TCF NATIONAL BANK

Consumer Complaints

There are over 1945 complaints on file for TCF NATIONAL BANK. Dated between 2019-12-07 and 2012-02-03.

Complaints by Product

Bank account or service - Checking account770
Checking or savings account - Checking account325
Mortgage - Other mortgage98
Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan90
Vehicle loan or lease - Loan83
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting76
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage71
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service66
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service50
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit33
Bank account or service - Savings account30
Bank account or service - (CD) Certificate of deposit24
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage22
Debt collection - Auto debt15
Debt collection - Auto15
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)13
Checking or savings account - Savings account13
Credit card - 13
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)12
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage10
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)10
Checking or savings account - CD (Certificate of Deposit)9
Debt collection - Mortgage8
Debt collection - I do not know8
Credit reporting - 6
Money transfers - International money transfer6

Latest Complaints

2019-12-07

Palos Park, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX my wallet was stolen. I then saw a unauthorized transaction for {$940.00} dollars for a XXXX transaction. I saw the charge and immediately got in contact with the bank to dispute the charges. I called to find out whats going on a couple of weeks later and they closed the investigation and is refusing to get my money back. I am so upset with this bank
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-05

Palmerton, PA

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Billing problem
Complaint: I have my auto loan of 4 years with Gateway One Lending and Finance. My account number is XXXX. I pay through direct pay from my credit union checking account. When my account went into arrears, I was locked out of my online account for not answering representatives phone calls. I have notified the account supervisor XXXX XXXX in response to e-mails she and the credit department sends letting me know they are trying to reach me via telephone. I told Ms. XXXX I do not have access to my online account and NEVER get paper statements so I have no idea how much I owe, ever. Ms. XXXX has stated she has updated my account to allow me access but I still can not get in. She also replied they send statements to my address, which they never do. I have even updated my account until my recent move XX/XX/XXXX. How am I to keep up on an account I have no idea how much I owe? Ms. XXXX told me I owe {$730.00} on XX/XX/XXXX after I told her I just sent a payment of {$300.00} and have no idea how much I owe for the reasons stated. My payments are {$440.00} per month, so although she told me I owe two months, I owe less than two months and actually less than 1 after my {$300.00} payment. I need statements and I should not be locked out of my online account because I do not take their calls.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-29

Palos Park, IL

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Non-sufficient funds and associated fees
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Atlanta, GA

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Auto debt

Seized or attempted to seize your property
Company Response: Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Detroit, MI

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Can't close your account
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-22

MN

Written notification about debt

Debt collection: Auto debt

Didn't receive enough information to verify debt
Complaint: Its been over a year now that I have tried disputing this item off of my credit. No one can prove to me that this is mine, no legal documents have been sent to me and I need it removed.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-22

Zimmerman, MN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-21

Denver, CO

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Problem with renewal
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-21

Little Canada, MN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-19

Milwaukee, WI

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not received from closed account
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Untimely Response

2019-11-19

Commerce, MI

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Savings account

Company closed your account
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-16

Chicago, IL

Problem caused by your funds being low

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Non-sufficient funds and associated fees
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Wonder Lake, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem accessing account
Complaint: I recently became a XXXX XXXX leader along with another woman, and went to TCF bank XXXX XXXX XXXX # XXXX on XX/XX/2019 to have the existing XXXX XXXX XXXX account transferred to myself and the other new leader and to have the former leaders removed from the account. We answered questions, showed ID, and filled out paperwork and were told at the branch that the retiring leaders had been removed and that myself and the other new leader were now the holders of the account. On XX/XX/XXXX and again on XX/XX/XXXX the former holder of the account, who is no longer an authorized user, received mail regarding the account. On XX/XX/XXXX XXXX called TCF at XXXX to advise them that they were sending mail to someone who is no longer an authorized user on the account. I spoke with " XXXX '' ( teller # XXXX ) who refused to update the address over the phone even after I stressed that by failing to do so they would be sending my financial information to an unauthorized third party. Because I work full time I will be unable to visit a branch in the near future.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Untimely Response

2019-11-13

Chicago, IL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-13

Royal Palm Beach, FL

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: CD (Certificate of Deposit)

Funds not received from closed account
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-11

Chicago, IL

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Company closed your account
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Harsens Is, MI

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Complaint: A refund from XXXX XXXX in the amount of {$170.00} has been sitting with visa and TCF bank for over a month, this has been confirmed by the XXXX and the letter sent to them from XXXX XXXX ( SEE THE ATTACHED ) and as of today the original complaint to TCF Bank was made OVER 1 MONTH AGO. I was told the money is being put back into my account yet another 8 business days have gone by to no avail. The debit card used was closed out, TCF bank can see the money yet has not called or communicated with visa to tell them that the debit card was closed out and this is the account that the {$170.00} refund is supposed to go into, therefore for over 1 month the money has been sitting in limbo. I have talked with XXXX XXXX several times ; he has called the necessary department several times to no avail. the original case number is XXXX. TCF bank denied the refund on their part, ( which means they were not going to refund the money from the bank ) based on the above case number but XXXX XXXX decided to give me the refund and did so over a month ago, that is the money that is sitting in limbo because it was put back onto a closed-out debit card. TCF is not communicating with Visa to give them the correct account to put the money back into. TCF bank has done nothing to complete this transaction for several weeks now. I can not give that information to Visa, TCF Bank needs to, and needs to do this NOW AS MY MONEY IS STILL IN LIMBO AND HAS BEEN FOR OVER 1 MONTH!!! XXXX in CS TCF Management has confirmed that she can see the refund and does not know why this is not being taking care of by the TCF correct department. Had TCF done their job correctly and completely, they would have seen the refund and applied it accordingly instead of just leaving it in limbo, THIS IS NO LONGER ACCEPTABLE!
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Bedford, TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Old information reappears or never goes away
Complaint: THIS COMPLAINT IS IN REGARD TO A CREDIT INQUIRY EXISTING ON MY XXXX CREDIT REPORT PASSED THE LEGAL REPORTING STATUTE OF TWO YEARS. THIS COMPLAINT IS AGAINST THE CREDITOR GATEWAY ONE LENDING THAT IS FURNISHING THIS OUTDATED INFORMATION TO XXXX. THIS COMPLAINT IS NOT AGAINST XXXX AT THIS TIME. This is a complaint arising under Sections 5 ( a ), 5 ( m ), 13 ( b ), and 16 ( a ) of the Federal Trade Commission Act ( FTC Act ), 15 U.S.C. 45 ( a ), 45 ( m ) ( 1 ) ( A ), 53 ( b ), and 56 ( a ) ; the Fair Credit Reporting Act ( FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681-1681x ; and the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act ( FDCPA ), 15 U.S.C. 1692-1692p, to obtain monetary civil penalties, a permanent injunction, restitution, disgorgement, and other equitable relief for the Defendants violations of the FCRA, the FDCPA, and Section 5 of the FTC Act. XXXX provides consumer personal credit reports to regional and national credit grantors, attempting to issue both commercial and consumer credit. XXXX regularly furnishes consumer credit reports to Creditors electronically. XXXX is an entity who regularly and in the ordinary course of business furnishes information to one or more Creditors about its transactions or experiences with its consumers. XXXX routinely receives complaints from consumers who claim they do not owe the debt or that an account is invalid or incorrect. In numerous instances, I have notified XXXX at the address specified for such disputes that XXXX is reporting inaccurate information concerning my consumer credit. As a victim of identity theft and the XXXX Data Breach I expect the information in my consumer report to be accurate and my disputes taken seriously. XXXX has continued to report inaccurate information to the Creditors even after receiving such notice and accompanying proof. In numerous instances, I have disputed the information appearing on my consumer credit report in writing to XXXX. XXXX receives most notices of disputes from a consumer in electronic format, through automated consumer dispute verification ( ACDV ) forms provided on XXXX website. Pursuant to Section 623 ( b ) ( 1 ) of the FCRA, XXXX, as a furnisher of information to the Creditors, is required to conduct an investigation of the disputed information upon receipt of a notice of dispute from a Consumer. For certain types of disputes, such as those where the consumer claims the account is not his or hers or belongs to someone with a similar name, it is XXXX XXXX policy and practice only to compare the name, social security number, date of birth, and address in XXXX XXXX computer database with the information provided on ACDV forms. Where three of the four items match, XXXX will report to the Consumer that it has verified the information it furnished as accurate. It is XXXX XXXX policy that only after the consumer has alleged the same type of account inaccuracy more than four times will the matter become assigned to a supervisor to do further investigation. Because XXXX collects accounts that are often old, information in its computer files may not be accurate for a variety of reasons, including incorrect updating of addresses, errors in recording names and information, and problems with the original Creditors records. In disputes involving identity theft or fraud allegations, XXXX XXXX policies provide that if the existing account codes and notes in its records do not contain any reference to a prior claim of fraud, XXXX will verify the previously reported information without conducting any investigation prior to such verification. In numerous instances, despite written or oral notification from consumers disputing the accuracy or completeness of alleged debts, XXXX continued to furnish the information to the Creditors without communicating that the information was disputed by the consumer. Section 623 ( a ) of the FCRA describes the duties of furnishers to provide accurate information to Creditors. Section 623 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ) prohibits furnishers from providing information relating to a consumer to any Creditor if i. the person has been notified by the consumer, at the address specified by the person for such notices, that specific information is inaccurate ; and ii. the information is, in fact, inaccurate. In numerous instances, I have contacted XXXX at the address specified by XXXX to dispute information furnished by XXXX to a Creditor and to notify XXXX that the information is inaccurate. In numerous instances, I have also provided information such as the consumers drivers license, social security number, and/or proof of residence to confirm my identity. The acts and practices alleged above constitute violations of Section 623 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ) of the FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681s-2 ( a ) ( 1 ) ( B ). Pursuant to Section 621 ( a ) ( 1 ) of the FCRA, 15 U.S.C. 1681s ( a ) ( 1 ), the acts and practices alleged above also constitute unfair or deceptive acts or practices in violation of Section 5 ( a ) of the FTC Act, 15 U.S.C. 45 ( a ). GATEWAY ONE LENDING is also a furnisher of inaccurate credit information and is just as liable as XXXX. A recorded statement from XXXX states that GATEWAY ONE LENDING is the one responsible for removing this information from my credit report. As it currently stands XXXX nor GATEWAY ONE LENDING has not validated or verified the accuracy of this inquiry. They also failed to remove the inquiry from my credit report after the two year statute of limitation. The following outdated inquiries are being furnished by GATEWAY ONE LENDING and are being reported by XXXX. Inquiry Entry Date Legal Removal Date Inquiry listed as XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX XX/XX/XXXX As of XX/XX/XXXX these inquires are still being reported.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-08

Livonia, MI

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with monetary relief

Untimely Response

2019-11-08

Kenosha, WI

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-07

Monroe, MI

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Untimely Response

2019-11-07

Problems at the end of the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Unable to receive car title or other problem after the loan is paid off
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-05

Big Lake, MN

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-05

MI

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem accessing account
Complaint: XX/XX/2019, I opened the account with my former co-leader of XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX. I showed them my Social Security Card and license. In XX/XX/XXXX, we swapped out one co-signer for a different one, and again at that time I also showed them my Social Security Card and license. That's two times in 8 months. Today, I tried to log into the XXXX account because every couple of months I update the spreadsheet and reconcile with the online account for what we have and what expenses / income we have coming up. I could not access our troop account because again the bank is requesting my social security card along with my license that I have already submitted twice in 8 months. This is very unprofessional and shows a complete lack of competence. So right now, with one week until our next meeting our XXXX does will not have access to our funds which is hampering our planning efforts for the month.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-10-31

Austin, TX

Managing the loan or lease

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Problem with fees charged
Complaint: There are actually a few issues here, one the illegal practices this company uses to collect a payment i.e spamming me outside of legal hours and more than the legal amount and using threats as well as aggressive behavior to try to collect a debt which is illegal in the state of Texas. The company has also added a mass of fees onto my account which isn't correct, the original loan agreement was around XXXX including tags title and interest that was on everything I originally signed for the car. The debtor now states the whole amount was XXXX which isn't right at all. Debtor has hung up on me, doesn't answer customer support calls or have voice mail service or respond or have valid email contact adding to late fee 's and issues. Extra fee 's were never voiced to me nor did I agree to any additional fee 's outside of the base of what I owe. online login doesn't work, advised this to debtor several times however they never fixed the issue, there is also no option to split payments through the site if you are 1 day late or 2 it would make it 2 car payments rather than just being able to pay one off and paying the 2nd off when you are able to. Debtor has made comments about my medical condition and fianc 's that was not at all legal or appropriate. If you review all of the review pages for debtor you will find many complaints about debtor adding fee 's to other people as well as customer reports against them through the XXXX and other sources. As this company is exhibiting illegal collection practices and illegal billing practices this needs to be looked into further.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations
TCF National Bank of MICHIGAN0001790153
Legal Entity Identifier 549300GJGUHNTC6JI536 [TCF National Bank]

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy