted and loan/lease from Credit Acceptance, so it should be removed as soon as possible. My credit report says the amount is for {$14000.00} and the account was opened on XXXX XXXX. I have knowledge of this account because i have never applied for any loans. After call after call and letter after letter, Credit Acceptance will not do anything.I need help.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

San Francisco, CA

Getting a loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Fraudulent loan
Complaint: In XX/XX/XXXX, I was contacted by email by the company Credit Acceptance regarding a vehicle purchase from their dealership in Arizona. I responded to the email with inquiry as to how a vehicle was purchased in my name when I don't possess a driver 's license and have never been to the state of Arizona. I was sent a packet with the loan details inside with address on the contract as : XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, Arizona XXXX. The seller information as : XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX, Arkansas XXXX. The information on the vehicle as : Used XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX - Color ( White ) - VIN - XXXX - Odometer Reading - XXXX. The company also sent a fraud packet for me to complete however they need me to provide my identification card and social security card copies because the account could not be pulled up on the automated system by my social security number. Also, the person whose name is on all of the documentation no longer works for the company.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Gloucester City, NJ

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy