WELLS FARGO COMPANY

Consumer Complaints

There are over 75348 complaints on file for WELLS FARGO COMPANY. Dated between 2019-12-13 and 2011-12-01.

Complaints by Product

Mortgage - Other mortgage12813
Bank account or service - Checking account9451
Mortgage - Conventional fixed mortgage7970
Checking or savings account - Checking account4742
Mortgage - FHA mortgage4723
Credit card - 4041
Mortgage - Conventional home mortgage3967
Mortgage - Conventional adjustable mortgage (ARM)3153
Bank account or service - Other bank product/service2503
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose credit card or charge card2243
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit reporting2076
Consumer Loan - Vehicle loan1720
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit1542
Mortgage - Other type of mortgage1374
Student loan - Non-federal student loan1286
Mortgage - VA mortgage1220
Checking or savings account - Other banking product or service1086
Bank account or service - Savings account793
Vehicle loan or lease - Loan783
Mortgage - Home equity loan or line of credit (HELOC)568
Consumer Loan - Installment loan494
Bank account or service - (CD) Certificate of deposit473
Mortgage - Reverse mortgage450
Debt collection - Credit card debt397
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Domestic (US) money transfer394
Debt collection - Credit card363
Debt collection - I do not know359
Checking or savings account - Savings account350
Student loan - Private student loan345
Consumer Loan - Personal line of credit271
Debt collection - Mortgage269
Debt collection - Other debt266
Debt collection - Other (i.e. phone, health club, etc.)261
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Personal line of credit242
Credit card or prepaid card - Store credit card215
Checking or savings account - CD (Certificate of Deposit)159
Debt collection - Auto159
Credit reporting - 157
Money transfers - International money transfer139
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Installment loan129
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - International money transfer127
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Mobile or digital wallet119
Debt collection - Mortgage debt118
Money transfers - Domestic (US) money transfer115
Bank account or service - Cashing a check without an account112
Debt collection - Auto debt105
Student loan - Federal student loan servicing61
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Other personal consumer report61
Debt collection - Non-federal student loan53
Mortgage - Second mortgage46
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Traveler's check or cashier's check46
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Virtual currency32
Consumer Loan - Vehicle lease24
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Money order24
Payday loan - 23
Other financial service - Check cashing23
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Check cashing service22
Debt collection - Private student loan debt21
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Title loan17
Prepaid card - General purpose card16
Debt collection - Federal student loan16
Vehicle loan or lease - Lease15
Credit card or prepaid card - General-purpose prepaid card15
Credit card or prepaid card - Government benefit card15
Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports - Credit repair services13
Debt collection - Payday loan12
Payday loan, title loan, or personal loan - Payday loan12
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Foreign currency exchange12
Consumer Loan - Pawn loan11
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Refund anticipation check11
Other financial service - Refund anticipation check10
Debt collection - Federal student loan debt9
Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service - Debt settlement8
Consumer Loan - Title loan8
Other financial service - Traveler’s/Cashier’s checks8
Debt collection - Medical debt8
Other financial service - Foreign currency exchange7
Prepaid card - Gift or merchant card7

Latest Complaints

2019-12-12

Ft Trumbull, CT

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Banking errors
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-12

Bay Point, CA

Problem with a lender or other company charging your account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Transaction was not authorized
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-12

Moapa, NV

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Application denied
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-11

WA

Applying for a mortgage or refinancing an existing mortgage

Mortgage: Conventional home mortgage


Complaint: Please see below from my current mortgage broker for the actual payoff amount wired to Wells Fargo on XX/XX/2019 for my refinance. I was told per the email attached (second attachment) that my $XXXX was included in the payoff balance. That is not correct. Wells Fargo still owes me my $XXXX which was mishandled and placed into suspense without my permission. $XXXX was wired to them, not the $XXXX which they stated was paid that “included the $XXXX placed in suspense”. Wells Fargo still has my $XXXX and I would like this refunded ASAP as I have told them on several occasions now to which their response is "this case has been opened and is being worked/reviewed". There is a $XXXX difference in the amount wired to Wells Fargo versus the payoff estimate they are stating was provided to my current lender for the refinance. To date, I have only received $XXXX via check from Wells Fargo, refunded from the overage on my escrow. Being that the Wells Fargo payoff estimate was including everything through a XX/XX/19 payoff date, when in fact this was funded and $XXXX XXXX wired to them on XX/XX/19. At minimum, they owe me $XXXX for the discrepancy between what was refunded to date and the overage my current mortgage holder paid to them along with my $XXXX not included in the payoff balance. (From my current lender who I refinanced to)**Hi there XXXX,It was a wire that we sent to Wells Fargo on XX/XX/19. I have a confirmation number of XXXX for the amount of $XXXX on XX/XX/2019.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-11

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-10

Saint Clair Shores, MI

Closing your account

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Company closed your account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Roseville, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Banking errors
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX I transferred money from my Wells Fargo Checking Account to a savings account I also had with Wells Fargo. A few days later I logged back into Wells Fargo ONline to access my accounts and access the money I transferred and the money and the account were gone. According to Wells Fargo, they closed the account I transferred the money into the day before due to a {$4.00} overdraft. However the transfer went through and I have confirmation of it going through. Since then I filed a claim wiht Wells Fargo and have spent more than 20 hours trying to recover my funds. No one can tell me where the money is and whe it will be returned to me. As far a I am concerned the money is stolen until returned to me. On another, I realize the banks are not required by law to inform you if they are closing an account, but after 31 years of banking with them, I received no curtousy call or email notifying me of this closuer. They could have simply drafted {$5.00} from my checking to cover this over draft. Felling Helpless. The amount of the money is irrevalant to me, its the principle idea that they can do this.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Denver, CO

Fees or interest

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Charged too much interest
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-09

Las Vegas, NV

False statements or representation

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Attempted to collect wrong amount
Complaint: Company still says debt is valid as well as accurate information on my report with proof. However the debt owed isn't correct so I'm asking for complete deletion from all reports
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-07

Ft Trumbull, CT

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: A Wells Fargo rep by the name of XXXX claims to have made numerous attempts at resolution to accounts not authorized and did not need or want, fees charged to these accounts. There have been no such attempts, he mentions such attempts in prior replies to CFPB complaints. His responses seem to be a general form letter, he has not detailed any of of the attempts at resolution. I can assure the CFPB Wells Fargo has not made any attempts, he is lying. I've filled out a total of four mediation request forms to date, a settlement offer was made by Wells Fargo rep, XXXX XXXX, it was accepted but no payment received. Failing to honor their offer, I requested a refund of {$610.00} which was detailed in my mediation requests, it was later denied citing a check supposedly sent to me prior which was never received. Needless to say, nothing resolved and again, any supposed attempts at resolution are entirely bogus, a lie. Wells Fargo is well aware of resolution which is a refund of {$610.00} for fees charged to accounts opened which I mentioned above. They have denied this request, additional complaints will be filed in regard to this matter. A refund of {$610.00} will resolve this..
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-06

Alexandria, VA

Closing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Funds not received from closed account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-06

SC

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Deposits and withdrawals
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX I tried to Access my 401K Account that is managed by Wells Fargo Retirement Services. I was accessing the account to make contribution changes to my 401K plan. I found that my account has become unacessable and is not displayed at all anymore on my account. I am unable to make contribution limit changes. On XX/XX/XXXX I called Wells Fargo retirement services and spoke with a representative at length regarding this issue. The representative stated that the issue would be resolved in 24 to 48 hours. On XX/XX/XXXX I again tried to access my account and make contribution changes. Again the account is made unaccessable for changes to my contribution limit. I then called the Account Services again and explained the issue and that it had not been resolved. Now I am being told they aren't able to see the account or make changes on my behalf and can not provide a solution. Currently my income is being affected by this gross negligence and my rights by law are being violated.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-06

Grosse Ile, MI

Incorrect information on your report

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Account information incorrect
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-06

Las Vegas, NV

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Other debt

Threatened to sue you for very old debt
Complaint: On XX/XX/XXXX I received a call from XXXX XXXX the XXXX XXXX. There was a voicemail left telling me that I need to contact the group immediately which I did. They were saying that there are pending actions against me. So I called back, and spoke with a woman named XXXX. XXXX informed me that I am being sued for the amount of {$1400.00} because of an account that I had with Wells Fargo from prior to XXXX. However, they'd be willing to settle out of court for the amount of {$300.00}. I told them that Wells Fargo can kiss my XXXX, and XXXX proceeded to act like a victim. In the end, I was told that they'll go ahead with the legal paperwork. Later on that same day, I called the firm back to find out the exact date and time. At first I was speaking to some man, but was eventually put on hold, and transferred back to XXXX who tried being as little helpful as possible. I asked to speak to a supervisor, which she refused to do, and so I tried calling back a few times, but kept getting XXXX. So I tried calling back the number that had contacted me. This time I received an answering service, who I believe they called themselves XXXX. When I called, I complained about XXXX, and spoke with someone named XXXX. XXXX tried to be as helpful as he could but told me that I'd have to call the XXXX XXXX and speak to XXXX XXXX. XXXX is supposed to be another office manager, but XXXX ended up transferring the call to him, where I spoke to XXXX directly. I asked XXXX some questions, and got some answers. Again telling them, I'm not paying a dime ; take me to court. I had also scheduled a time for XXXX to serve me the papers, however no one showed up. I had also done a little research. I came to find out that the statute of limitations for any contract is 6 years in Nevada. I also read a little about the practices of Wells Fargo. The XXXX XXXX was claiming that I owe for previous overdraft fees. However, also after doing research, I came to discover that Wells Fargo had a judgement against them by a District County Judge XXXX in the amount of {$200.00} XXXX dollars for altering the time line of debit card purchases. That case is XXXX vs. Wells Fargo. The reason that I mention all of this is because I think that this raises some very interesting questions. Like Why would a collection agency, with an F rating with the XXXX, claim to be a law firm, and yet threaten a law suit without any research first? Also, why was XXXX less than helpful? Why did XXXX XXXX also try using intimidation tactics against me, too? Why was XXXX able to transfer my call after telling me that I'd have to call the firm directly? Especially since the firm claims to have two locations in California, and yet XXXX has a number of XXXX, and a voice mail instead of an actual answering machine with a professional message? One last thing that I'd also like to add ... maybe it's related, maybe it isn't ... .Last year I signed up with XXXX XXXX XXXX in order to pay off my student loan debt. A few weeks ago I received an e-mail from the Bureau of Consumer Financial Protection claiming that I have been scammed and that now the company is being sued by the states of California, Minnesota, and North Carolina. Since then, I have followed the advice of the e-mail which told me to go to the Department of Education 's website, find my loan servicer, and straighten everything out. I'm awaiting further instructions from the Bureau, but it seems like it will be a while before I find anything out.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-06

Canaan Lake, NY

Trouble during payment process

Mortgage: FHA mortgage


Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-05

N Hollywood, CA

Lost or stolen money order

Money transfer, virtual currency, or money service: Money order


Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-05

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Fee problem
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-05

Carver, MA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit reporting, credit repair services, or other personal consumer reports: Credit reporting

Was not notified of investigation status or results
Complaint: I was shocked when I reviewed my credit report and found late payment on XX/XX/2019 I am not sure how this happened, I believe that I had made my payments to you when I received my statements. My only thought is that my monthly statement did not get to me, or the payment was not applied as fast as expected. I checked my bank account and noticed that you deducted the money out of my checking account that on the month that you marked me late on my credit report.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-05

Hayward, CA

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Other banking product or service

Funds not handled or disbursed as instructed
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response

2019-12-05

Big Spring, KY

Opening an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Unable to open an account
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-05

Johns Creek, GA

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card opened as result of identity theft or fraud
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-05

NV

Took or threatened to take negative or legal action

Debt collection: Credit card debt

Threatened to sue you for very old debt
Complaint: I was contacted several times by XXXX XXXX XXXX. After they called my husband, I contacted them on XX/XX/XXXX. They had told my husband that a sherrif had been sent out the week prior, but we were not home ... this would have been XXXX week, we were here. They said they had sent me a letter, I have not received this, I asked for a validation letter to be emailed to me. I received an email, it did not state how to dispute the claim. The caller told me it was an old credit card debt that had been closed and charged off in XXXX. I told him I would contact the creditor directly XXXX Wells Fargo XXXX, he told me that they no longer hold the debt. He would not tell me who now held the debt. I asked him not to contact me nor my husband again. He told me I would be getting contacted often, and they would be calling my husbands work. After asking for the suite number of his office, he got very rude and after asking several questions trying to determine the validity of his " law group '', he hung up on me.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-05

CA

Problem with a credit reporting company's investigation into an existing problem

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Their investigation did not fix an error on your report
Complaint: This kind of account is placed as a charged off account, be sure to inform me precisely why there's a balance indicating on the document whetherit 's a charge off? The balance is in fact wrong, please make sure to reverseit to XXXX or remove the item fully. Please also producedocumentation toverify all the charges and credits in this supposed account that caused to theextremely high credit figure you might have displayed on my account. My demand to present these records is a standard information demand in accordance with myrights honored within the fair credit billing act. If you fail to give these detailsper my civil rights petition, please make sure you quickly remove this specificwrong posting.
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with explanation

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Garland, TX

Getting a credit card

Credit card or prepaid card: General-purpose credit card or charge card

Card opened as result of identity theft or fraud
Company Response: Company has responded to the consumer and the CFPB and chooses not to provide a public response Closed with non-monetary relief

Timely Response

2019-12-04

Brooklyn, NY

Managing an account

Checking or savings account: Checking account

Deposits and withdrawals
Company Response: In progress

Timely Response


Related Finance Registrations

© 2020 intlbanking.org | Privacy Policy