PHH Mortgage Services Corporation

Consumer Complaints

There are over 2450 complaints on file for PHH Mortgage Services Corporation. Dated between 2019-06-28 and 2012-02-17.

Complaints by Product

Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage776
Mortgage - Other mortgage483
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage413
Mortgage - FHA mortgage321
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)141
Mortgage - VA mortgage131
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage48
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit40
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting36
Debt collection - Mortgage27
Debt collection - Mortgage debt11
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)10

Latest Complaints

2019-06-28

Pinellas Park, FL

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Problem with personal statement of dispute
Complaint: My original mortgage was with a company called XXXX. I have had this mortgage since XX/XX/XXXX. XXXX was merged with a company called PHH, and beginning on XX/XX/XXXX PHH took over. This new company began reporting information to all of the credit reporting companies on problems I encountered years ago, XX/XX/XXXX-XX/XX/XXXX. The first was past due on accounts, which wasn't true. I contacted both mortgage companies, and they withdrew that notification.It has been removed from my credit reports. Now, PHH has notified the credit reporting companies that my loan was " modified ''. Yes, it was, in XXXX. They are reporting this again, even though XXXX had done so, when it took place. After 10 years, it dropped off the reports, and now thanks to PHH, it is back on again. This has caused my fico score to drop, my credit limits have been reduced and it should not be on the report to begin with since it was so long ago. I am sure I am not the only home owner that went through loan modification during the real estate meltdown. I worked very hard to recover and improve my credit scores, only to have them destroyed by this company for no reason.Help!
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-28

Auburn, WA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-28

Cumming, GA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-28

Evans, GA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-28

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-27

Clinton, IA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-27

San Antonio, TX

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-27

Devon, KY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-27

Centerville, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-27

Littleton, CO

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-27

Deerfield, OH

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-26

Hayward, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-26

Bayside, WI

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-26

Chester, VA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I have been working with PHH Mortgage for one year attempting to find a solution for me to keep my home. I have submitted several packages for assistance, one two occasions I was granted a trial modification with a reduced payment and was assured that providing payments were made during the trial period, a permanent modification would be granted. I called to check on the status of my modification request on XX/XX/XXXX, I was told that the documents submitted were not legible and that I would need to resubmit the documents. On XX/XX/XXXX, I received a letter stating that a modification could not be granted because a modification was previously granted several years ago. I have been consistently misled, I was told on numerous occasions that if I could afford the mortgage that the mortgage company would find a solution. Back in XX/XX/XXXX, I was assured that my modification request was being reviewed for a modification. I have submitted documentation in a timely manner and have complied with every request. I am now employed and working again full-time and can afford the payments. I am not sure if the breakdown in communication or the conflicting information is a result of the merger between PHH and Owcen. What confuses me the most is that I was offered XXXX for a deed in lieu, if the mortgage company has XXXX to give it would be helpful to have that applied to the outstanding balance owed and for the loan to be modified or for a repayment plan to take place. I am extremely disappointed that I have been misled for almost a year. Had I known a modification was not an option, I would have sought alternative solutions months ago. XXXX XXXX has responded to each inquiry I have submitted but her responses have been to solely defend the mortgage servicer and not to provide resolution. I am willing to reach out to additional organizations and the media if necessary. I have all letters sent to me by PHH and telephone calls to show that I am providing factual information.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Memphis, TN

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: My mortgage servicer changed from XXXX XXXX to PHH Mortgage Services Received a letter stating my property was going into foreclosure. I've made my mortgage payments on time and since the servicing changed to PHH the customer service is bad and I've had difficulty with the posting my mortgage payments to the mortgage account. I called PHH mortgage to make a mortgage payment and was told the system was down and to wait until the loan was in their system of which I called several times and they finally took my payment over the phone. I have not been late paying my mortgage. When I call PHH I speak with Customer Service to check the status of my mortgage they would tell me the computer is down or they don't have information on the mortgage.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Sacramento, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Toppenish, WA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I mailed a check to PHH mortgage XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, IL XXXX on XX/XX/19 for {$4600.00} to pay off my loan # XXXX. They posted a payment on XX/XX/19 to a suspense account. I have no idea why. They sent me a letter on XXXX saying my money was put in suspense account because it wasn't enough to cover my monthy payment of {$730.00}. Today I received a letter saying my balance was {$4300.00} and I am 2 months behind on my payment. Not sure what kind of a scam they are pulling. I have tried to call them several times - never got through to speak to anyone - gave up after an hour on hold several times. I have faxed them I have sent them a letter to two different address '. Can not get any kind of a response other than a letter saying I am past due HELP PLEASE!!
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Worcester, MA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I am representing my client who has a mortgage with PHH Mortgage Services. In XX/XX/2019 her loan transferred servicing from XXXX to PHH Mortgage Services. As of today, XX/XX/2019, she has never received a mortgage statement from PHH Mortgage Services. She has also been denied access to her account on line at XXXX. She and I have continuously called XXXX, to spend an average of 1 hour on hold each time, and we are only able to speak with the collection department. When we request to speak with someone in Customer Service, we are conveniently hung up on. Our largest concern is on XX/XX/2019, XXXX mailed the borrower a letter stating that " at this time, you have a suspense balance in the amount of {$580.00}. The total amount due is {$1700.00} ; therefore, an additional {$1100.00} is required to complete your payment. '' On XX/XX/2019 the borrower paid {$900.00} towards the arrears. Now XXXX Mortgage is stating that the suspense account only has a balance of {$900.00}, where as the balance should be {$1400.00}, with a balance due for XXXX in the amount of {$580.00}. PHH 's collection dept. states that she needs to pay {$880.00}. The true balance due for XXXX, and to bring the account current is {$240.00}, not the {$880.00} as they state. The borrower needs to make her scheduled XX/XX/2019 payment to XXXX but she can't until she gets answers. The borrower and I have yet to be able to get assistance on the phone.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

WI

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I am one of many XXXX customers who had their mortgages transferred to PHH Corporation in XXXX of XXXX. I was under a trial modification with XXXX, had mad all trial monthly payments on time without failure. I was waiting the final documents when PHH took over. I mailed a payment on XX/XX/2019 to PHH, only to have them mail the check back to me. Accompanying document stated that the payment ( a certified bank check ) was insufficient. Yet, all other PHH notices indicate no payment is due until XX/XX/2019? I sat on hold today for over an hournever reached my relationship manager, XXXX XXXX ( ext. XXXX ). I tried sending an email, but their auto response states Ill hear back from them in 5-7 days. I just want to speak to a human, one preferably located in the USA.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Tarzana, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My loan was originally with XXXX which later in XXXX, 2019 got transferred to PHH Mortgage Services. In XXXX of 2019, my XXXX online account showed {$0.00} payment due, so I called to inquire and I was informed that I was qualified for the Federal Disaster Mortgage Forbearance and that I did not need to make payments for three months. I was also told that regular payments would resume at the end of the three months. In XXXX, 2019 I checked my online account after receiving an email from XXXX about statement availability and again, it showed {$0.00} amount payment due. Every month after that the account showed {$0.00} payment due. After the transfer, I tried to make my regular payment to PHH but it was rejected. When I called PHH to find out why, I was told that I owed money for six months starting from XXXX of 2019 and that there were no documents in my record about the Federal Disaster Mortgage Forbearance. Going back to contact XXXX is no longer an option. I was verbally informed over the phone with XXXX of the Federal Disaster Mortgage Forbearance, but I never received any related documents. However, I also never received any notices in any form to alert me that I had missed any payments. I had thought that my regular payments would have started again with XXXX in XXXX of 2019, but every time I logged into my account it showed {$0.00} amount due. I had no idea if it was related to the transfer or the modification I had applied for. Now, PHH is demanding {$21000.00} of back payments.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Leeton, UT

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: In XXXX of XXXX I closed on a construction loan to build my home. I am a builder by profession and built this home for my personal use. The construction loan was a 5-year ARM in the amount of {$410000.00}, intended to be modified to a conventional 30-year mortgage at the end of one year. The appraised value to the property and proposed structure at that time was {$470000.00}. I put down approximate {$40000.00} in cash. Construction of the home was completed in XXXX of XXXX. In XXXX of XXXX the loan was modified to a 30-year loan in the amount of {$390000.00} ( I didn't use the full amount ). The servicing was then transferred to XXXX. In XXXX of XXXX, knowing that my principle balance was approaching 80 % LTV I contacted XXXX to request what date the PMI would automatically terminate. They responded in an official email that date to be XXXX of XXXX. XXXX then transferred the servicing of my mortgage to PHH Mortgage. I contacted PHH in XXXX of XXXX to confirm cancellation of my PMI on the aforementioned date. After much waiting and following up they told me my PMI would not be cancelled unless I went through the process of obtaining an appraisal or sending in a principle reduction payment of nearly {$50000.00}. After lengthy inquiry I was informed that the value of my home was assessed as the amount of the modified principle balance at the time of the mortgage being modified to a 30-year term ( {$390000.00} ). Because the home was constructed for myself there was no sales price, therefore they arbitrarily took the mortgage amount as the value instead of the appraised value. I do not know why PHH insists on the value of my home being the original loan amount. I strongly disagree with their position as to the value of my property. A recent appraisal obtained for other purposes indicates the property is now worth {$530000.00}. Unless PHH is in possession of documents I do not have, I can find nowhere in my original closing documents or modification documents that indicate the change in value. Further, in response to my inquiry as to why PHH is not honoring the date given by XXXX, they point to a statement in the email sent by XXXX that if a modification happens the termination date will be recalculated. However, the modification occurred with the local bank in XXXX before the loan was ever sold or servicing transferred to XXXX or XXXX. And the letter from XXXX was in XXXX of XXXX. They point retroactively to that modification as to why they will not terminate PMI. I find this explanation fraudulent and deceptive in nature, hence my appeal to the CFPB for relief.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

West Covina, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Hello, My name is XXXX XXXX XXXX, I am contacting you because I am concerned the company who bought my mortgage loan is defrauding me. I originally took two Mortgages in XX/XX/XXXX with XXXX XXXX to purchase two properties located in XXXX XXXX, zip code XXXX. 0ne loan was for XXXX to buy a vacant block of land and the other XXXX to purchase a house and land. Several years later these loans were sold off to other companies, XXXX was sold on to XXXX XXXX XXXX, ( which was paid off in full in XX/XX/XXXX ), and the property located in XXXX XXXX CAXXXX was taken over by XXXX XXXX XXXX. In XX/XX/XXXX purchased a 3rd property, paid in full. On XX/XX/XXXX, PHH Loan service took over my loan of XXXX. I was not sent a notification of this until XX/XX/XXXX, after I had paid my XX/XX/XXXX mortgage to XXXX XXXX XXXX. My new loan Number with PHH is XXXX It was then they informed me I was 6 months behind in my payments and owed them {$15000.00}. One of the biggest issues with dealing with this company is the Language barrier, I at first thought she said I was behind {$15.00}! After several calls I was told I was 3 months behind and then 6 months behind in my payments which was impossible as bank records indicate otherwise. In an attempt to quickly clear up the issue I sent 24 months worth of bank statements, clearly showing money being withdrawn and deposited by XXXX XXXX XXXX every month via fax. I sent several faxes with my bank statements requesting an investigation, but was ignored. I do believe the language barrier I encounted made communication very difficult. When by some miracle I did find someone who spoke clear English I asked if there was any pending action against my property and was told " no ''. Again all calls are recorded by PHH Mortgage. I was informed an investigation WOULD take place and no action would was pending. An investigation takes between 7-15 working days. After 3 weeks, still no word. On the XX/XX/XXXX I contacted PHH Mortgage Services to inquire about the investigation, which was STILL PENDING. However they had, without contacting me or giving me any prior notice, put my home into FORCLOSURE and I was forced to pay an extra {$15000.00} then and there or loose my home! On a phone call dated XX/XX/XXXX at XXXX, EST , PHH Mortgage Services agreed that their investigation shows my funds were mistakenly allocated incorrectly and that the would rectify this situation along with correcting my credit score. It would be rectified in 7-15 days. Once that was done, I could then apply for the {$15000.00} I was forced to pay in order not to loose my home to be refunded. Well that did not happened did it? Phh Mortgage Services agree I did pay my mortgage every month, but somehow a large financial institution managed to allocate my money incorrectly. AND I have to pay {$15000.00} in fines and fees for their mistake??? Now how is that possible or even legal? They have caused considerable mental distress to me and my family, severely damaged my perfect credit score to the point I could not even refinance a tricycle! I really need this company investigated! I have been dealing directly with XXXX, service ID -XXXX, his direct phone number XXXX XXXX XXXX. I am more than confused as to what is going on or how they are able to defrauding people so openly. XXXX XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-06-25

Spanish Spgs, NV

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-06-24

Palmyra, NJ

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy