NETSPEND CORPORATION

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1453 complaints on file for NETSPEND CORPORATION. Dated between 2019-12-03 and 2014-10-24.

Complaints by Product

Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose prepaid card548
Prepaid card - General purpose card240
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose credit card or charge card131
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service82
Bank account or service - Checking account61
Checking or savings account - Checking account59
Prepaid card - Payroll card47
Prepaid card - ID prepaid card46
Prepaid card - Government benefit payment card37
Credit card or prepaid card - Payroll card35
Credit card - 34
Prepaid card - Other special purpose card22
Prepaid card - Mobile wallet19
Credit card or prepaid card - Government benefit card17
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service9
Prepaid card - Gift or merchant card9
Prepaid card - Transit card8
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Mobile or digital wallet8
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Domestic (US) money transfer7

Latest Complaints

2019-12-03

Rockford, IL

Advertising

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Confusing or misleading advertising about the card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Boston, MA

Problem getting a card or closing an account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Trouble closing card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Las Vegas, NV

Problem with a purchase or transfer

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase or transfer
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-30

Reno, NV

Problem with a purchase or transfer

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase or transfer
Complaint: Hello I receive service connection XXXX. I am currently homeless and live in XXXX nv. I have received my direct deposit from the va into a netspend account for over a year. I used an address 1 time in Massachusetts while I was there to get a card shipped to me. Netspend has since been able to change my address or ship me a card. They only allow me to open other accounts so I can be charged extra monthly and transfer fees. On XX/XX/XXXX the account I recipient my va deposit in was blocked from my use. Netspend refuses to transfer me to anyone. They laugh at me on the phone. I have been broken down in my truck for 3 days throughout a storm. I missed XXXX because I had no funds to fix my car issue. My phone is off and netspend is requesting documents they know I can not provide at this time. I send them a XXXX birth certificate social security card an award letter with my current addressed on it. I also sent a XXXX and va I'd. They didn't approve any of my documents saying my I'd was to blury, they except nothing from the va, and they do not except copies of copies for my social security card. They are also requesting only a utility bill with the Massachusetts address on file. I never lived there and don't know how to get a proof of address there other than fordge a fake bill. The only other option they are giving me is to have my account closed and my check sent to the a address I don't live at in Massachusetts. I think they are laundering my money because this has happened several times where the have requested personal documents and unnecessary blocks. Please help, netspend is only allowing me to speak to the same people. I am 100 % XXXX and can not deal with this stress. There has also been countless forien transaction fees throughout my accounts. And money that gets taken out as change and then put back in as different amounts. I need my money I'm starving, stuck, cold, and my phone is now off.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Las Vegas, NV

Advertising

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Confusing or misleading advertising about the card
Complaint: Netspend sent me an unsolicited card in the mail leaving me susceptible to fraud. I received an email explaining that they were sending me a card and that I needed to activate it immediately. Only problem is I did not request a card from them nor did I fill out an application for a card nor did I request to become a customer of their bank. Netspend repeatedly sent me unwanted emails putting pressure on me to activate the card. I have excellent credit and do not need a prepaid credit card. I also take ID theft and my data security very seriously which is why I am filing this complaint. Someone could have intercepted the card and activated it. The card and any future transaction would then be done in my name and on my credit. I also could not tell if someone was sending me a gift card or if the card was an actual credit card. All communication was driving me to activate the card for the sole purpose of putting me in a position to pay fees to Netspend. My main concern is the fact that I never initiated any of this activity. I did not contact Netspend or fill out an application to receive one of their products. They had no problem exposing me to fraud.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Wallington, NJ

Advertising

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Confusing or misleading advertising about the card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Pelzer, SC

Trouble using the card

Credit card or prepaid card: Government benefit card

Trouble using the card to spend money in a store or online
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Chad, KY

Problem getting a card or closing an account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Don't want a card provided by your employer or the government
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Canton, GA

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Other problem
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Chapel Lakes, FL

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem getting a working replacement card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Stonewall, MS

Problem with a purchase or transfer

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase or transfer
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Stevenson, MD

Problem with a purchase or transfer

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase or transfer
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX, I decided to start making payments for a future cruise on XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXXs scheduled to depart on XX/XX/XXXX from XXXX XXXX. I made payments to XX/XX/XXXXXXXX XXXX bi-weekly for {$100.00} each below are the dates that payments were made for a total of {$1300.00}. The payments I made should have been paid to XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXXs but never received since XXXX XXXX owner of XXXX XXXX XXXX chose to use other credit/debit cards that were fraudulent while keeping the funds I sent her for herself. XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX cancelled all reservations. Attached is the cancellation notice, letter confirming fraudulent activity and Federal Bureau of Investigation ( FBI ) complaint confirmation. I am requesting all listed amounts to be refunded to my account with Netspend. Thank you for your quick help in this matter. I am providing additional information to dispute the following transactions : {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX {$100.00} XX/XX/XXXX TOTAL : {$1300.00}
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-21

FL

Unexpected or other fees

Credit card or prepaid card: Payroll card


Complaint: On the evening of XX/XX/19 I noticed unauthorized charges on debit card when I checked my account online at home. I contacted Netspend immediately and opened a dispute claim on the first set of charges. I was informed that I must wait until the other charges posted to my account before open additional disputes. A total of {$5200.00} was stolen from my account. Apparently my card must have skimmed and a clone created with a phony name. Netspend is refusing to reimburse the unauthorized charges claiming no error occurred. Netspend customers service offers only scripted answers and will only give you the run around from one representative to another.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-21

Rochester, WA

Unexpected or other fees

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card


Complaint: I referred my husband thru the referral process. They sent a card we Active the card with my referral number. They refuse to credit. Several different reasons. First they said they sent a card last year but he never received or actived it making it void thru the program However Per there terms of eligibility. No activity 180 days. make them eligible .Today they say they sent a card from randomly from marketing at the same time instead of referral so it wasn't eligible. Sending a card at the same time of referral to my address at the same. time. The information they obtained from my referral. They scammed us into referring people using this information to send. Cards from referrals then saying they were marketing random people and therefore not eligible for referral money.. I see this as a scam they steal referral information using it letting customers believe they are going to get rewards when in fact they have no intentions but to use the information for there benefits. Refusing to apply credit often putting me on hold. Now after weeks of back and forth Im told my account is not eligible for refer a friend program. when I ask why they put me on hold with no answers. Put me on hold then go blank with obvious the line is still open. I don't plan on hanging up .I have been on the phone the whole time I am writing. No good answers for why they treat customer 's this way.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-21

CA

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Can't close your account
Complaint: I work for XXXX XXXX as a XXXX XXXX for school children. I setup direct payment into my debit card account with Netspend. My last deposit was flagged by Netspend because it was booked as a refund they have placed a hold on my whole account. I can not access anything. I was told specifically I can not close my account, I can not access the funds not in question. Customer service hung up on me after an hour on the phone when I pushed to close my account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

San Gabriel, CA

Unexpected or other fees

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card


Complaint: I have had a Netspend prepaid debit card with no overdraft for a couple years with no problems. Recently at time when my account balance was {$0.00} Netspend claims I purchased XXXX XXXX stuff and they approved a purchase and made my Card balance - {$190.00}. Normally they text me on all transaction but not on this one so when I deposited {$100.00} two weeks after the incident I was surprised to find my {$100.00} unavailable and my account negative another {$99.00}. Only after calling customer service I was informed of the fraudulent transaction for {$190.00} with XXXX XXXX two weeks earlier so I filed a dispute. I never ordered, downloaded or used anything on their web site and I couldn't have if I wanted to with no money on my card. The purchase shouldnt have ever been approved if there are no funds. Netspend did an investigation and mailed a letter to me saying that they contacted XXXX and they said their evidence that the purchase is valid is because they have my financial info that I gave them for my XXXX wallet account and should be confidential. Having that info is no proof. They said the second thing that is proof is that I went on XXXX " XXXX '' and downloaded games and virtual currency which not true either and different for their first claim that it was a purchase from XXXX. All of that is irrelevant because anytime there are no funds all transaction are not approved. I disputed the fraud in writing and informed Netspend I never downloaded anything or used anything from XXXX but they are saying I must pay it. There are blogs I've found many many people that are having the same problem with XXXX that they never ordered from them but have charges. I don't have a credit card its a prepaid debit meant to never have debt. I don't even have the {$10.00} overdraft. Nothing like this has ever happened in the past and I wonder why they paid this transaction are trying to make me pay it. When I contact Netspend they say there's no number I can call to talk to Netspend Dispute Resolution Department and they are the only ones that can do anything about this issue. They also can not give me a phone number to contact XXXX.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

South Waltham, MA

Unexpected or other fees

Credit card or prepaid card: Gift card


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

Van Nuys, CA

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019, I opened an account with XXXX XXXX by XXXX. This account had promotional terms that stated {$100.00} bonus for becoming an account holder and initiating a Direct Deposit of {$500.00} or more. Additionally, the terms state that the {$100.00} bonus would be posted 30 days after all requirements havebeen met. After speaking with XXXX XXXX, they state that the terms state the direct deposit needed to be for 3 consecutive months, which is not in the terms advertised. My direct deposit of {$500.00} was posted on XX/XX/2019. 30 days after that is XX/XX/2019. I still do not have the {$100.00} bonus and XXXX XXXX refuses to support my position. I have esclated the issue with no resolve. The representatives I have spoken to give generic statements and refuse to investigate this issue or dive into the issue further.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

CA

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Didn't receive terms that were advertised
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019, I opened an account with XXXX XXXX by XXXX. This account had promotional terms that stated {$100.00} bonus for becoming an account holder and initiating a Direct Deposit of {$500.00} or more. Additionally, the terms state that the {$100.00} bonus would be posted 30 days after all requirements havebeen met. After speaking with XXXX XXXX, they state that the terms state the direct deposit needed to be for 3 consecutive months, which is not in the terms advertised. My direct deposit of {$500.00} was posted on XX/XX/2019. 30 days after that is XX/XX/2019. I still do not have the {$100.00} bonus and XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXXrefuses to support my position. I have esclated the issue with no resolve. The representatives I have spoken to give generic statements and refuse to investigate this issue or dive into the issue further.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

Belleair, FL

Problem getting a card or closing an account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Trouble getting, activating, or registering a card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Houston, TX

Trouble using the card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Problem using the card to withdraw money from an ATM
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Problem getting a card or closing an account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Trouble getting, activating, or registering a card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-18

Leesburg, FL

Problem getting a card or closing an account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Trouble getting, activating, or registering a card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-17

Wichita, KS

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-17

OH

Trouble using the card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose prepaid card

Problem adding money
Complaint: I bought a prepaid card from paypal at XXXX and put XXXX on the card. they said I could use the card as soon as I got home that it was loaded got home.I tried to use it and it was declined. I called the number to activate card no one answer the phone. I keep calling next day. the number on the card is XXXX it say can not take the call at this time. Two weeks later I get a card in the mail and the same thing again. all I want is my money back. the reason I got the card for is over and I lost what I want to buy.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy