HYUNDAI CAPITAL AMERICA

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1393 complaints on file for HYUNDAI CAPITAL AMERICA. Dated between 2019-12-04 and 2012-10-24.

Complaints by Product

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting305
Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan266
Vehicle loan or lease - Loan248
Vehicle loan or lease - Lease228
Consumer Loan - Vehicle lease182
Debt collection - Auto debt83
Debt collection - Auto34
Debt collection - I do not know11
Consumer Loan - Installment loan9
Credit reporting - 8

Latest Complaints

2019-12-03

Arco, CA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with additional products or services purchased with the loan
Complaint: Current date : XX/XX/2019. Had a car accident on XX/XX/XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX, acquired email conformation that GAP company, assigned to me by car dealership, received all my requested documentation. On XX/XX/2019 the GAP company completed the adjudication process for the financial GAP benefit regarding the loss of the covered vehicle. During this whole time I was still required to make payments for my unpaid loan balance. XX/XX/XXXX, received email from car company that read " Weve received your payment of {$3000.00} '' ... Your payment was processed on XX/XX/2019. It may take up to 5-7 days for your payment to be reflected in your bank account. '' This amount of XXXX was more than I owed, which was currently around $ 1k. I have received one check for {$370.00} which is dated XX/XX/2019, and supposedly I am awaiting two other payment checks in the amounts of {$1200.00} and {$400.00}. I have called the Finance department several times and talked to several different employees and supervisors which informed me that they have submitted email inquiries to the payment department. I'm told that the checks are pending approval. Called again today, but seem to taking way more time then it should and getting really annoyed and frustrated with this and do not feel like my case is important to them.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Baltimore, MD

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

West Newfield, ME

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Scottsdale, AZ

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Untimely Response

2019-11-21

NJ

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Auto debt

Debt was paid
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Untimely Response

2019-11-20

Jupiter, FL

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Complaint: The Company, Hyundai Motor Finance states in my complaint that the company has closed the account, supposedly paid as agreed. Which is true. I never missed a payment or was late. In fact I paid off a 72 month loan ( which I took for a dealer low interest rate of 1.9 % ) in about two years. Apparently this angered them. So while they kept accurate records of my on-time payments, which of course they had to do, they punished me by listing my total balance owed for about two years by never reducing it, if fact the they kept my amount due at {$11000.00} and never reduced it when payments were made. Of course this damaged my credit rating and an examination of my account ( if they would show you ) would show that as a 20 Year XXXX Vet, I am not lying. To this day, years later, a look at my Hyundai records will show you exactly what they did. Now I'm not looking to make money off what I consider is just pure incompetence, but if they won't adjust my balance due, which is still harming me financially, I will bring suit. They refuse to say anything except the case is closed. But it's not closed and they know it. They are just to vindictive or incompetent or lazy to fix my payment balance. XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX-Ret XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

OK

Struggling to pay your loan

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Lender trying to repossess or disable the vehicle
Complaint: On Tuesday XX/XX/XXXX at approximately XXXX My vehicle a XXXX XXXX XXXX was illegally repossessed by the finance company, Hyundai Finance Company . I had not received any prior notifications that my account with them was delinquent and had no reason to believe such because I had been keeping regular payments and received no notice from the company that there was a problem. All submitted payments were accepted and sent in the form of a personal check. I was in possession of this vehicle for approximately 2 years or approximately 20 months, honoring regular monthly payments of {$410.00} per month and an additional {$270.00} in Full Coverage Car Insurance, without any problems or serious delinquencies on my account. When I realized the car was taken from the driveway, I immediately called the police to report it stolen which I had every reason to believe it was. It was then that they informed me the car had been repossessed by the company and there was nothing they could do. I signed no papers consenting to this repossession and no one came to my door at the time to inform me this was taking place.The next day, XX/XX/XXXX I called the finance company and spoke with a representative of Hyundai Finance and she informed me that I was, according to their records " behind in payments '' and that they had to collect their property. I told the representative that my records show no contact from them and I had not received any notice that the account was delinquent nonetheless in collections. I tried to argue my points but the representative was rude and interrupted me several times. Finally I asked her was there a way for me to pay the arguable delinquent amount and she stated that I would " have to pay the entire balance due on the vehicle ... '' to get it back in my possession. The amount owed on the vehicle she said was way in excess of {$14000.00} I was willing to pay them the delinquent amount owed to receive my vehicle, not knowing it was their policy to request full payment in cases like this so I had no choice but to decline and accept my loss. I contacted the recovery company, XXXX XXXX, to make arrangements to retrieve my personal property from the vehicle and the next day, Thursday XX/XX/XXXX I went to the company, paid an additional {$74.00} retrieval fee to them and got my property. On Tuesday XX/XX/XXXX I received in the mail a letter from Hyundai Finance Company titled " notice of our plan to sell property '' in which it stated they have my vehicle because I " broke the promise '' of their agreement, and that they will sell my car after XX/XX/XXXX and if I wanted to reclaim the vehicle I would have to pay the entire balance due on the vehicle. Initially they said it was approximately {$14000.00} due. I called the number given on the letter and talked to a representative by the name of " XXXX '' I again stated to him that I had never received any balance statements, payment receipts delinquency notices or any communication from Hyundai Finance in regards to this car and that this letter was in fact the first written communication I had receive from them. He said they had not record of my address and could not find the car. He went on to say that the finance company had been looking for the car since XXXX of XXXX! and sent notice to my former address in XXXX XXXX. ( I had recently moved to XXXX from XXXX XXXX in XXXX of XXXX ) I never received such notice and have all of my mail forwarded to this new address. Nonetheless the payments I was sending in were being honored and cashed. The car is equipped with a theft deterrent G.P.S System and when I would send in payments they were in a self addressed envelope with the new address not to mention my phone number and email had not changed at all so I do not understand why I was never contacted and made aware that there was an issue with my account to warrant them to repossess. Furthermore it confuses me that their claim to be looking for the vehicle since XXXX is invalid. I lived in XXXX XXXX all my life and within the first 2 years of having the car, I stayed at the exact same address that they financed the car with and did not leave the State until XXXX, XXXX. They claim to not be able to locate me however they knew I was currently living in XXXX and came to my current address to retrieve the car. I am XXXX years old, That car was my only means of transportation not to mention personal independence as I am currently living off of Social Security and have no extra means of income. I live with my Son in XXXX because it was all I could afford to maintain my lifestyle and provide me a way to and from my scheduled Doctor 's appointments and access to my family. I moved here because the cost of living in XXXX proved to be too much for my income to handle and all I could allow myself was a reliable means of transportation with the XXXX XXXX XXXX. I am asking for your assistance in helping me in this matter in whichever way possible and to the extent allowable by Law and my rights as a citizen and consumer. This situation has created noticeable and serious stress in my health. I feel Hyundai Finance accepted payments from me with no intentions of allowing me to complete the long term purchase agreement and negligently handled my account to make it seem as if I breached the agreement. I can provide proof of payments and records to show I did honor the agreement and ask they show proof of initiating contact and informing me of their legal right to seize my property as warranted through their company 's policy. I furthermore request that all payments be awarded back to me for the time of possession of the vehicle including insurance and maintenance costs and that I be excluded from any further payments owed to the company after or before the sale of the vehicle by auction.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Main Office, VA

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Excess mileage, damage, or wear fees, or other problem after the lease is finish
Complaint: This might just continue to be a string of unfortunate luck, however the cycle must end somewhere : Back in XXXX, a lady ran a red light and T-boned the passenger side of my XXXX XXXX XXXX ; the damage was extensive with all passenger side airbags ( front, side, and side-curtain ) were XXXX. I had XXXX XXXX at the time ; instead of XXXX having my best interests at heart ( and to save money like all insurance companies do ) they assessed the damage at 67 % which does not meet the 70 % minimum threshold in order for them to deem the unit a total loss, even though I was not the one at fault, and behested them about not wanting to and not feeling safe driving around a car in which the airbags had previously been XXXX. I know that they are set to go off only once, so it is a bit of a gamble driving around afterwards as no one is certain how the airbags will perform in another crash. Because of this XXXX said my car was still worth {$24000.00} and would not total out my car. Since I could not get assistance from my own insurance company for an accident that I was no way responsible for, I wanted to switch out cars now as I did not feel safe driving the XXXX. In working at XXXX XXXX Auto Finance, I had some good relationships with local dealers, in particular the Hyundai Dealership ( I also worked at Hyundai prior to XXXX XXXX and is a reason why I had such an affinity to XXXX vehicles ) and so I went there to exchange out my XXXX for a new Hyundai on XX/XX/XXXX. However, when I got to the dealership, the {$24000.00} quoted value of the car XXXX stated it was worth was no where near the value the dealer gave me ; they originally came back stating the car was only worth {$16000.00}, an {$8000.00} difference from what XXXX had provided. I was able to work the value up to {$18000.00}, but still {$6000.00} difference is a lot to cover, therefore the best option I had at the time was to lease a car to absorb that loss in value and then at the end of the lease be able to walk away with out another big hit. XXXX and I at the dealership to help keep the monthly payment down with rolling in all that negative equity decided a 48 month lease would be best. Being around dealerships and auto finance, I know that 4 year leases are rare, and typically they are 24 or 36 month leases, but was totally on board do to the situation I found myself in, through no fault of my own. If I had my wish, that lady would never have ran that red light and I would not be at a dealership trading in the XXXX, that I purchased for a lease. Fast forward to XX/XX/XXXX, and my 48 month lease with Hyundai had reached maturity and was at end-of-term. For the past 4 years I had made every payment on time to HMFUSA ( 80 % were at {$510.00} and then in the final 18 months the payment was {$480.00} ) without missing a beat ; again was never late nor did I miss one. Upon lease maturity, I had now moved from the XXXX XXXX to Virginia during the length of the lease and knew that there was going to be an excess mileage charge as I did exceed the allotted amount by a little bit. I was fine with this and was willing to pay as that is disclosed right in the Lease contract I signed in black and white as to what the over-mileage penalty per mile would be. What is not disclosed in the contract, not is there any monetary value associated with it, is the amount of wear and tear Hyundai can deem as " excessive '' and that there are not timeframes on the wear and tear and charges in relation to the time frame ( i.e. 24, 36 or 48 month lease I would think would have different parameters around the total excess wear and tear it could charge ). It took Hyundai 2 months to get me an end-of-term statement, as although I had updated my address on the website ( XXXX ) they were sending the statements to a previous address in TX, not the current one I had on file with them in VA. So in XX/XX/XXXX, I went online as I had not received a letter from Hyundai yet, stating how much over-mileage penalty I owed to officially close of the lease and have everything settled, and was absolutely floored to see excess wear and tear charges for almost {$3800.00}, and some of the stuff that it was calling out was as if I should not have driven the car at all in that 4 years in order to avoid excess wear and tear penalties ; a scuffed hub cap from friction with a curb upon parallel parking was on there and for like {$600.00}, again what they were claiming for " excess wear and tear '' was egregious for a 48 month lease, I could understand if I had a 24 month lease and the car ( which I spent numerous amounts of money keeping up with maintenance and car washes ) looked like it did, which is still great shape for being 4 years old, however, where is the statue of limitations in regards to what is acceptable as " excessive '' in relation to time-frame of leasing the car. I was a little suspect on that high of an amount and at the same time would not be able to bay {$5800.00} within in 15 days to satisfy the lease end-of-term, especially when the verbiage of due date took a much more aggressive turn, yet Hyundai was the one that sent the statement to the wrong address, twice! Around, XX/XX/XXXX I can not remember the exact date, I called into the customer service department and spoke with a lady in regards to her lease. Her extension is XXXX ; I asked her to look into the excess wear and tear charges and provide to me a justifiable answer as to how Hyundai can get away with charging that much in fees after a 4 year lease. The Lady was extremely helpful and polite, and after discussing the charges with her, she kindly took off {$1300.00} of the excess wear and tear charges, bringing the total owed from {$5800.00} to {$4400.00}. The lady told me that this will reflect after 7 business days, and if I were to call in to make a payment in that timeframe it may not be reflecting the new balance internally yet. The customer service representative then asked if I would be able to pay the amount in full to satisfy the end-of-term, to which I replied that I was not in a position to do so and would like to see if I could pay it down within the next few months contributing what I could ; she advised that if the balance what not paid in full by XX/XX/XXXX, that even though the last 4 years of ontime payments for the lease were made, the final payment might now reflect " Late '' after XX/XX/XXXX until the balance is paid in full, but there will be no harm in making monthly payments and the balance will not Charge-off. She then asked if I wanted to make a payment today, and I advised I had a meeting so I could no longer remain on the phone, and I felt more comfortable making payments once the new lower balance reflects in the 7 business days. As of XX/XX/XXXX the balance on the account still shows the original {$5800.00}, which is very disheartening, as they keep texting me and calling for me to and give them money that they are egregiously requesting, without showing a sign of good-faith and updating the balance to reflect the correct lower amount. Many times I went online to pay what I could toward the balance, however, even though the text messages I was receiving said I could, when I went online I was unable to make any payments and had to call in. I have a full-time job, am currently enrolled in night school, getting my XXXX, have a 21 month old daughter, and a wife who is 7 months pregnant ; finding time to call in to them is really tough and Hyundai 's lack of care for the situation is very inconvenient. In XXXX, I received another letter from Hyundai that still reflected and demanded the old amount of {$5800.00}, however with updated verbiage that if the balance was not paid by XX/XX/XXXX the account would be charged off. To be honest I was livid. I spent the last 4 years paying $ XXXXmo to them without missing a beat and always on time, called in to get some help as I have every intention of settling the lease, received that help or thought I did, and now the exact thing Hyundai said would not happen, is happening, they are going to ruin my credit and charge-off this lease, although I have made many attempts to resolve this with Hyundai and they still can not disclose the agreed upon amount that I owe. Therefore, on XX/XX/XXXX I called the number on the letter I had received and spoke to XXXX in the XXXX XXXX XXXX department of Hyundai ; she was extremely rude, inconsiderate, unprofessional, and never treated me with respect. All she saw was that I have an outstanding balance and " I better pay it. '' In the middle of her interrupting me every time I tried to ask a question or get clarification, I was finally able to inquire about the discrepancy in the amount on the letters I am receiving and what is disclosed online versus what the customer service representative I originally spoke to and I, agreed upon. XXXX put me on a 10 minute hold, and when she came back to the phone, she confirmed that she was able to find the notes of the conversation I had with the customer service rep. and that they will honor the lower balance owed. Upon stating that she immediately got aggressive and asked if I would be making a payment to cover the entire balance at that moment over the phone, to which I started to respond with my answer and she cut me off again and demanded I settle up in full at that moment. I advised her, that I am skeptical as I have been down this road before and would like to actually see the lower balance that was agreed upon reflected just once and I will start making the monthly payments I had spoke with the original customer service rep. about. XXXX very abruptly advised me that there is no such thing as paying the balance down, I could not make monthly payments, the original person I spoke to was " lying '', and that if the balance is not paid by the XX/XX/XXXX it will be a charge-off no matter what. I then proceeded to ask her if I am " sh*t out of luck, as I called when I first knew about the balance seeking help and assistance from Hyundai as I had all intention of paying off the loan in full yet I was not in a position to do it all at once, I am sorry $ XXXX is a lot of money at one time, are you saying you are unable to help? '' To which she essentially responded, yes you are out of luck, there is nothing I can do, and she is unable to help. She then pressed me again to pay the entire amount on the phone, and if I did not it will be charged-off, I said I was not in a position to do so, and she ended up disconnecting us. On XX/XX/XXXX 7 days after I had spoken with XXXX, ( who again stated she updated the amount to reflect the lower balance that had been agreed upon ) I received a letter from Hyundai dated XXXX ( so still drafted after my phone call with XXXX ) stating that Hyundai was willing to settle with me for 80 % of the original balance. I was unable to call in that day so I filed a complaint online with Hyundai Consumer Complaints and did not hear anything back in their SLA for a response. Therefore on XX/XX/XXXX I called in to the Complaints department and after telling all that had happen over the past couple month and the letter I had just recently received again with the incorrect balance being reflected, I was told by him, he was unable to help as though it is the Hyundai Complaints department, it is only for vehicle or dealer issues, they are unable to pull financial information or accounts, and in order to solve this I need to call the same number back and " see who was telling me the truth. '' Even though on the website Hyundai states no complaint is to big or small, they handle them all ( paraphrasing ). I have not been able to get anywhere, and I have never said I am not going to pay, I have been trying to pay and asking for assistance and at one point I had it, but that seems that was just a farce.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Spokane, WA

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Termination fees or other problem when ending the lease early
Complaint: My XXXX XXXX XXXX was totaled in an auto accident on XX/XX/2019. This was on a 36 month lease and I had put {$7000.00} down and had prepaid my monthly lease payments until XXXX of XXXX. My insurance company, XXXX, allowed me to secure a rental vehicle for two weeks. Unfortunately, at the end of the two weeks, I still did not receive any settlement on the vehicle and any attempt to get a straight answer out of XXXX leasing was futile. My insurance company received a payoff amount of {$22000.00} from XXXX leasing which was sent to them mid XXXX. To date, three calls were made to XXXX leasing on my behalf to obtain information on how I can be made whole on this accident. They keep telling me that it will take 90 days before this will be settled. Here are the issues I would like resolved : 1. Since this lease had Gap insurance, it was my understanding I would only be responsible for the residual value of {$19000.00}, then why did they request a payoff amount of {$22000.00}. 2. Why is this taking so long to settle when my insurance company has already settled with them. 3. Why are they continuing to take out the monthly lease payments when they already received the payoff. 4. How can a customer be made whole and proceed with replacing this vehicle when I am not receiving settlement funds to do so. Thank you ... XXXX XXXX ( XXXX ) XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX , XXXX , WA XXXX E-mail : XXXX KIA Finance XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX , TX XXXX Account Number : XXXX Phone : XXXX Total Loss Department Phone : XXXX Customer Service
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-16

Charlotte, NC

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Problem while selling or giving up the vehicle
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

San Gabriel, CA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Complaint: This company has reported that my account is closed ... my payments are not applied correctly and their computer payment system, does not state when a payment is processed in a timely manner. I am not filing a chapter XXXX ... or chapter XXXX my husband is however, but we plan to reaffirm the vehicle account as stated to them on XX/XX/2019 when I made my payment.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Warrenton, VA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Problem with fees charged
Complaint: Over the past month I've been trying to have fraudulent property tax payments removed from the final balance of my lease pay off. When I leased the car I lived in XXXX XXXX, a year later when I moved I updated the vehicle registration information with both the Dept of motor vehicle and Hyundai Finance. Over the past few years I've been paying taxes on the lease in the county I moved to- XXXX XXXX and that's the Cty Hyuandai finance has been charging me. However, for some reason the month before my lease ended, they added taxes from XXXX XXXX Cty-XXXX to my account and stated I owe these fees. Keep in mind I've been paying the property taxes with Hyundai for XXXX Cty over the past years, which proves they have my updated property tax information. I've contacted Hyundai finance several times and each time they state they haven't received any verifying information from me and the Hyundai finance tax department hasn't uploaded the verifying faxed documents I submitted to clear this up. Hyundai states they have no other means for me to send this information and still claim they aren't receiving my faxex although I have receipts. I'm reporting this because I've tried and failed to resolve this with them. Hoping you all can speed up the process. Please let me know if you need further information from me/documents for verification. Thanks.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-11

Ocklawaha, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: my lease car was totaled in a car accident on XX/XX/2019. after my insurance paid the lease company they billed me for {$1400.00} on XX/XX/2019. I sent them a certified mail on XX/XX/2019 disputing this amount. I never heard from them no more. I was checking my annual free credit report in XX/XX/2019 and saw they reported negative information including a charge off. my excellent credit score dropped a lot.i disputed with the credit agencies with little success even sending them documentation. I contacted the lease company and they keep giving me the run around.the lease company is Hyundai motor finance. the credit reporting agencies are XXXX and XXXX.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Ellis Island, NJ

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Bedford, TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Old information reappears or never goes away
Complaint: THIS COMPLAINT IS IN REGARD TO A CREDIT INQUIRY EXISTING ON MY XXXX CREDIT REPORT PASSED THE LEGAL REPORTING STATUTE OF TWO YEARS. THIS COMPLAINT IS AGAINST THE CREDITOR HYUNDAI MOTOR FINANCE THAT IS FURNISHING THIS OUTDATED INFORMATION TO XXXX THIS COMPLAINT IS NOT AGAINST XXXX AT THIS TIME. This is a complaint arising under Sections 5 ( a ), 5 ( m ), 13 ( b ), and 16 ( a ) of the Federal Trade Commission Act ( FTC Act ), 15 U.S.C. 45 ( a ), 45 ( m ) ( 1 ) ( A ), 53 ( b ), and 56 ( a ) ; the Fair Credit Reporting Act ( FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681-1681x ; and the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ( FDCPA ), 15 U.S.C. 1692-1692p, to obtain monetary civil penalties, a permanent injunction, restitution, disgorgement, and other equitable relief for the Defendants violations of the FCRA, the FDCPA, and Section 5 of the FTC Act. XXXX provides consumer personal credit reports to regional and national credit grantors, attempting to issue both commercial and consumer credit. XXXX regularly furnishes consumer credit reports to Creditors electronically. XXXX is an entity who regularly and in the ordinary course of business furnishes information to one or more Creditors about its transactions or experiences with its consumers. XXXX routinely receives complaints from consumers who claim they do not owe the debt or that an account is invalid or incorrect. In numerous instances, I have notified XXXX at the address specified for such disputes that XXXX is reporting inaccurate information concerning my consumer credit. As a victim of identity theft and the XXXX Data Breach I expect the information in my consumer report to be accurate and my disputes taken seriously. XXXX has continued to report inaccurate information to the Creditors even after receiving such notice and accompanying proof. In numerous instances, I have disputed the information appearing on my consumer credit report in writing to XXXX XXXX receives most notices of disputes from a consumer in electronic format, through automated consumer dispute verification ( ACDV ) forms provided on XXXX website. Pursuant to Section 623 ( b ) ( 1 ) of the FCRA, XXXX, as a furnisher of information to the Creditors, is required to conduct an investigation of the disputed information upon receipt of a notice of dispute from a Consumer. For certain types of disputes, such as those where the consumer claims the account is not his or hers or belongs to someone with a similar name, it is XXXX s policy and practice only to compare the name, social security number, date of birth, and address in XXXX s computer database with the information provided on ACDV forms. Where three of the four items match, XXXX will report to the Consumer that it has verified the information it furnished as accurate. It is XXXX s policy that only after the consumer has alleged the same type of account inaccuracy more than four times will the matter become assigned to a supervisor to do further investigation. Because XXXX collects accounts that are often old, information in its computer files may not be accurate for a variety of reasons, including incorrect updating of addresses, errors in recording names and information, and problems with the original Creditors records. In disputes involving identity theft or fraud allegations, XXXX s policies provide that if the existing account codes and notes in its records do not contain any reference to a prior claim of fraud, XXXX will verify the previously reported information without conducting any investigation prior to such verification. In numerous instances, despite written or oral notification from consumers disputing the accuracy or completeness of alleged debts, XXXX continued to furnish the information to the Creditors without communicating that the information was disputed by the consumer. Section 623 ( a ) of the FCRA describes the duties of furnishers to provide accurate information to Creditors. Section 623 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ) prohibits furnishers from providing information relating to a consumer to any Creditor if i. the person has been notified by the consumer, at the address specified by the person for such notices, that specific information is inaccurate ; and ii. the information is, in fact, inaccurate. In numerous instances, I have contacted XXXX at the address specified by XXXX to dispute information furnished by XXXX to a Creditor and to notify XXXX that the information is inaccurate. In numerous instances, I have also provided information such as the consumers drivers license, social security number, and/or proof of residence to confirm my identity. The acts and practices alleged above constitute violations of Section 623 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ) of the FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681s-2 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ). Pursuant to Section 621 ( a ) ( 1 ) of the FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681s ( a ) ( 1 ), the acts and practices alleged above also constitute unfair or deceptive acts or practices in violation of Section 5 ( a ) of the FTC Act, 15 U.S.C. 45 ( a ). HYUNDAI MOTOR FINANCE is also a furnisher of inaccurate credit information and is just as liable as XXXX. A recorded statement from XXXX states that HYUNDAI MOTOR FINANCE is the one responsible for removing this information from my credit report. As it currently stands XXXX nor HYUNDAI MOTOR FINANCE has not validated or verified the accuracy of this inquiry. They also failed to remove the inquiry from my credit report after the two year statute of limitation. The following outdated inquiries are being furnished by HYUNDAI MOTOR FINANCE and are being reported by XXXX. Inquiry Entry Date Legal Removal Date Inquiry listed as XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX As of XX/XX/XXXX these inquires are still being reported.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

MA

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Termination fees or other problem when ending the lease early
Complaint: I made a lease payment a day before we ended up trading my lease in, I was not able to cancel my payment through my bill pay on my banking app and the payment was processed {$280.00} but was never returned to me, that was XXXX of 2019. Shortly after turning in my lease a received a bill for a entire year of property tax, which 1 only owned the vehicle for 1 month and a 1 day, I phoned Kia and spoke to them and told them that I would pay the pro-rated amount. They were not satisfied with that and wanted me to pay the full amount and they would reimburse me the balance, I told them that I could not trust them to reimburse me as I was still waiting for them to reimburse me my last payment. I asked to speak to a supervisor, was put on hold for quite some time, they came back and told me that a supervisor would call me back, I never received a call back. A month or so later, I received a bill in the same amount as the property tax but instead they were now calling it lease end charges. I do not agree with any of this. I was more than happy to pay my portion of the property tax, and I want my {$280.00} payment returned as it should of been. They have now reported to the credit agencies that my account is delinquent and has brought my score down, which is making it very difficult for me to obtain another lease at this point in time. i need these items removed from my credit report, i was never late on 1 payment ever and this is not right how they are handling this. I have an attorney who has written to them with no avail on three different occasions to try to resolve this. My credit score has dropped dramatically, and for me to obtain a lease now is almost impossible. I have lease from Kia previously and i was never ever late on any of my payments and i don't feel that it is right that they can do this to people over their mistakes and keep money that does not belong to them.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-05

Lamont, FL

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-03

Houston, TX

Struggling to pay your loan

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Lender trying to repossess or disable the vehicle
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-31

Charlotte, NC

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Lease

Excess mileage, damage, or wear fees, or other problem after the lease is finish
Complaint: had vehicle repaired around late XXXX didn't get my car back till about XX/XX/XXXX. was told they would reimburse me later ... at end of lease called Hyundai asked how much do I owe total ... I paid the amount that I was told paid over the phone .... I brought my car in on that Saturday they said they didn't have anyone to take car for that day could I bring it back that Monday I did that ... then I called about about my reimbursement ... I was informed that it was to late because vehicle was returned ... then I received a call stating I owed money for not buying another car from them ..I explained I was never informed about that ... and I had paid for everything in total and had already turned the car in ... .. I never was late or missed a payment ... they been messing my credit report ever since ...
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-31

Greensboro, NC

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 we submitted a {$1000.00} payment online to Kia Motor Finance to be applied directly to the principal of our car loan. As per the policy of the Kia finance company, we waited several business days to allow the withdrawal to clear the bank and called Kia Motor Finance on XX/XX/2019 to request for the payment to be applied to principal. Kia Motor Finance could not confirm the receipt of the payment. We waited several more business days and called Kia again on XX/XX/2019 and XX/XX/2019, both times without resolution of the issue. On XX/XX/2019, the Kia representative confirmed Kia had received our {$1000.00} payment and he could not understand why it was not reflected in our payment history. He promised to follow-up with the payment processing department to request for them to manually fix the payment. On XX/XX/2019 we submitted another payment online of {$3000.00} which was reflected correctly on the Kia website. On XX/XX/2019 I called to request for this {$3000.00} to be applied toward principal and this was performed. I was told this should be completed in 2-3 business days. During the XX/XX/2019 phone call I again inquired about the {$1000.00} payment which has still not been reflected on our loan amount. The representative confirmed the same thing as on XX/XX/2019 and said she would send an email to the payment processing center which would take another 3-5 business days to resolve. I pressed her to have this issue resolved today as Kia Motor Finance has been holding {$1000.00} of our money for 23 days without applying it toward our car payment ( which, incidentally, continues to accrue interest on a higher amount since our payment was not applied ). The representative refused to address this issue today, again saying it would take another 3-5 business days despite all of our efforts to already resolve this.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-30

Madison, WI

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-30

Quartzsite, AZ

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-28

Boston, MA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Was not notified of investigation status or results
Complaint: I was shocked when I reviewed my credit report and found late payment on XX/XX/2017 I am not sure how this happened, I believe that I had made my payments to you when I received my statements. My only thought is that my monthly statement did not get to me, or the payment was not applied as fast as expected. I checked my bank account and noticed that you deducted the money out of my checking account that on the month that you marked me late on my credit report.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-28

Harsens Is, MI

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: I am requesting to file a complaint against Kia Motors Finance for incorrectly reporting my account as a charge off. I was involved in a car accident in XX/XX/2019, ( which I may include my air bags did not go off ). Following the accident, I received a balance of {$1500.00} in XX/XX/2019, that was still owed for my deductible and miscellaneous issues ( low tire tread, etc ), even though my car was considered a total loss. I did not have {$1500.00} to pay Kia up front, so I contacted them and was told by a representative of Kia, that I would need to pay {$250.00} a month until it was paid off. ( All calls are recorded, which I also requested to pull and listen to ). I had zero issue with that and I agreed to this {$250.00} per month payment and made payments monthly until I paid it completely off on XX/XX/2019. XX/XX/2019, I received an alert from the Credit Bureau that I had a negative remark on my account. After reviewing the remark and my severally dropped credit score, I noticed Kia had reported my account paid charge off. I was completely shocked considering I made the payments requested every single month. I contacted the Credit Bureau immediately, XXXX, to dispute this remark. I also took time out to write Kia my own dispute via mail on XX/XX/2019, stating that I never have been late on any payment with them, or ANY payments in almost 6 years of credit history. I attached all of the information located on my credit report for XXXX, XXXX, XXXX and XXXX as reported ON TIME. They did not report any months as late. Also, the summary of my Kia account stated zero late payments. I requested that Kia report my account as paid off, closed. On XX/XX/2019, I contacted XXXX to get the results of my dispute and was told that Kia stated my account was reported correctly as charge off. On XX/XX/2019, I was alerted of yet another remark of a late payment on my credit report for XX/XX/2019. Kia went back on my credit report and change my ON TIME payment to LATE! I can not believe they changed it, to cover themselves. Charge offs typically dont happen unless payments are severely late. When you start missing payments, creditors first send letters reminding you of your past-due bill. I never received a past due bill and my account was never sent to collections. This charge off remark dropped my credit score from a 750+ to XXXX. I have never had derogatory remark on my credit score and always have made my payments on time. Kia is dramatically hurting my credit now and my future. Especially of being a home buyer by inaccurately reporting information incorrectly. If this does not get removed from my credit report, I will be contacting an attorney for future investigation.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-28

Bakersfield, CA

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Auto debt

Debt was result of identity theft
Complaint: This kind of account is placed as a charged off account, be sure to inform me precisely why there's a balance indicating on the document whether it's a charge off? The balance is, in fact, wrong, please make sure to reverse it to XXXX or remove the item fully. Please also produce documentation to verify all the charges and credits in this supposed account that caused the extremely high credit figure you might have displaying on my account. My demand to present this records is a standard information demand in accordance with my rights honored within the fair credit billing act. If you fail to give these details per my civil rights petition, please make sure you quickly remove this specific wrong posting.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations
Hyundai Capital America of CALIFORNIA0001541028
Legal Entity Identifier 549300RIPPWJB5Z0FK07 [HYUNDAI CAPITAL AMERICA]

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy