Seterus, Inc

Consumer Complaints

There are over 4489 complaints on file for Seterus, Inc. Dated between 2019-02-19 and 2012-03-23.

Complaints by Product

Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage1702
Mortgage - Other mortgage1209
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage494
Mortgage - FHA mortgage414
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)314
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage112
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting77
Debt collection - Mortgage71
Debt collection - Mortgage debt35
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit13
Mortgage - VA mortgage11
Debt collection - I do not know8

Latest Complaints

2019-02-14

Coconut Creek, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Old information reappears or never goes away
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-12

Blackbird, DE

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Complaint: I reached out to my mortgage holder to request them to look at my file for PMI removal. They sent back a letter providing the steps to pursue removing PMI and the 5 conditions that must be met to have the PMI removed. Prior to beginning the process the only items that were not met was I had to send a check in for {$350.00} to order the appraisal and the LTV of the property had to come back 80 % or less. Well I mailed in the check they cashed and the house came back at 71 % LTV per the appraisal. The mortgage company then denied me PMI removal and said that the LTV had to be at 70 %. I then proceeded to call in for an explanation and after an escalation to a supervisor, no one could explain why I had been declined other than their denial letter stated the LTV needed to be at 70 % and the department that declined only knew the criteria ( some back office that couldn't be reached by phone ).
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-11

Bedford, TX

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I have repeatedly asked for my XXXX, XXXX and XXXX accounts to be updated to paid as agreed with my mortgage office Seterus , INC . I have made on time payments and asked for goodwill removal of late payments from XX/XX/2018, XX/XX/2018, XX/XX/2018, and XX/XX/2018. I am trying to get a business loan to grow my company and the late payments are hurting my ability to apply for more credit.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-11

Palm Beach, FL

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Complaint: I have a XXXX XXXX mortgage loan serviced by Seterus and the loan was offered a forbearance owing to the federally-declared disaster from Hurricane Irma. The forbearance let to a loan modification which had a trial plan that ended on XX/XX/XXXX. The trial period payments were made on time as required by the modification agreement i.e., XX/XX/XXXX, XX/XX/XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX. On XX/XX/XXXX, Seterus ceased from being the servicer on the loan and new servicer now is XXXX XXXX XXXX. XXXX XXXX XXXX has concluded the modification process begun by Seterus. On XX/XX/XXXX, Seterus maliciously made a derogatory report to the Credit Bureaus by stating that the loan was 120 days past due. This is incorrect. The loan was being repaid as agreed leading up to the declaration of the disaster by the federal government and one of the terms and conditions of the forbearance was that negative reports would not be made as long as the loan was in forbearance. Immediately after the forbearance the loan was approved for modification and the terms of the modification were adhered as prescribed. I am disputing the report of the loan being 120 days late. I spoke to 3 people at Seterus today, Mr XXXX, Mr XXXX XXXX and Supervisor XXXX XXXXn. Ms. XXXX stated that the late payment applies to XX/XX/XXXX. This is incorrect because the loan was in forbearance at that time and the terms of the forbearance specifically state that no negative reporting will be made, so Seterus is violating its agreement.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-08

Villa Nueva, PR

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Our account XXXX was paid in full. Enclosed evidence.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-08

Oakland, PA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-07

Santa Ysabel, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: XXXX XXXX took my house while I was working with Seterus to sell it. I want an investigation into Seterus and XXXX XXXX and how they reneged on their agreement to not take my house because I was selling it. I also want an investigation into why they did not notify XXXX XXXX that I was selling the house and making good on my repayment of the mortgage. Although I refer to my attorney throughout this account, he is not currently my attorney and has not been representing me for more than a year and a half. He also sent a fax to Seterus, as requested, stating that he is no longer my attorney. This should resolve the issue Seterus seems to think they have in communicating directly with me. I filed Chapter XXXX bankruptcy in XX/XX/XXXX. I struggled to keep up on payments on my house. XXXX XXXX, XXXX Lenders lawyers filed a motion for Relief from Stay, served papers to Trustee and to my attorney. At this time I was talking with my attorney about getting out of the bankruptcy, facing the fact that I should sell my house, pay what I owe and move on. XX/XX/XXXX I signed docs with an agent to sell my home. My real estate agent and I got in contact with my lender to advise them of my plan and they agreed not to pursue foreclosure. They would get their money in full when the house sold. I started showing the house, ready to sell. XX/XX/XXXX The Relief from Stay was granted to lender, I didn't receive this info until the paperwork arrived in the mail. This was around XX/XX/XXXX. XX/XX/XXXX Motion to Dismiss Bankruptcy Hearing, it was granted. XX/XX/XXXX Notice posted on my house that XXXX XXXX had taken ownership of my home and was intending to sell. At that time I had a verbal agreement with Seterus to let me sell my house and pay them what was owed in full. My attorney at the time and my real estate agent were communicating with Seterus and working out the details of stopping the foreclosure and waiting for me to sell my house and pay them what I owed. A sale by me would have left me with a substantial amount of money in my pocket when I moved on ( estimate of at least {$80000.00} ). I would also not have a foreclosure on my credit report. This has caused great harm to my ability to find affordable housing. It has left me with no savings at all. These issues are why I am pursuing a case against XXXX XXXX and Seterus. Seterus failed to communicate the agreement we had ( between myself and Seterus, and between my realtor and Seterus ) to whatever entity at Seterus that was preparing to take my home. Seterus never informed my realtor that XXXX XXXX was one of the lenders on my mortgage. I had already started showing my home for sale and had interested buyers, with the full knowledge and agreement of Seterus, when the notice was posted on my home. The entire time line of events makes it plainly clear that Seterus should have never taken my home. I have no idea why Seterus or XXXX XXXX would take my home when they were fully guaranteed to receive a complete reckoning of my account. They would have been paid in full. As of today, the house never sold at auction and it is still for sale. If my home had sold at the time I had it on the market ( which at the time was very much a seller 's market ), I would have sold it for between {$330000.00} and {$350000.00}.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-07

Vacaville, CA

Incorrect information on your report

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-06

Country Lakes, FL

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-05

Clarkesville, GA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: THIS IS THE LAST REQUEST FOR SOMEONE IN YOUR PLACE OF BUSINESS TO READ THE BANK STATEMENTS SENT MANY TIMES TO YOUR BUSINESS. WHILE YOU THREATENED TO ACCELERATE MY LOAN XX/XX/XXXX, FOR YOUR COMPANY NOT ABLE TO FIND ACH PAYMENTS FOR XX/XX/XXXX AND XX/XX/XXXX. THIS HAS CAUSED ME TO lose A JOB, MUCH XXXX AND MUCH WASTED TIME FOR YOUR INACCURACY OF MANAGING A HOME LOAN! ATTACHED AGAIN, IS MY XX/XX/XXXX AND XX/XX/XXXX WHICH PROVES AGAIN THE PAYMENT MADE TO YOUR COMPANY SETERUS , INC . SO I PAID YOU THE {$2000.00} YOU REQUESTED FOR OVERSITE OF MY PAYMENT! INSTEAD OF MENTIONING XX/XX/XXXX NON PAYMENT, HOW ABOUT YOU APPLY THE OVERAGE OF {$2000.00} SINCE MY BANK AND BANK STATEMENTS PROVE I PAID. {$2000.00} LESS {$1100.00} FOR XX/XX/XXXX LEAVES {$940.00} THE WAY I SEE IT! I OWE YOU NOTHING UNTIL YOU ADMIT OF YOUR MISTAKE LET ALONE THE HARDSHIP YOU PUT ME THROUGH FOR EIGHT MONTHS! MY MORTGAGE IS DUE ON OR BY THE XXXX OF EACH MONTH! SO I DONT OWE YOU NOTHING UNTIL YOU GET THIS FIXED! YOU ARE OVERPAID! NOW YOU WANT TO TALK ABOUT INTEREST FOR EIGHT MONTHS AND HARDSHIP YOU CAUSED? I HAD TO BORROW MONEY NOT NEEDED FOR YOUR MISTAKE. I HAVE CONTACTED XXXX LEGAL DEPT. LETTING THEM KNOW AND THEY HAVE TOLD ME SETERUS, INC HAS THE MONEY! SO THEY ARE INVOLVED NOW! FIX THE PROBLEM SINCE MY ACCOUNT IS OVERPAID AND MY STATEMENTS PROVE IT! DO NOT SEND ANY MORE THREATENING LETTERS UNTIL YOU FIX THIS PROBLEM AND STOP WASTING EVERYONE 'S TIME FOR YOUR MISTAKE! I SENT THESE STATEMENTS BACK IN XX/XX/XXXX AND YOU HAVE STUMBLED YOUR FEET WITH EVERY EXCUSE WAITING TO GET MONEY NOT NEEDED! I DO NOT WANT TO HEAR NO EXCUSE WHEN YOUR PRYOR LETTER THROUGH CFPB SITE INDICATES THE {$2000.00} WAS FOR XX/XX/XXXX AND XX/XX/XXXX WHICH SETERUS COULD NOT FIND. FOR THE RECORD, YOU WILL GET NO MORE BANK STATEMENTS WHEN MY BANK PROVES TO ME THE ACH WENT THROUGH. MY STATEMENT IS MY PERSONAL BUSINESS! MY CONTRACT READS I HAVE TO PAY MY MORTGAGE, BUT IT DOES NOT READ I HAVE TO OVERPAY A SERVICE PROVIDER WHEN THEY CANT FIND ACH PAYMENTS! FIX IT! XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX ACH {$1100.00} DO YOU SEE IT? XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX ACH {$1100.00} DO YOU SEE IT?
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-04

Bethel, CT

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-02

Weston, CT

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: 3-4 years ago my mortgage was sold by XXXX to a company called Seterus. Since then I have so many payment problems. My bank has sent them a mortgage payment 2x, both occasions the payment was never received!! I get hit immediately with penalties. I have paid several times through their online payment system, again these payments failed and I got hit by penalties. Always penalties. The only way to pay my mortgage is to actually call them up every month and authorise same day debit from my account. Always so many extra fees ... I have reached out through social media and found hundreds of people suffering the same way. We now realise that Seterus are scammers, just looking to frustrate mortgage holders to screw extra fees every month. This is a consumer racket, and the public is being fleeced. I am a member of this XXXX page - https : XXXX. Please investigate them, they are fraudsters
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-02

Flowery Br, GA

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Seized or attempted to seize your property
Complaint: The below paragraph from you Seterus, Inc. from the response of the complaint XXXX The amount disclosed on the Notice of Intent to Foreclose consisted of the XX/XX/XXXX, and XX/XX/XXXX, contractual installments each in the amount of {$1100.00} minus the funds in suspense on XX/XX/XXXX, in the amount of {$210.00} which equals the amount of {$2000.00} disclosed on the notice. As of the date of this letter, the loan is contractually delinquent for XX/XX/XXXX, installment in the amount of {$1100.00}. I have attached XXXX and XX/XX/XXXX Bank statements proving AGAIN I did not owe Seterus , Inc . The mortgage payments were transferred by ACH. These complaints are not about the XX/XX/XXXX mortgage that is not paid. This is about returning my money overpaid to Seterus back in XX/XX/XXXX. My bank statements are proof that I was paid to date! I am NOT going to continue to send bank statements to prove to Seterus I am paid. I do this with no one I pay! POST your ACH payments when paid and I want my money returned for the XX/XX/XXXX cashiers check for {$2000.00}. You are not going to keep my money.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-02

Austell, GA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Complaint: I am requesting verification of information for my account. Please provide the following details for each credit bureau ( XXXX-XXXX-XXXX ) 1. The Account Date Opened 2. The Final and Last date account was Updated by your company 3.The Date last payment made on account 4. The Date account sold and company sold to 5. The dates you responded to any investigation verification for any of the 3 credit bureaus 6. The credit details and information you reported and account details you reported on those dates 7. The amount of 30-60-90-120 payments reported on this account I am requesting this information for XXXX XXXX and XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-01

Greenwood, CA

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Complaint: In XX/XX/XXXX we went through a mortgage modification on the term ONLY with Seterus, same origination date, same loan number. The loan originated in XX/XX/XXXX and was for an original amount of {$340000.00}. The modification documents reflect that the ORIGINAL balance was {$340000.00}. From XX/XX/XXXX to XX/XX/XXXX this is what was reflected on all three credit bureau reports ( XXXX/XXXX/XXXX ), an original loan amount of {$340000.00}. As of XX/XX/XXXX Seterus began reporting an original loan balance of {$260000.00} ( the balance at modification ), effectively making it look like we had paid little or nothing toward the principal of the loan and this is impacting our credit scoring for future refinance or other loans. In XX/XX/XXXX, I corresponded with Seterus and they refuse to report the data correctly. XXXX XXXX servicer guidelines and Consumer Data Industry Association both address the correct Original balance amount is the beginning loan amount not the new modified " starting balance ''. Our credit reports/scoring mentioned that the high balance/original loan amount impacts the score.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-01

Flowery Br, GA

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Mortgage debt

Seized or attempted to seize your property
Complaint: Your response to XXXX indicates that the {$2000.00} was for XXXX and XX/XX/2018 were delinquent! Claiming you did not receive my mortgage for those months. I mailed and faxed to your office in Oregon after receiving the threatening letter to pay {$2000.00} or my loan would accelerate? Of course, no one EVER received any faxes or mail forcing me to pay the {$2000.00}. I have attached my BANK proving AGAIN that XXXX and XX/XX/2018 mortgage were paid ACH! I want my {$2000.00} back! NOW this clearly indicates that the mortgage was paid in full {$1100.00} for XXXX and XXXX leaving my account OVER paid with money I borrowed and I want it ALL returned as it is not yours! This is not how professionals handle money! I have sent this also to Washington showing them that this account is paid and was paid in FULL when you threatened to accelerate my loan! An Audit on this account would show overpaid! The money you demanded ( that was not owed ) was paid by a cashiers check and I have proof it was cashed! IF I do not receive in full I will take this further since nothing is happening this route. XXXX XXXX # XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-01

Delano, MN

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-02-01

Colfax, IN

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My mortgage is currently serviced Seterus, which was transferred from XXXX XXXX on XXXX. On XXXX, I paid {$64000.00} direct to Seterus. This payment should have reduced my balance to around {$8000.00}. Seterus does not show proper application of this payment. Seterus has continued to accrue 6.375 % at the old principal balance, thus driving up the past due amount artificially ( see attached ). The attached statement also shows past due escrow of {$11000.00} and {$3500.00} of extra charges that were accounted for prior to the {$64000.00} payment. The statement also clearly shows an accelerated amount of {$21000.00} that Seterus can't account for. I have requested payment ledgers to prove up the validity of the accounting, which Seterus has failed to provide. Per RESPA and HUD law, Seterus is required to respond the QWR timely. Since Seterus is deemed a debt collector, they are bound by the FDCPA. Per the FDCPA, Seterus is in violation of 15 US Code 1692g. Seterus is required to prove up the validity of the debt before proceeding with foreclosure action. I feel cheated and deceived by Seterus and I am seeking your assistance on this matter.
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-01-31

Nyc, NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Since 2015, I have tried to get Seterus, inc., to stop the harassment and bring my payments up to date as I never missed a payment. The company fraudulent ways have defrauded millions of dollars from costumes. At this time I am part of one of the {$5.00} XXXX Dollars class actions against Steterus , Inc., currently pending in the XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX Vs Seterus, INC _ XXXX XXXX _ Case No. : XXXX ( XXXX ), which Mr XXXX XXXX asked Mr. XXXX from XXXX, XXXX. See copy of the email. Also, after contacting a Civil Rights Group, and after submitting the overwhelming amount of evidence collected through the almost 4 years, they decided to take action. We are filing another lawsuit against the same company, Seterus, inc., for the serious mental and financial damage they created by not only threatening me with foreclosure, tried to alter my mortgage, phone, and mail harassment but also by reporting my mortgage delinquent to credit report agencies for years. We have found hundreds of costumes via social media who suffer the same faith, and we feel confident the law will correct the situation the company refused to do itself. Per the advice of the counselor, I was asked to hold back monthly payment until the lawsuit is filed, hopefully in the next weeks. After the lawsuit has been filed, I will re-initiate payments and submit the missing payments only after my lawyer has asked me to do so. I got told communication is now happening with the Office of the Attorney General, and it is possible the company will face more charges soon. I will make my evidence available to any agency who makes the proper request. I can be contacted via email XXXX XXXX
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-01-30

Tarzana, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-01-29

Bueche, LA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-01-28

Detroit, MI

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: My problem is my mortgage company say I have an overage in my escrow every year and have been charging me more than my taxes and insurance every year, now it has gotten out of control and my taxes and insurance haven't gone up but my escrow keep going up for what reason I don't know. My mortgage is currently with seterus. Yes I have missed a month here and there over the 15 years I've had the mortgage but never have I been in forclosure.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-01-23

Tarzana, CA

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: I am having a long running dispute with Seterus, Inc.. I have made several attempts to resolve not getting billing statements and double payments on tax and insurance impound/escrow account. I'm XXXX and don't have much time for the run around. Yes, we are currently late on the mortgage due to the above ( didn't get a billing statement after timely modification payments until XX/XX/XXXX - 3 months after last payment ). Now as of XX/XX/XXXX they have placed us in foreclosure. I have called twice and spoke with a XXXX and subsequently XXXX XXXX and XXXX XXXX and asked to be set-up on 2 month payment plan to bring the account current. The pat answer is that it's in foreclosure and we need the full amount - amazing. We are not talking a large loan - I believe we are at 15 % LTV and loan is $ 73,000+ only. I want to resolve the matter and need some time to make it current as I don't have single payment capability and what is 2 months? I'm very frustrated at the overall process and truly need someone to advocate for me in this situation.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-01-23

Durham, OR

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-01-22

Burbank, CA

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Have been trying to modified or short sell this property with no corporation with the lender and will not give enough time to do so. ON XX/XX/XXXX OF 2018 I SUBMITTED A MODIFICATION PACKAGE and then was told no time to revive it due to pending sell date. On XX/XX/XXXX of 2018 I submitted short sell package and then again was told, no time to review it cause of the sell date. This happened again for the month of XXXX of 2018. The Amount of XXXX.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy