UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION

Consumer Complaints

There are over 6379 complaints on file for UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION. Dated between 2019-12-06 and 2011-12-02.

Complaints by Product

Bank account or service - Checking account1068
Checking or savings account - Checking account1044
Credit card - 909
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose credit card or charge card699
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting368
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service266
Mortgage - VA mortgage232
Vehicle loan or lease - Loan191
Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan186
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service177
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage126
Debt collection - Credit card debt108
Mortgage - Other mortgage100
Debt collection - Credit card89
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit82
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage75
Checking or savings account - Savings account74
Bank account or service - Savings account70
Consumer Loan - Installment loan51
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Domestic (US) money transfer39
Debt collection - I do not know38
Bank account or service - (CD) Certificate of deposit32
Debt collection - Other debt29
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)28
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Personal line of credit28
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)26
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Installment loan26
Debt collection - Auto debt26
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Mobile or digital wallet22
Checking or savings account - CD (Certificate of Deposit)21
Credit reporting - 18
Money transfers - Domestic (US) money transfer17
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Other personal consumer report14
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage13
Debt collection - Auto9
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Traveler's check or cashier's check8
Money transfers - International money transfer7
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)7
Debt collection - Mortgage7
Consumer Loan - Personal line of credit6

Latest Complaints

2019-12-06

Sandy Hook, CT

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-05

Shalimar, FL

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Moapa, NV

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card was charged for something you did not purchase with the card
Complaint: This account doesnt belong to me I already disputed it with a identity theft report which is on file for the account XXXX
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Greenwood, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: I've been depositing my paycheck with the USAA Mobile App every month since XX/XX/2019. Deposits on payday are approximately {$6000.00}. Every time, there is a {$1000.00} hold of the the {$6000.00}. That is not the problem. On XX/XX/2019, I deposited my paycheck of {$6000.00}. A hold was placed on {$5500.00}. This hold has prevented me from paying rent and bills. I trusted the bank. They always held only {$1000.00}. I work for the XXXX of XXXX. My checks are not from an unknown source. I spoke with USAA Monday, XX/XX/2019 and escalated by call as high as I could go for all the representatives to tell me there is nothing they can do about it and the hold will be in place until XX/XX/XXXX. There was no information when I deposited that possibly this much money would be placed in a hold. Is it true the bank can not remove the hold? Is it impossible?
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Sangerville, ME

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account status incorrect
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-02

Moapa, NV

Attempts to collect debt not owed

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Debt was result of identity theft
Complaint: My identity was stolen .. and XXXX have my affidavit on file but will not remove a closed that is not authorized by me
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-01

Van Nuys, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem accessing account
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-29

VA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem using a debit or ATM card
Complaint: This complaint stems from a previous claim regarding the mishandling of several fraudulent charges made using my debit card number ; a number that at the time of this complaint was supposed to have been CLOSED because of the previous fraudulent activity that had occurred in XXXX of this year. The institution if USAA bank. In total there were 4 charges that they tried to post in XXXX. One of those charges was honored by the bank even though I reported it as fraudulent since I didn't make the transaction. I have attached the letter from USAA that shows they gave me a permanent credit for {$26.00}, which was the amount of the one charge they initially let through. The letter stated that the temporary credit would now be made permanent. Now fast forward to XX/XX/XXXX, and in another attachment you will see four amounts for {$26.00}, which by the way, were submitted to my NEW debit card using the old number. USAA now not only honored the same exact transaction that they had said in the attached letter was fraudulent and would give me a permanent credit for, but an additional 3 more charges from the same merchant with similar numbers for the same {$26.00}. You can see clearly the first of the fraudulent merchant numbers on XX/XX/XXXX matches EXACTLY the merchant numbers on the letter from XXXX granting me the PERMANENT credit for that charge! I called USAA as soon as I noticed their glaring oversight and was told they could NOT offer me a provisional credit for these charges even though they themselves stated quite clearly the charges were not only fraudulent, but had offered me a permanent credit for in the letter they send on XX/XX/XXXX. As of the submission of this complaint I am out {$100.00} since they won't reimburse me for charges that are at their own admission fraudulent. On the phone they were shocked at how a " closed card '' could still be used, but did not offer a provisional credit and have still not credited my account for these clearly fraudulent charges. I have another unresolved complaint already in with the CFPB about another fraudulent charge made on the same day as the initial charges in XXXX for {$100.00} to a merchant called XXXX. At the time of that submission to CFPB USAA had suppressed the researcher 's investigation report, but with CFPB 's help they have put that report back on my account and it too is attached. In it you will see that transaction is also fraudulent since the : name doesn't match mine, the IP address for the transaction is also not local to my address, and no item was ever received, yet USAA reversed that provisional credit and has only indicated that they were still looking into it as was indicated to me in a voicemail left by a Mr. XXXX from the CEO 's office. I attempted on 4 separate occasions to call Mr. XXXX and left 3 messages asking him to return my call, but again, as of this submission I have yet to hear back from Mr. XXXX. USAA says you are 100 % not liable for fraudulent charges. Not only is that not true, they don't adequately protect you by actually ensuring closed compromised cards can no longer debit your account, but when such oversight happens they do not credit you back the money they themselves have investigated and said where fraudulent.
Company Response: Company believes complaint is the result of an isolated error Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-11-29

Struggling to pay mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-29

Mccullers, NC

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-28

Cherry Brook, MA

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Company closed your account
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-28

Atlanta, GA

Problem with a lender or other company charging your account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Transaction was not authorized
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-28

Magnolia, TX

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Banking errors
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Harrisburg, VA

Getting a line of credit

Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan: Personal line of credit


Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Mccullers, NC

Problem when making payments

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Problem during payment process
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Royal Palm Beach, FL

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: VA mortgage


Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-27

Kingshill, VI

Fraud or scam

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Domestic (US) money transfer


Complaint: On XX/XX/2019 XXXX was giving the seller trouble so as a result XXXX was used to send {$220.00} via the USAA app to XXXX XXXX. Im not sure if it was even sent to the right person because I never heard anything back after making the transfer. Eventually I realized it was a scam and quickly notified USAA the week of the XXXX. Today ( XX/XX/XXXX ), I was just notified by USAA that a refund cant be issued because I authorized the transaction. I am completely stressed because {$220.00} is not a small amount of money I struggle to make ends meet each day so this is a major stressor to me. Through all my years of banking Ive never been scammed. I usually extremely careful, but Im somewhat upset with USAA because being that they brand, provide and advertise the app, a lot of members put their trust in using XXXX, so incidents like this is frustrating and degrading to USAAs brand. USAA sets the bar high to prevent issues of such and its unfortunate that theyd even promote this untrusted app. Im very disappointed.Thank you
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

SD

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: USAA manages my checking and investment accounts. 6 days XXXX XX/XX/2019 I requested a transfer of XXXX dollars from a mutual fund with USAA to my checking account with USAA. USAA at present has no record of the funds, can not find the funds and is stating it may be several weeks before the funds can be found. I feel this is unacceptable and feel there may have been a theft of funds by the USAA employees.
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Indian River Shores, FL

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Unable to open an account
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Plano, TX

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Savings account

Company closed your account
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-26

NY

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card was charged for something you did not purchase with the card
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Lewisville, TX

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Information belongs to someone else
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Orange, CA

Struggling to pay your loan

Vehicle loan or lease: Loan

Loan balance remaining after the vehicle is repossessed and sold
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-26

Brooklyn, NY

Problem with a purchase shown on your statement

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Credit card company isn't resolving a dispute about a purchase on your statement
Complaint: XXXX XX/XX/19 refuses to credit the duplicate charge
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-11-25

Fayetteville, NC

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Problem accessing account
Company Response: Company believes it acted appropriately as authorized by contract or law Closed with explanation

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations
UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION of TEXAS0001021249
Legal Entity Identifier 549300NZVJG538SSYL92 [UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION]

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy