GREAT LAKES

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1568 complaints on file for GREAT LAKES. Dated between 2019-12-12 and 2012-03-26.

Complaints by Product

Student loan - Federal student loan servicing991
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting181
Student loan - Non-federal student loan113
Student loan - Private student loan80
Debt collection - Federal student loan debt79
Debt collection - Federal student loan39
Debt collection - Private student loan debt19
Debt collection - I do not know18
Debt collection - Non-federal student loan16
Debt collection - Other debt8

Latest Complaints

2019-12-12

Irving, TX

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-11

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Need information about your loan balance or loan terms
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-10

Randolph, MN

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Trouble with how payments are being handled
Complaint: I have student loans that are being serviced by Great Lakes- XXXX WI. I have always paid on time and am actually paid ahead to XX/XX/XXXX. I am currently paying XXXX per month on auto pay. This last month I paid my XXXX and then also paid an additional XXXX which I did a custom allocation for to payoff my 2 loans that are at 6.55 % interest. When I checked my payment application it shows that only XXXX went to my higher interest rate loans and {$XXXX} went to the 4.25 %, {$XXXX} to the 3.15 %, and XXXX to the other 3.15 % interest rate loan. It clearly states that any additional payments will be applied to the higher interest rate loans and that has not happened the entire length of my loan. I called in several times about this issue and I am always told that they first have to apply my payment to the regularly scheduled payment and then any additional will go to the higher interest rate loans. I advised them that my next regularly scheduled payment is not due until XX/XX/XXXX but they insisted that the next payment will satisfy that payment pushing my due date to XX/XX/XXXX and any additional from that will then be applied to the higher interest rate loans. From my experience, when a loan is paid ahead, accrued interest should be paid and other funds should go the highest interest rate loan but they are not applying the payments this way. I searched online and this looks like many student are being deceived by Great Lakes. There are many complaints with the XXXX. Also when I was on the phone it seems that students that elect to autopay payment are handled differently than those that do not autopay. I was told I can only pay extra on the same date as the autopay to have it apply the way I want it. Because I am on autopay I only get 1 day to pay extra on my loan. People that are not on autopay get a 30 day window to make extra payments and have them apply per their custom allocation and to go to higher interest rate loans. This practice seems deceptive and when students pay extra and get ahead all principle should be going to higher interest rate loans not a regular payment that is due in 2.5 years ( as my student loans will be paid off by then anyway )
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Gloucester City, NJ

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Private student loan

Don't agree with the fees charged
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Savannah, GA

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Don't agree with the fees charged
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Binghamton, NY

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Don't agree with the fees charged
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Portland, OR

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Problem with customer service
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Marietta, GA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-01

Flushing, NY

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Reporting company used your report improperly
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-30

Murray, UT

Struggling to repay your loan

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Problem lowering your monthly payments
Complaint: During the time my loan was scheduled for repayment in XXXX I was having to defer my payments. The problem came when the state of Utah ORS ( office of recovery ) was coming at me for XXXX XXXX When asked to submit my bills to adjust the amount to be payed, they would reject my student loan as a legitimate bill. I spoke with my lender Great Lakes borrowing service and they said that ORS cant do that because it is a federally backed student loan, I replied I KNOW. Great Lakes says that I will have to put them in deferment. After they set the rate of XXXX XXXX I was able to find a higher paying job and once again they raised my XXXX XXXX and again excluded the student loan as a bill I had to pay. I asked ORS why this was and the replied : most men do not pay it when allowed as a bill so policy says that it should not be considered. I spoke with Great Lakes again and the says well you will have to put it in deferment. I wanted to fix my credit including my student loans so I began working a lot of overtime to try to get ahead and ORS raised my XXXX XXXX. And cause I showed that I can make more money on a regular basis as if I had a 2nd job. XXXX XXXX goes up, Great Lakes says I have to defer payments. Now in XXXX I am finished with XXXX XXXX they can not come after me for it anymore. So I start working with student loans again and work into a repayment program. They come back and say my little {$19000.00} student loan is now up to over {$60000.00}. I felt abused by the system cause I should have been able to repay it. So I decided I was not going make {$650.00} monthly payment because it is not a bill according to the State of Utah. Student loans are now garnishing my checks and say that my {$19000.00} loan is now {$100000.00}. This whole process has not been fair. I feel my loan servicer should have stepped in to assist me with states absurd reasoning that it was not a bill. If anyone owes this bill it should be the State of Utah because they would not allow me to repay it at a time when it was manageable and took any excess money I could gather to use for XXXX XXXX of XXXX children. By the way my ex was the adulterer and I left and went to better myself for me and my children. I could never get on my feet financially. I had to have roommates to even afford a roof over my head. I lived in XXXX, CO most of that time. There was a much higher cost of living difference, but state of UT would not recognize that either. I feel that I have been punished for bettering myself for long enough and would like to see my student loans forgiven for attending a school that no longer exists. As a matter of fact the school instructor says it wouldnt matter if you didnt repay your loans cause they could take your house, car and taxes but they can never take away your education,
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-29

Corona, CA

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Private student loan debt

Debt was paid
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Crystal, MN

Struggling to repay your loan

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Problem lowering your monthly payments
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

TX

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Federal student loan debt

Impersonated attorney, law enforcement, or government official
Complaint: This company have been sued by the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection ( CFPB ), and the States of Minnesota, North Carolina and California for deceptive practices and taking unlawful advance fees. The Court has appointed a Receiver who has suspended the companies operations.XXXX XXXX XXXX, d/b/a XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, et al. The companies listed have been sued by the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection, The State of Minnesota, The State of North Carolina, and The People of the State of California ( collectively, Plaintiffs ) for deceptive and unlawful practices related to their student loan debt relief operation. The Plaintiffs lawsuit was filed on XX/XX/2019, naming as Defendants all of the companies listed, along with their principals. The Court entered a Temporary Restraining Order ( TRO ) the same day, which prohibits any further unlawful conduct and appoints a Temporary Receiver to take possession and control of the business. The Temporary Receiver suspended operations and conducted a review of the business. A copy of the Receivers Preliminary Report can be found in the Documents section of this webpage. On XX/XX/2019, the Court entered the parties Stipulated Preliminary Injunction which extends the restrictions in the TRO until there is a trial of the case. The Receiver has concluded the Defendants business operations can not be operated lawfully and profitably. As such, the operations have been terminated. I applied for this student loan consolidation program as this company posed to be supported by the Department of Education. I have made 3 months payments to this unlawful company, totaling in a loss of {$750.00}.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Euclid, OH

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Trouble with how payments are being handled
Complaint: I have been a XXXX for 13 years now, and I have been counting on PSLF. I was absolutely lied to by loan servicers over the years about being on track for forgiveness. It is beyond disgusting that the federal government is not being accountable for consumers like me who were deliberately lied to about all my years of payments. How can congress sit by and do nothing?!?!?
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Round Rock, TX

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Need information about your loan balance or loan terms
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Trouble with how payments are being handled
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Newnan, GA

Struggling to repay your loan

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Problem lowering your monthly payments
Complaint: GREAT LAKES..wanted me to pay XXXX a month ... I stayed can't pay that much.. then I was given a plan to pay XXXX for 2 yrs ... .bit as I'm paying this amount nothing is going toward the loan..the loan increases ... .then the other plan was THE ONLY WAY I CAN HAVE MY LOAN NOT TO INVRRASR WAS TO PAY XXXX. A MONTH FOR 4YRS ... THIS IS NOT HELPING..I 'M SURE NOT YHE ONLY ONE..WHO HAS BEEN FAST TALKED INTO NEVER ENDING CONTRACTS ... THE GOAL IS TO PAY BACK THE LOAN..NOT KEEP IT ... IT NEVER GETS MONEY DEDUCTED..I HAVE BEEN PAYING ... BUT NO CHANGE ... IT WRNT FROM XXXX TO XXXX ... PARENT PLUS LOAN..
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Washington, DC

Struggling to repay your loan

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Can't temporarily delay making payments
Complaint: I am a senior citizen age XXXX recently diagnose with XXXX XXXX and XXXX I have a parent plus loan with Great lakes. I informed to the collector from Great lakes that I am on a fixed income and can only pay {$50.00} a month the person has been harassing me daily and stated that I don't qualify for anything.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

Tuscaloosa, AL

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: I do not know

Debt was result of identity theft
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

Tucson, AZ

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Received bad information about your loan
Complaint: I tried to consolidate through XXXX XXXX XXXX on XX/XX/2019. They stated that they were connected with the federal government. I asked many questions, but the one question that I asked the most and every time I called was if there were any charge associated with the consolidation. Every time their answer was that they were part of the government and there is never any charges and that any fees will be applied to my current loan. They clearly stated that the {$230.00} that I paid in XXXX, XXXX, & XX/XX/2019 would be applied as a payment toward my current loan. They even told me not to pay anything toward my student loan because that amount of {$690.00} would be applied to the loan once the consolidation was done. When the consolidation was in the final stages, I called great lakes to see why the {$690.00} had not been forwarded to my XXXX XXXX. They told me to wait about 10 more days and it would be sent to XXXX XXXX. After the 10 days I called back because it had not been applied, by this time everything was finalized, this is when great lakes told me that the charge of {$690.00} would not be applied to my current loan and they were keeping it. It is very disheartening that people are so dishonest, especially here in America.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

MS

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Received bad information about your loan
Complaint: I was pressure to get enrolled into this college. This college promise me and my family a great future stated that I would be placed on a job replacement program as well as my credit would be transferable. after being lied to they then stated they I should enroll in my XXXX XXXX and that they would help me find work. Here is it four years later after obtaining my degree I still cant find a job in my field and they have sink me in debt with student loans and unnecessary charges to may account. Thiis school is very dishonest now I have four kids nowhere to get an real education so I can obtain an great career due to the fact that they have charged me over 49,000 .00 dollars in debt with student loans. I have filed a complaint to have the loans removed or discharged but its going on two years now and nothing.Dear Mr./Ms. XXXX : We have received your application for borrower defense. Your application number is XXXX. If you have chosen on your application to have your loans placed on forbearance or stop collection activity while your application is reviewed, you will be contacted by your loan servicer with further information. You will be notified once a decision has been made on your application. Visit StudentAid.gov/borrower-defense to learn more. If you have questions, you may respond to this email or call our borrower defense hotline : ( XXXX ) XXXX. Representatives are available Monday through Friday from XXXX XXXX. to XXXX XXXX. Eastern time.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

Atl, GA

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Received bad information about your loan
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-15

Wrentham, MA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Complaint: This is a clear violation of FCRA and an inaccurate report. See, why are you giving me a 90 day late remarks when the status is current and also there is no prior late remarks that comes after it.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Philadelphia, PA

Dealing with your lender or servicer

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Received bad information about your loan
Complaint: The school closed down and I am not responsible for this loan I need help great lakes wont removed it. The school rip all the students off and we left stuck fraud school con artist teachers and loan departments
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-14

Savannah, GA

Struggling to repay your loan

Student loan: Federal student loan servicing

Problem lowering your monthly payments
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response



© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy