SELECT PORTFOLIO SERVICING, INC

Consumer Complaints

There are over 9109 complaints on file for SELECT PORTFOLIO SERVICING, INC. Dated between 2019-12-06 and 2012-02-28.

Complaints by Product

Mortgage - Other mortgage2246
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage2207
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage1564
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)1490
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage525
Mortgage - FHA mortgage294
Debt collection - Mortgage221
Debt collection - Mortgage debt217
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting114
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)56
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit55
Debt collection - I do not know40
Mortgage - VA mortgage15
Debt collection - Other debt11
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service9
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)9
Mortgage - Reverse mortgage7

Latest Complaints

2019-12-04

Countyline, NC

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Marlboro, MD

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

VA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We are submitting this complaint as a follow-up complaint to our discrimination complaint submitted on XX/XX/2019 regarding Select Portfolio Servicing , Inc. account # XXXX. On XX/XX/2019, I returned a phone call at the request from a Select Portfolio Servicing Representatives ( Ms. XXXX XXXX ) voicemail that I had received from the Select Portfolio Servicing Consumer Onbuzzment Department. The customer service representative that I spoke with informed me that Select Portfolio Servicing has a foreclosure sale date of XX/XX/2019 and that our account Reinstatement Good To Date is : XX/XX/2019. I asked the representative if the Reinstatement Good To Date could possibly be extended, as we are still just a little shy of obtaining the full amount of money quoted me over the phone to bring our account current. The representative begrudgingly stated that, it is uncertain whether or not your home will be foreclosed on, on XX/XX/2019, because you filed a complaint with the Consumer Federal Protection Bureau ( XXXX-XXXX ) on XX/XX/2019, and Select Portfolio Servicing Management is still trying to decide how they are going to respond to your complaint, and whether or not Select Portfolio Servicing will foreclose on your on XX/XX/2019 is a day-to-day Select Portfolio Servicing Management decision. The representative also stated that we can expect to receive resolution regarding the recent inquiry ( CFPB complaint ) by 10 XX/XX/2019. Next, the Select Portfolio Servicing Customer Service Representative stated that three documents ( 1 ) regarding our CFPB complaint ( # XXXX-XXXX ), ( 2 ) a Relocation Assistance Agreement, and ( 3 ) an Account Reinstatement Quote was mailed out to us on XX/XX/2019, and asked if were in receipt of these documents. I informed the Select Portfolio Servicing, Inc. rep that we have not received any documents from Select Portfolio Servicing , Inc . It is now XX/XX/2019 and we still have not received the documents that Select Portfolio Servicing , Inc. alleges to have mailed to us back on the date of XX/XX/2019. However, this kind of consumer intimidation and stonewalling is indicative of the quality of customer service that weve received throughout our experience with our exotic predatory loan with Select Portfolio Servicing , Inc . Prior to our loan being sold by XXXX XXXX XXXX to Select Portfolio Servicing , Inc., our attorney had identified various violations of the Real Estate Standards and Procedures Act and the Truth in Lending Act was also violated when our XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX contract loan was originated. We believe that the findings of our forensics audit could give us recourse up to and including the hypothetical invalidation of our loan. We believe that the findings of our forensics audit could give us recourse up to and including the hypothetical invalidation of our loan. In addition, on numerous occasions, we respectfully requested Select Portfolio Servicing , Inc. and the investor ( s ) : XXXX XXXX, XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX Trust 2007-3, Mortgage Pass-Through Certificates, and Series 2007-3 provide us a copy of the investor 's Pooling and Servicing Agreement ; however, Select Portfolio Servicing Inc. refused to provide that requested documentation as well. Our questions and concerns are : Is Select Portfolio Servicing allowed to lawlessly make up rules as they go and make decisions based on whatever works to Select Portfolio Servicing , Inc.s advantage? Are there any laws, rules, or standards by which this unlawful mortgage broker is required to operate? Clearly we should have had all of those documents for review before Select Portfolio Servicing Inc. could legally be allowed to proceed with any adverse action regarding our property. We believe Select Portfolio Servicings primary goal set forth by XXXX XXXX XXXX was to foreclose on our home all along. Select Portfolio Servicing will not even allow us to Short Sale our home instead of foreclosure because theyre only looking forward to reaping the benefit of the home equity while also collecting the government insurance funds too. Select Portfolio Servicing, Inc. should not be allowed to deny our requests for mortgage assistance simply because of race and the color of our skin. My wife is also a XXXX XXXX survivor and I am a retired, XXXX veteran and I honorably served this great country for 22 years. Please do not allow these disingenuous predatory lenders to do what they have intended to do all along, and that is carry out XXXX XXXX XXXX dirty work by foreclosing on our home and getting away with taking advantage of us by reaping the benefit of seizing our home equity and collecting the government insurance. Very Respectfully, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX VETERAN
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Smoke Rise, GA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Nokesville, VA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-01

Casa Grande, AZ

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-30

Cherry Hill, NJ

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Debt was paid
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-28

San Antonio, TX

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Earlier this year, I was approved for a loan modification, however, I was contacted by XXXX XXXX XXXX and was advised that the proposal I was provided by Select Portfolio Servicing was inaccurate. Based on the advice given by XXXX, I was in fear of losing my home even after receiving the proposal as they lead me to further believe I was losing my home. I understand I did not respond to the trial period I was initially offered because I was taking the advice of a law firm who lead me to believe I was being taken advantage of my the servicer, Select Portfolio Servicing, and I've now come to realize I was being taken advantage of by XXXX at the most vulnerable state of my hardship. I am requesting that I be considered once more to retain my home, as I am able to afford my mortgage payments, however, Select Portfolio is stating I am not eligible because I did not accept the initial offer. I would like to retain my property and not lose it to foreclosure. I made the mistake in trusting a Law Firm who contacted me, only to be scammed.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Reverse mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Granada Hills, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

IL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Warrenton, VA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Norwalk, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Hinsdale, IL

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

East Rockaway, NY

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Rncho Domingz, CA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Hampton, VA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: On XXXX XXXX and XXXX of 2019, we mailed letters to Select Portfolio Servicing Inc for account information. SPS has sent response letters each time without providing the account information requested. SPS has offered a loan modification to reset our mortgage. We are delinquent due to medical and employment. Before signing a new modification that does not include previous equity we need account reconciliation on past payments that span our current loan. However, SPS will not provide the account information instead it repeatedly sends the new loan modification in multiple copies and refers us to their website. We are not savvy with compiling the information we request and demand that SPS provides us the information we seek to make an informed decision. It is our position that SPS has unjustly enriched itself based on our current loan. Therefore, SPS refuses to send us the account information. We seek CFPB to facilitate our consumer rights to obtain account information from SPS. SPS must send the following : - copies of mortgage loan origination documents with terms - all loan modification documents signed and presented -notification documents of previous loan holders and loan transfer documents -Mortgage itemization of : -- # of payments made on the loan from origination to Present -- total # of payments and figures ( $ ) for mort. loan from origination to Present for : -- -Principal -- -Interest ( bearing / non bearing ) -- -Late fees -- -escrow -- -how much of principal is deferred payment
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

VA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My wife and I believe that we have been and are being discriminated against because of our race and the color of our skin. After experiencing a family medical hardship which turned into a financial hardship, in our quest to save our home, we applied for a loan modification with the original servicer of our mortgage, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. We provided XXXX XXXX XXXX all the required documentation for the loan modification and in the middle of the loan modification process, rather than genuinely work with us, XXXX XXXX XXXX sold our exotic predatory loan to one of its subordinate companies Select Portfolio Servicing ( SPS ). We have been trying to get a loan modification from Select Portfolio Servicing ( SPS ) for over a year. However, we also believe that SPS practices racial discrimination and would rather foreclose on our home and collect the equity and government insurance funds rather than help consumers with legitimate hardships. We stayed in contact the whole time with SPS and it was always the same response they didnt receive all of the document. After SPS denied our loan modification request, we were not even offered the option to Short-Sale our home. We hired a realtor to represent us ( as a third party ), completing and submitted all required documents to SPS, and put the house on the market for Short-Sale, and SPS refused to honor their option to allow us to Short-Sale our home. Next, we filed several complaints against SPS. After reviewing our valid complaints, and our account, SPS disingenuously offered/recommended that we re-apply for a loan modification. We re-applied for an SPS loan modification, and submitted all required documentation in a timely manner. In our request for mortgage assistance, we asked SPS to consider a. extending the maturity date of our SPS loan # XXXX beyond calendar year XXXX ; b. place missed payments at the back of loan ; c. keep the current fixed interest rate or lower ; d. keep monthly mortgage payments of not more than current monthly payments per month. SPS refused to consider modifying our loan, but instead offered a repayment plan requiring that we make monthly payments of {$15000.00} per month. We wrote a letter of appeal informing SPS that we could not afford to pay monthly mortgage payments in the amount of {$15000.00} a month, and reminded SPS that we initiated our original loan modification request due to a medical hardship which led to a financial hardship. And now that our medical hardship has been resolved, we under no circumstances are not able to afford to pay a monthly mortgage payment of {$15000.00} a month. SPS responded by rescinding their loan modification offer because we were unable afford to pay SPS {$15000.00} monthly mortgage payments. SPSs loan modification program is a disingenuous bait and switch for sure. I have never seen any kind of trickery like this ever, and it can not possibly be legal. SPS has been STONEWALLING us throughout the entire loan modification process. We are seeking legal representation. We believe SPS has wanted to foreclose on our home all along. SPS will not even allow us to Short-Sale or bringing the account current as options. SPS should not be allowed to deny our requests for mortgage assistance simply because of race and the color of our skin. My wife is also a XXXX XXXX survivor and I am a retired, XXXX veteran and I honorably served this great country for 22-years. We would for SPS upper management to review this file and letter that they sent to us. Please do not allow SPS to continue their discriminating practices against us and help us save our home from being foreclosed on by this racist, predatory lender, Select Portfolio Servicing. Very Respectfully, XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Foothill Ranch, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: XX/XX/XXXX I recieved a letter of denial for modification. in that letter it stated i had 30 from that date of that letter to appeal there decision. The letter also stated no sale will be conducted until during the appeal process. I called SPS after recieving the letter in the mail at least 12 days after the date. Asking them to provide with certain documents that i would need in order to prove my appeal. On XXXX XXXX i recieved a call from a Mr . he advised me to send my appeal letter to " XXXX '' XXXXso i did just that he gave instructions on what to put on the letter ie in the subject box appea lwith loan number. i followed his instructions. after recieving the documents i requested i began my appeal On XX/XX/XXXX i sent it over I have attached the proof. On XXXX XXXX i recieved a letter stating the recieved my request for an appeal and they would get back to me within 30 days. WEll The set a sale date for XX/XX/2019, clearly im within my 30 day review period. no sale should take place, I have been calling the odsbudman dept. i spoke with XXXX XXXX.She told me that they would not postpone my sale because i was not within the time limit for appeal. I told her i was and di send it in so she looked it up and oh ok i will escalate to see if we can postphone sale date. I adviced her that we had very limited time has the XXXX holiday is approaching and the sale date is thje Monday after. She said call back MOnday XXXX, 2019 si i diid this morning only to be told to call back tomorrow There is no time left Tuesday, wensday thats it holiday come MOnday morning it goes to sale.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Little Rock, AR

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: Our mortgage loan was on auto draft with my previous mortgage company. The mortgage transferred in XX/XX/2019 to this mortgage company and hasnt been auto drafted correctly since. I have had to call once or twice every month to make my payment. I have had nothing but problems since my loan has been with them. They also try to charge me a service fee for calling in to make the payment they should have auto drafted. Now they say I am behind on my payments but I have been calling every month since XXXX to make my payment. They now wants me to make a payment and a half so that the auto draft will start working correctly. This company is a nightmare.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-21

Portland, OR

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

VA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: MORTGAGE FRAUD RESULTING IN OVER 60 FORECLOSURE SALE DATES CREDIT REPORTING FRAUD SELECT PORTFOLIO SERVICING ACCOUNT NUMBER : XXXX In 2019 I have place several complaints against Select Portfolio Servicing regarding an XXXX Report against me, FRAUD, staring SPS had closed the account out in the Credit reporting Agency, stating that I had accepted a DEED IN LIEU OF, states Bank Liquidation, proof has been submitted to them over 6 times now and they WILL answer my complaints and Stop all Foreclosure processes or they will see their name all over the newspaper and will be in court there are other Servicing issues involved and they need to go back to XXXX XXXX XXXX and get a detailed statement of how my bankruptcy payments were applied to my account with XXXX XXXX XXXX.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-20

S Salt Lake, UT

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

MA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I have been trying to work with SPS since XXXX to sell my home. SPS exclaims they sent me approval to complete a short sale in XXXX, which I never received and therefore never listed my home, and if I did receive it, no one from SPS called to explain the process to me. I did receive approval to list my property and get an offer starting XX/XX/XXXX. The program allowed me to list my property, get an offer and I had to CLOSE by XX/XX/XXXX. SPS set an unrealistic timeframe for me to list and sell my property. On XX/XX/XXXX they shut down my review and have stipulated I no longer have a right to sell my property. My negotiator said short sales are not SHORT in time. Most well run short sales take an average of 2-3 months to list and get under contract, another 90-120 days for a lender to review the offer, perform a valuation on a property, and then potentially issue approval which could take another 30 days and Select Portfolio Servicing is NO exception to the above. She ran a scan of ALL SALES in XXXX county. My property is located in XXXX County. She ran it for all sales from XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX. There were 271. She ran a price range of XXXX XXXX. The average time on these sales from OFFER UNTIL CLOSING was 100 days. Out of ALL of these sales only ONE was a short sale. This ONE short sale took 179 from listing until closing. This shows that SPS who is a servicer of default mortgages, sets UNREALISTIC expectations on sellers by giving them only 75 days to list and sell a short sale/default property. By the time I get an offer within a reasonable range, she explained that typically the value expires and more time is tacked on the short sale, and then typically a value dispute must be done. Nothing about a short sale is short on time. Any servicer of default mortgages should know this. Two and months from listing until closing would only happen if you fire sale priced a property and the lender allowed a lower than average sales price which also is not the norm. SPS is completely unrealistic when setting this time frame for me especially when I truly didnt understand the process, nor did anyone from SPS call to explain it to me. I finally got an offer that was submitted to SPS on XX/XX/XXXX, that included not only the short sale documents but the Offer and HUD. SPS agreed to postponing the foreclosure date of XX/XX/XXXX further to XX/XX/XXXX. While this is great news, my negotiator continued to follow up with the Short Sale department in SPS to see exactly where the short sale review was. After not receiving any communication from the Short sale department, she escalated further to the Ombudsman department for help. The Ombudsman dept, in turn, informed us that the short sale was no longer an option because the file was reviewed for a previous short sale back in XXXX and did not receive an offer. My negotiator has worked with SPS on many short sales in the past 6 months alone, not to mention years, and said that they never finished a short sale from beginning to end in the span of 75 days with them. This is not without trying. She explained that the process of getting all documents, getting an offer in, ordering a value, going into a value dispute review ( which almost always happens ), counter offer phase, acceptance and issuance of the approval letter never happens within 90 days. The 90 day timeline is just not realistic and furthermore, I was never informed in the letter that I could only have one try to get a short sale option done. No one from SPS who valued the property if there was a value in XXXX, knew that there was a failed septic on site on my site. I do not have the money to cure this issue. My septic issue will cost any buyer XXXX to cure, so the current buyers offer price is exceptional considering the other deferred maintenance on the property. I wish the short sale be re-reviewed considering the above. SPS is setting unrealistic expectations for me to complete a sale which is deceptive. Thank you for your time.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-19

West Brandywine, PA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I have reviewed my mortgage statements from XX/XX/XXXX to XX/XX/XXXX and they include fees and charges which I do not agree with, are in breach of the contract I signed, are unreasonable and I allege unlawful. These fees include : - an appraisal without my knowledge and not for the purposes of home valuation in connection with a refinance. - inspection fees which were not performed by a licensed that have appeared and then credited haphazardly and randomly - late fees assessed when mortgage payment was not paid after grace period - interest charged on fees that were not agreed to, unreasonable and allegedly unlawful
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response



© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy