SUNTRUST BANKS, INC

Consumer Complaints

There are over 9413 complaints on file for SUNTRUST BANKS, INC. Dated between 2019-12-09 and 2011-12-01.

Complaints by Product

Bank account or service - Checking account1949
Mortgage - Other mortgage1347
Checking or savings account - Checking account1298
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage821
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage465
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service385
Mortgage - FHA mortgage348
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service256
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting234
Credit card - 225
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit207
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)197
Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan193
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose credit card or charge card158
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage134
Bank account or service - Savings account128
Vehicle loan or lease - Loan100
Bank account or service - (CD) Certificate of deposit84
Checking or savings account - Savings account80
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Domestic (US) money transfer75
Mortgage - VA mortgage75
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)63
Checking or savings account - CD (Certificate of Deposit)47
Student loan - Non-federal student loan46
Consumer Loan - Installment loan44
Debt collection - Mortgage32
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Installment loan28
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - International money transfer27
Debt collection - I do not know25
Debt collection - Other debt23
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Personal line of credit23
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)22
Money transfers - International money transfer21
Credit reporting - 19
Consumer Loan - Personal line of credit18
Student loan - Private student loan18
Debt collection - Mortgage debt18
Student loan - Federal student loan servicing17
Money transfers - Domestic (US) money transfer16
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Other personal consumer report15
Mortgage - Second mortgage14
Bank account or service - Cashing a check without an account13
Debt collection - Credit card13
Debt collection - Auto9
Debt collection - Credit card debt8
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Mobile or digital wallet6
Debt collection - Auto debt6

Latest Complaints

2019-12-09

Spartanburg, SC

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-07

Macclenny, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Our mortgage with Suntrust included terms for automatic termination of our pmi once our original loan met 78 % LTV. I verified with Suntrust, via several phone calls that that date was XX/XX/2019 and that our account should reflect this termination of pmi on XX/XX/2019. This date came and went and I once again called to ask why it was not removed from our loan account. I have requested to receive, in writing, from Suntrust the date our loan is due to have automatic pmi termination but have not received this. When I call the representatives I speak with, including supervisors, either tell me that it should be removed or that they are not certain why it hasn't been and I should write a letter and send it to the pmi department, even though this should be automatically processed as per our loan terms! To make matters worse, Suntrust has merged with XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX to form XXXX XXXX as of XX/XX/2019. So I fear we will be lost in the transition and will still not have this resolved.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-05

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Ft Belvoir, VA

Problem with a lender or other company charging your account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Transaction was not authorized
Complaint: A check written on a SunTrust Bank Checking account was deposited at XXXX XXXX after the payee was altered with white-out and changed by the depositor. The check was accepted by XXXX and drawn on the SunTrust account. The fraud was reported by SunTrust to one of the named/authorized parties on the SunTrust account. A fraud case was opened by SunTrust but nothing has happened in over two months and SunTrust has refused to refund the account or provide any details of the progress to the authorized party.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Columbus, GA

Improper use of your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Credit inquiries on your report that you don't recognize
Complaint: I have contacted the credit company advising of the information reporting on my credit report this issue has been going on since XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-03

Main Office, VA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Public record information inaccurate
Complaint: My loan with Suntrust has been paid in full for over a year. A month ago, Suntrust reported to XXXX credit bureau that I filed bankruptcy. I have not filed bankruptcy and this erroneous report has caused by credit score to drop 42 points. This is not the first incident with incorrect, fraudulent activity on my account by Suntrust. Suntrust continues to use someone else 's information and social security number and associate them with my account. I've spent countless hours informing Suntrust of their errors, but they never take ownership, they point fingers, and the harassment continues. The bankruptcy reported by Suntrust needs to be taken off my credit report. My account is paid in full and closed. Suntrust is not permitted to place any updates to my satisfied account. This is fraudulent and done without my knowledge, and consent. It is identify theft from a company who is suppose to protect the accounts, and personal information of their consumers.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Fleming, GA

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Funds not received from closed account
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Hampton, GA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Garrett Park, MD

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Overdrafts and overdraft fees
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Oxford, GA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: We missed a payment during a financial hardship. SunTrust will not try to help their customers at all. For several months during XXXX, I paid two house payments. I was currently due to pay three payments in XX/XX/XXXX. I could barely afford to pay the two payments. A few days after I paid the two payments, SunTrust reversed the payments and held them until they applied them to my mortgage on XX/XX/XXXX. I attempted to pay in XXXX and I was told they would not accept my parent because I was now in foreclosure. I am trying to modify the loan but now they want me to repay a 40 year mortgage when I'm only 8 years away from satisfying a 30 year mortgage. Prior to this crisis caused by SunTrust, I paid my mortgage on time and was paying additional principal.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

GA

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Complaint: Payments have been made on the card every month but the payments are not being posted. I have had this issue before. I went to use my card the purchase didnt go through and it hasnt been maxed out. Someone has also had a bizarre obsession with all of my personal information causing me to file for identity theft. This needs to be fixed and payments need to be posted ASAP!!!! the card has a XXXX limit
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Washington, DC

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Brooklyn, NY

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

South Florida, FL

Getting the loan

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 I spoke to XXXX XXXX about an SBA Loan or LOC and to start sending all the application process. He told me he would talk to XXXX XXXX an SBA Officer in charge of the application process. I would have to speak to her about the process and anything needed. On XX/XX/XXXX at XXXX XXXX, we had the phone call and discussed everything about the application. They were asking things that should not even be asked for any loan.i submitted all the documentation ASAP for them to review, then did it again, for extra documentation, without any excuse for doing this. I just had the impression of they asking a lot for me not to apply for the loan. Then the underwriting department ruled me out, and they do not even have a way of saying why not since I have everything in order. They ruled me out using standards used for regular loans instead of SBA loans which is money to help Small Businesses like mine, but it is used only for millionaires, people with money or I do not know what is the base standard, but to discriminatory. Since I'm XXXX and the business is located in a poor community. Nothing else they are actually looking for. The discriminatory policies on this bank and the way they used federal back loan money are being used not how is intended to be done. I have tried to talk even to the CEO and the executives alert them about this and it is impossible to do. Please check this out and let me know. They make me lose money and time, just to have me denied due to their discriminatory policies.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-01

Lorton, VA

Problem with a lender or other company charging your account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Money was taken from your account on the wrong day or for the wrong amount
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-01

Newnan, GA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I have mortgage with Suntrust. I bank with XXXX XXXX XXXX for my business. I deposited a insurance check in XXXX for business. XXXX put a 13 day hold on my funds. I make arrangements with Suntrust for my XXXX payment. Arrangements for XX/XX/XXXX. XXXX held funds from XX/XX/XXXX till XX/XX/XXXX. I went in to XXXX on the XXXX th and told them insurance company said check had cleared why is it a hold. XXXX released funds and I paid Suntrust on the XXXX of XXXX. For my XXXX payment. Suntrust contacted me on the XXXX of XXXX. Saying they needed payment for XXXX again and XXXX. I stated I paid already. Suntrust stated they held payment till XXXX of XXXX. Mailed it back and wouldn't acept my payment. I just recieved it in mail on the XXXX. XXXX cant pay it again now they say they want XXXX also. This is second time they have messed up my credit by prolonging my payments trying to force foreclosure. I wasn't late for a year so I can refinance. But they do this to keep me at high interest rate. Suntrust did this to me in 2016 also and XXXX XXXX resolved for me without legal action. I been in my house 13 years and value is up. They trying to force a foreclosure. I have deposit slip and payment info and copy of the check they sent back after holding for almost a month. Im disable and cant play these games with Suntrust. The have not let me refinance or access equity in 13 year. Wouldn't let me fill out application or even try.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-01

TN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Complaint: Hello, On XX/XX/2019 we received several phone calls around XXXX XXXX ( total 5 phone calls in 15 minutes ) from the toll free phone number : XXXX to our home phone. The caller introduced herself that she is from the SunTrust Bank Fraud department. She stated that for two days there were multiple transactions attempted from our personal checking account to transfer money : traveler 's check or Money order for over {$4000.00} USD. She spoke with a heavy XXXX XXXX accent. She asked me for my SSN number but repeated it back wrong ( twice ), then she asked for my first and last name " to access my account. '' What stopped me from giving my name is the fact that the lady gave me the wrong card number and could not repeat my SSN that I gave her twice over the phone. I refused to give her my name and the lady became very angry with me. I told her that I am not comfortable to provide any other personal information and hung up on her. Afterwards, I immediately called the SunTrust bank and spoke with the representative name XXXX that confirmed the SunTrust does not use this number for phone calls to the clients.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-30

Cheverly, MD

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Banking errors
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-28

Plymouth, FL

Getting a loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Fraudulent loan
Complaint: Suntrust Bank # XXXX XXXX XXXX # XXXX, and XXXX # XXXX, XXXX XXXX XXXX # XXXX reporting a fradulent Loan on my credit report,
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Gardendale, AL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Banking errors
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Robertsdale, AL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Clarkesville, GA

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Bayway, NJ

Getting the loan

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Installment loan


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Clarkston, WA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations
SUNTRUST BANKS INC of GEORGIA0000750556
Legal Entity Identifier 7E1PDLW1JL6TS0BS1G03 [SUNTRUST BANKS, INC.]

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy