SANTANDER BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION

Consumer Complaints

There are over 3283 complaints on file for SANTANDER BANK, NATIONAL ASSOCIATION. Dated between 2019-12-04 and 2011-12-15.

Complaints by Product

Bank account or service - Checking account998
Checking or savings account - Checking account400
Mortgage - Other mortgage255
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service223
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage189
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit165
Bank account or service - (CD) Certificate of deposit114
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage112
Credit card - 106
Bank account or service - Savings account104
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service72
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting55
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose credit card or charge card54
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)49
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage37
Consumer Loan - Personal line of credit34
Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan33
Consumer Loan - Installment loan32
Checking or savings account - Savings account31
Mortgage - FHA mortgage28
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)25
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Personal line of credit24
Checking or savings account - CD (Certificate of Deposit)17
Money transfers - International money transfer12
Debt collection - Mortgage9
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)9
Bank account or service - Cashing a check without an account7
Debt collection - Mortgage debt6
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Domestic (US) money transfer6
Debt collection - Credit card6
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - International money transfer6
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Installment loan6
Money transfers - Domestic (US) money transfer6

Latest Complaints

2019-11-28

Drexel Hill, PA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Cedarville, MA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Manhattan, NY

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Deposits or withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Medford, MA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

East Pembroke, MA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-23

Boston, MA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Problem accessing account
Complaint: Santander doesnt work with 3 rd party integrators like XXXX and XXXX XXXX.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

MA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Banking errors
Complaint: Santander closed an old bank account and opened a new account for me following a fraud incident. The Santander representative who opened the account made a banking error that resulted in multiple online accounts that denied me the ability to set up bill pay with my new account. The Santander Fraud department moved my money from my old account to the new account and allowed a blocked account to be billed. Recently, I learned that old bills are getting paid in my name for amounts set up in my old bank account. When Santander finally gave me access to my online account ( 2 years later ), it turns out that no bills are coming out of my new account but, bills are still being sent in my name somehow. I did not set up the bills from my new account and Santander claims it is unable to stop the bills because it has to be done through me accessing the online account. However, I have no access to the old online account ( which was supposedly blocked by Santander ). When I attempted to call the third party that is paying the bills set up by Santander, I was placed on hold for two hours and then the third party ( Santander 's Bill Pay service ) let me know that they can not access anything without a bank representative, however, the bank representatives did not wait to continue the call. Regarding the blocked bank account : Santander claims that a blocked account was billed because there was insufficient money in the account. Santander claims that they offered to switch the automatic transactions but I declined their offer. Santander did not offer to switch the transactions. Their former XXXX, MA branch advised that I not allow anyone to reach into my account and that I set up bill pay transactions. Santander 's Fraud department moved my money out of the blocked account to the new account and let me know they would monitor transactions ( and they did not do that ). Subsequent to the money being moved, Santander 's Fraud department allowed the blocked account to be billed, then sent a claim to XXXX that my account was closed with a - {$2000.00} balance. At the time this happened, there was more than enough money in my new account to cover this amount. While communicating with their corporate center trying to get details of the transactions they said totaled {$2000.00} ( that was not clear from the statements they sent ) I found out, when attempting to open an account for my children at XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, that Santander had sent out this negative report to XXXX XXXX. At the time their corporate center had assured me that they did not send out the report and wanted to work with me. Santander then expects me to take the time to fill in a fraud complaint kit to send the same complaint I spent hours with their branch, Fraud department, IT department and corporate center on. Their error has cost me time and money and now they are claiming they closed the matter because I did not take the time to fill out the kit ( and send it to the Fraud department that caused the issue to begin with ). I continue to have a third party unknown to me paying bills in my name with no online access to my account. Why did Santander not take my information and fill out their kit at the time. Why is Santander claiming that a {$400.00} international wire was flagged by an intermediary bank and have not been able to provide me with a letter from this intermediary bank. Why was such a small wire amount flagged by Santander and does Santander treat all customers in this manner?
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Millbach, PA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Carver, MA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Was not notified of investigation status or results
Complaint: This account is already TRANSFERRED/SOLD however this account still reports repetitive late payments which is severely affecting my scores.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Untimely Response

2019-11-20

Brooklyn, NY

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Complaint: i had link my checking acct:XXXX with XXXX XXXX acct :XXXX on XX/XX/19 and by XX/XX/19 transfer {$2500.00} to XXXX XXXX acct. it came back to santander account on XX/XX/19 and despite i called and spoke to mrs. XXXX to cancel transfer it was " allegedly '' sent back to XXXX XXXX but XXXX never got it. we spent hours on a phone with both banks and hours in both branches and today found out XXXX XXXX never got it and it held by santander bank somewhere no one knows where.i am XXXX person and it is my pension.Please find it and let me take my money asap.i need money for food and medical expenses and because of santander bank i am unable receive my pension.XXXX XXXX manager XXXX XXXX today, after we went twice there and sat for 4 hours in the branch show us money never came to XXXX.Wednesday,XX/XX/19 i called to santander bank XXXX and spent 2 hours then was hang up by the supervisor Mrs.Bruno and all i insisted on was to open up a dispute of unauthorized transfer, was refused 5 times, transferred 5 times but finally when they agreed to file dispute i was hang up on
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

Brooklyn, NY

Incorrect information on your report

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Untimely Response

2019-11-15

Brooklyn, NY

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-15

Woburn, MA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Banking errors
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Brookline, MA

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Other debt

Debt is not yours
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-13

PA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We have our mortgage, savings, checking and business account through Santander Bank and have for years. We figured it would be that much simpler. We have NEVER been late on a mortgage payment. XXXX My wife used the mail to pay our mortgage, basically out of habit. She mailed out XXXX 's payment, along with the coupon that came with it to Santander ( to the mailbox that came with the statement ) along with the coupon that comes with it. She put our mortgage # and month on the check. ~XX/XX/XXXX-XX/XX/XXXX My wife saw that the mortgage had not been taken out of our checking account. We decided to wait a few days. XX/XX/XXXX According to our internet account, the check cleared ; there was an image of the check on the web page. XX/XX/XXXX We received a form from the bank warning us our mortgage was late. XX/XX/XXXX First of many calls to mortgage dept. at Santander. They said that, although part of Santander, they had no access to check our account. They asked we email them an image of the check ; we did so. XX/XX/XXXX-XX/XX/XXXXWe got a call from the Mortgage branch. I expected to hear things were straightened out but it was just another " warning '' about being late and the person new nothing about our previous call. XX/XX/XXXX Payment was still not credited. My wife went in person to the closest Santander branch ( XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX, PA ) and spoke with the manager there, Ms. XXXX XXXX. She was quite sympathetic and made some phone calls-promised things would be straightened out. While there, my wife decided to pay the XXXX mortgage and handed Ms. XXXX a check ( from our investment Bank ) with explicit instruction to pay XXXX 's, not XXXX 's. XX/XX/XXXX We got another letter from Santander saying our XXXX payment was late. We called XXXX and she sent them documentation of the XXXX payment which she had to get from our investment account ( XXXX XXXX ). It turned out that the mortgage company had, against all instructions, paid the disputed XXXX payment with the check paid at the bank, leaving XXXX unpaid. XX/XX/XXXX We decided that, as suggested by XXXX, that we pay our mortgage on line. This we did. XX/XX/XXXX Received email stating we had just paid XXXX 's payment. NOT XXXX 's You can see the pattern here. No matter what we do, Santander is claiming we are one payment back. There were several more phone calls to no avail. At one point the mortgage customer service claimed they could not process the first check because they could not read " who endorsed it ''. Unless the banks have some little XXXX XXXX sitting at a stool with a cribbed hand endorsing millions of checks, it is my understanding that this is all done via machine. One also suggested helpfully that we pay the extra payment from our XXXX account and try to claw back money from them. The really crazy thing is that, according to the latest from XXXX, they are now claiming that the money from our first payment went to XXXX XXXX!!! We do not, and never have had an account with XXXX XXXX. The check was not made out to, nor sent to XXXX XXXX!! I should have known ( I'm an XXXX ) that all bad things lead to them eventually. We are still in this mess and its been almost 3 months. While they have not ( according to the bank they agreed to " waive '' them ) gotten any late fees, nor have they ( according to them ) messed with our credit. At this point our damages are limited to time and frustration. But we also have been planning to re-finance but can not do so until this is straightened out ; if rates rise we will be SOL. As a habit, ( and having dealt with mortgage companies for years XXXX I do not ascribe to fraud what can be attributed to pure stupidity. But the fact that this never seems to be fixed and the appearance of XXXX XXXX is more than bizarre.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-12

Brooklyn, NY

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX, at around XXXX XXXX, I received a phone call from my bank ( SANTANDER ) fraud alert dept., inquiring of possible fraudulent activity on my acct. On the same date, there were 2 debit transactions that I denied and explained to my bank that I did not make those purchases. The bank immediately credited me with a " provisional credit '' for the total amount and informed me of an investigation starting that date, the bank sent me a new debit card. The 2 transactions were named with different merchants, one is " XXXX XXXX '' and the amount is {$140.00}. The second transaction was resolved quickly ( by me, personally contacting the merchant and denning that purchase on my behalf and the money was refunded ). On XX/XX/19 I received a new letter from Santander, informing me that the investigation was completed and they determined that the merchant was correct. They withdraw the total amount for this dispute from my checking acct. ( {$140.00} ). I immediately called back my bank to file a new complaint and request a copy of their investigation and paperwork, affidavit and all possible paperwork regarding this transaction. The bank responded by saying that they will mail me all the paperwork, which they did and about 10 days later, I received an envelope with paperwork from SANTANDER stating my case number, which it didn't have the correct information, apparently the bank sent me information of a claim that belongs to a different customer, that it matches my case number and debit card # but a different checking acct. and a different claim amount. After receiving not legitimate documents as proof of their investigation, I tried contacting the bank making several attempts, in person and by calling the Fraud Dept., after 5 times of trying and receiving more mail with the wrong documents I gave up to try to solve this issue with the bank. I also tried to contact the merchant, for which I had not received any proof of purchase, not an invoice, not a letter, nothing. I was able to locate the company because the bank had shared their information with me. I made at least 3 attempts to contact the merchant and each time the customer rep. hanged up the phone on me when I asked if they could provide me with a copy of the " proof of purchase '', they denied me any information and said that the purchase was made online and that I should contact my bank. I did not make that purchase. I still don't have any answers from the bank but my money was withdrawn from my acct. Thank you,
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-10

Yeagertown, PA

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Can't close your account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Phila, PA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-06

Kunkletown, PA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-05

Las Vegas, NV

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: my name is XXXX XXXX and santander bank formerly known as XXXX XXXX has blocked my checking and savings accounts. this was done on XX/XX/19. i have made several phone calls and emails and they refused to unblock my accouns i need help i am about to be evicted from my apartment and i have no access to my money. i need this problem to be fixed today.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-04

Hazlet, NJ

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Non-sufficient funds and associated fees
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-01

Staten Island, NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-01

Warren, RI

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 Santander allowed an erroneous and unauthorized charge of {$270.00} to my checking account through my debit card. I learned of this after this unauthorized charge caused a series of small items that I knew about to have non-sufficient funds resulting in a cascading effect of charges. This is the detail on the erroneous charge : Date : XX/XX/2019 Amount : - {$270.00} Type : Posted products_Acc_mail_description : XXXX XXXX XXXX /GA US CARD PURCHASE I immediately cancelled my debit card and have been playing phone tag with Santander for five days now trying to get them to fix this problem.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-30

DC

Other features, terms, or problems

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Other problem
Complaint: The online account for my Santander Bank credit card ending in XXXX got blocked when I entered the wrong password. I called the credit card company and the agent on the phone said that I would have to provide my valid id at a physical branch in order to reinstate my card. I explained to them that I do not live in a city with a Santander branch but the agent insisted that the only way to get back to my online account would be to provide my id documents at their physical branch. I live in Washington D.C. and the nearest Santander branch is in Delaware. Despite providing them with my full id information by phone, I do believe that the agent who blocked my account and stipulated physical id verification did so because of my name as it relates to my race and national origin. The agent had an aggressive tone from the beginning and told me that even though my answers match what they have on file she will block my credit cards. She said that if I could not go to a branch to verify my identity I could continue using my card and keep making payments by phone but my online access would be blocked until I went to a branch with id. However, this turned out to be untrue because I tried to use the card in question and found it to be blocked when I tried to use it on a web payment on XXXX. Upon calling back a second agent told me that I can send a notarized letter to them ( in which I certify my name and date of birth ) in order to reinstate my card. When I asked if I could be reimbursed for the cost of the notarization they refused. I felt really humiliated and somewhat wronged by the credit card company for simply wanting to use their card like a normal customer. I also escalated the call at this stage and spoke to a supervisor and although she seemed understanding and courteous she said that because my account has been blocked by the former agent I would have to go to a physical branch or provide the notarized letter that I described above and she would not be able to unblock it, she also could not commit to reimburse me for the cost of notarizing the letter that they need.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-30

Billerica, MA

Closing on a mortgage

Mortgage: Other type of mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy